? changing syringes made a difference?

fafa's mum

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bounce.218428/#post-2429359

We thought that Fa experienced a bounced since 8/21 night, but that was also the time we changed to 8mm 31g syringe.

We changed back to 12.7mm 29g syringe last night and the BG seems to get back to better as before the syringe change.

1) we used the 8mm 31 g syringe for 6 cycles , and BG not as good as the 2 cycles before change... it might also be the bounce finished so we got better BG in the 7th cycle (8/24 night)... which is more possible?

2) we tested with water and it seems the 8mm syringe does hold less water compared to the 12.7 mm syringe when we tried to fill them both with 20units.... our vet did not believe the needle length makes a difference... do you think it's the syringe or the needle caused it(if not the bounce issue )?

3) additional info is the 12.7mm syringe we been using says "sterile interior " but the 8mm ones we used for 6 cycles does not say "sterile interior "... not sure whether this makes any difference.

We will have to continue to use the 12.7mm syringe for better results but it means probably a bit more painful for our kitty.

Would love to see if you seen similar things before and what your thoughts are on this. Thank you.
 
we tested with water and it seems the 8mm syringe does hold less water compared to the 12.7 mm syringe when we tried to fill them both with 20units.... our vet did not believe the needle length makes a difference... do you think it's the syringe or the needle caused it(if not the bounce issue )?

Were they the same brand of syringes? The barrel of the syringe can be vastly different from brand to brand. It shouldn't make a difference (20 units should be 20 units) but it sometimes does.
 
IMG_20190821_142259.jpg
 
Can you post photos of the syringes and/or packaging?

How much less water did the 8mm hold?

if I remember right, about 1unit difference when we tried to hold 20units. the 20 units in 8mm becomes 19 units in 12.7mm
 
Last edited:
Back
Top