Can someone check SS and advise?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by The Mum, Feb 13, 2020.

  1. The Mum

    The Mum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    I am getting ready for Gracie's evening dose. Can someone check our SS and advise? I am uncomfortable changing her dose without vet direction. She physically is doing fine. Sleeps alot, but is perky and aware when awake. She wants to eat every 2-2.5 hours. Try to hold off for three hours to test.
    It has been noted on FB that this dose of Lantus is too high. Please advise.
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    She hasn’t dropped under 90 If following SLGS or under 68 if TR so I wouldn’t reduce. You only need to withhold food two hours before amps/pmps .
     
  3. The Mum

    The Mum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    She is so "done" with this blood testing thing. People keep telling me (dare I say "badgering") to pre-test shot time. Clearly she was in the 400's at +7, I feed again prior to shooting. Is another blood test really necessary?
     
  4. The Mum

    The Mum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    Can anyone chime in? i am befuddled.
     
  5. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Yes, it's ALWAYS advisable to test prior to giving insulin. The tests give good information like: is she going up or down; are her numbers safe enough to shoot; are her cycles showing a pattern.

    Have you tried giving Gracie a treat before/after or during testing time? There's also polysporin ointment that has pain relief that you can put a little on her ears to help out.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  6. Si am cat mom

    Si am cat mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    You should alway test before shooting insulin.....I personally don't like surprises and would hate to find out the hard way I shot full dose on a number I maybe shouldn't have, but that's just my opinion.

    Why the +7 test ? If you are trying to limit your testing it wouldn't be the preshot or +4 test I'd cut out right now.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  7. Si am cat mom

    Si am cat mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    I agree- treats and more treats as mentioned above!
    I used to set up for testing, get ready to test and give a treat BUT not test.
    Just so my guy could get rewarded for going through the motions of testing
     
    Judy and Freckles likes this.
  8. The Mum

    The Mum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    SS updated. Did pre-shot. 260. I treat with home cooked chicken bites after insulin. FF after tests.
     
  9. The Mum

    The Mum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    Doing a curve.
     
  10. Si am cat mom

    Si am cat mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019

    Considering the +2 through +4 has been lower than the PMPS on the last few cycles, I'd try and grab a +2 and see where Gracie is headed tonight.

    I'm not sure if those skipped shots on the 8th/9th will limit the curve data a bit since it's usually done after a full week on a dose but more information is always good!
     
  11. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Treats are good!! lol

    I use freeze dried chicken crumbled up. While Freckles is busy eating that, I score a test. She doesn't really even notice the poke because she is focused on eating the treat.
     

Share This Page