Yes, I think that 's correct. She posted on the ProZinc forum too.Just peeked at your spreadsheet - she was at 30 at PMPS, 12 hours after her last insulin shot?
Yes, thanks, I just saw that, someone else also brought it to my attention.Yes, I think that 's correct. She posted on the ProZinc forum too.
Here's the thing - she has had no insulin for 15+ hrs, now. Kind of puzzling. Her caregiver has another thread on the Prozinc forum, with more detailed info. I have been trying to convince her to take Chloe to the ER vet but I don't think I'm getting very far.@srk3cats Chloe has been low for a few hours now according to your spreadsheet. That number really needs to come up urgently. Please add some honey or syrup to some food...or give a little honey or syrup by itself. With a cat running low for this long, this is no time for half measures or trying to gently guide the numbers back up...she really does need to come up now.
I agree wholeheartedly, and have expressed just that concern to her caregiver. Please see her thread on The Prozinc forum, I am not getting anywhere. Maybe you can convince her!Prozinc is listed as lasting 10-14 hours, but I'm wondering if there may be some cats who get a longer duration from it based on Chloe's numbers tonight. Problem is, we don't know how low she went before that 30, or for how long. And there are a number of days with only pre-shot tests. My concern is that her glycogen stores are low, possibly from low numbers on other days or from a prolonged low today...and she may not be physically able to bring herself back up. Or there may be something else entirely going on. I think any time a cat goes that low and doesn't come back up with usual high-carb measures, the ER vet is the right place to be.
I know, I agree! Thank you for weighing in, i hope she will listen to you, or maybe just the weight of an additional voice.I added to her other thread too. I am actually very concerned about this - she should be on her way back up from the skipped shot if nothing else...but she isn't. That, to me, is an emergency situation - she is lacking glucose to all her cells, including her brain at this point.