Chuck's bouncy journey, part 14.

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by StephG, Feb 28, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Old thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/chucks-bouncy-journey-part-13.173168/#post-1906600

    AMPS: 459
    Fed 4.5oz (not sure if water was added) .8oz snack at +2.5. 1T YA @+6.
    Gave 5.2 units. (DH eyeballs dose on u40 syringe which drives me insane. Why not just use the d*mn u100 syringes- that's what I bought them for!!!):mad:
    +2.5 397
    +3.5 384
    +6 370
    I will try the old bottle again with a more aggressive dose tonight. If the results are the same I'll call the vet. I emailed the manufacturer of ProZinc and asked if they have any programs to help in my situation of damaged insulin from user error. Worth a shot. I also have a lead on possible replacement from CA. If all else fails I will call the vet and see if they will make an exception for a payment plan on half the cost.
     
  2. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I JUST remembered that I will have a $40 credit if they let me return the needles I bought with the insulin! I'm not above begging! LOL
     
    Djamila and Kris & Teasel like this.
  3. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    PMPS (+11): 515
    Fed 4.5 oz + 2 T water. .8oz pate +1T water @+2.5. 1T YA @+4.5.
    Gave 5.8 units from old bottle.
    Will monitor. Vet agreed to refill insulin early. Will be able to get it tomorrow.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  4. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +2 547
     
  5. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +3 502
     
  6. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +5 430
    +6 410
    He got a bite or two of Kitty's friskies pate.:banghead: I have taken counter measures (at +5) to deal with the potential increase and to try to get his numbers lower. :facepalm:
    I'm waiting for a urine sample. Smart little turd keeps digging up the plastic wrap and peeing under it.
    Feel like I should add this: ***DO NOT COPY MY DOSING*** I am currently dosing with a damaged (from being out of the fridge) vial of insulin. The increase in recent dosing is from this. Getting a new bottle of insulin tomorrow.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  7. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +7 358
     
  8. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    :plol
     
    StephG likes this.
  9. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +8 336
     
  10. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Finally! NEGATIVE KETONES!
    +9 309
     
    Kris & Teasel, Rachel and Djamila like this.
  11. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +10 289 Finally under 300... Getting +11 then off to bed. Dh is going to delay AMPS.
     
  12. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +11 310
    PMPS (+12): 390
    Fed 4.5oz not sure if water was added.
    Gave 5 units.
    Running in 400s up til +5... Updating SS later today.
    Picking up new vial of insulin around 1230.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  13. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Good luck with the new bottle. Sorry you had to go that route :(
     
    StephG likes this.
  14. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I got an email back from Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health, people who make ProZinc. She wants me to call her. I will once I leave the garage.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  15. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Interesting ...
     
    StephG and MiCo like this.
  16. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Hopefully something good :)
     
    StephG and MiCo like this.
  17. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +12 318! Tested twice.

    Stick with 5 units on the new insulin?
     
  18. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +11 310
    PMPS (+12): 393
    Fed 4.5oz not sure if water was added.
    Gave 5 units.
    +1 421
    +2 462
    +4 396
    +5 410
    +5.5 424
    PMPS (+12): 318
    Fed 4.5oz + 2T water. .8oz pate + 1T water at +2.5. 2 tsp YA @+5.5 2tsp YA@+9.
    Gave 5 units. (new vial)
    +1 536
     
  19. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +2 417 :)
     
    MiCo and Kris & Teasel like this.
  20. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +3.5 347
    +5 308
     
    Kris & Teasel, MiCo and Djamila like this.
  21. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +7 358
    +8 339
    Not impressed with numbers tonight. We will see what tomorrow brings.
     
  22. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Lower dose though.
     
    StephG likes this.
  23. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Yes and he dropped earlier than the last bottle.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  24. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I tried reaching the rep at Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health. Then re-read the email and it clearly states she will be out of the office the rest of the day. *derp* It's been a very strange day.
     
  25. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    AMPS (+11): 444
    Fed 4.5oz pate + 2T water. .8oz + 1T water at +2.5. 1T YA at +5.5.
    Gave 5.4 units.
    Will monitor.
     
  26. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Kris & Teasel and Rachel like this.
  27. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +1 529
     
  28. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Let me know how the Zobaline works. Cliff's legs have gotten progressively worse since Dx, and when I asked the vet about it--she said to focus on getting his BG down, as that's the only thing that will help. :(
     
    StephG likes this.
  29. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    That's what mine said when I asked about B12 injections. Let me know too!
     
    StephG likes this.
  30. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I will update on how it's working.
    Unfortunately the new insulin doesn't seem to be working much better. I'll update the numbers and SS around 10pm. (1hr 45 mins from now)
    Busy day.
     
  31. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +2.5 436
    +4 393
    +6 397
    AMPS (+13.5): 518
    Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz + 1T water @+2.5. 1T YA @+5.5
    Gave 5.8 units
    +1 "HI"
    +2 425
    +6 358
    +7 378
    :banghead::mad::(
    What the h*ll is going on?! I just don't get it!
     
  32. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +7.75 382
     
  33. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
    Could something else be effecting?
     
    MiCo likes this.
  34. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I can't recall, Steph, did you get tests done for high dose conditions?
     
  35. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I'm not sure. What else could it be? There's no contraband available. He's getting better hydrated but I don't see how that would hurt his numbers. I'm just at a loss. Maybe he's got a bit of glucose toxicity? And I need to find his breakthrough dose again? We got a yellow this morning but it's a high yellow so it could technically be a pink.
    I'm bummed he's been high and flat. Wondered if dose was too high but we see some movements in numbers this morning so I think we are going in the right direction.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2017
  36. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    No I haven't had him tested because we found a dose around 6 that worked.
     
  37. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    I know you just got a new bottle of Prozinc, so if you don't see some improvement by the time it's almost used, you should consider getting him tested. Even if he's stable at 6-7 u, that's considered a high dose. Hopefully it is just toxicity and you break through and your dose comes down soon!
     
    StephG likes this.
  38. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    AMPS: 381
    Fed 4.5o +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water@+2.5. 1tsp YA @+5.
    Gave 5.6 units
    +1 487
    +2.25 483
    +4 377
    +5 287 Happy to see the yellow. Won't be home to test again today. DH is feeding and shooting this afternoon and I'll be home at pmps+4... DH can test at +2.75 before leaving for work...
     
  39. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I will keep it in mind. It's been almost 8 months since his last bloodwork so I've been thinking about getting some done at 12 months but if we need it sooner that will be done.
    I had hope because we were seeing blues on a 5 unit dose then it all got messed up. I was thinking we were starting to see some help from Mr P...
     
  40. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    The high dose tests are separate from regular bloodwork and can only be run by Michigan State University. Your vet will have to contact them for info if/when you decide to have them run. One thing you could try is a switch to Lantus or Lev. If it's toxicity or resistance sometimes a switch can help. Let's hope he finds his dose soon and you won't need any of the above ideas!
     
    StephG likes this.
  41. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I just thought of this: I'll have to go back and see when I started the glucosamine/chondroitin supplement. I wonder if that might have some effect on his numbers. I'll get back on a bit later to search my posts... For now I have to make breakfast for two little ones.
    Thanks for the input.
     
  42. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I vote for some glucose toxicity from being high, Steph. I think some kitties get it quite quickly, Teasel being one, and you know the drill - increases until you break through.
     
    StephG likes this.
  43. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I agree. Looks like we are back to the same dosing as he had in December and January. So I will be more aggressive with dosing on pm and weekend doses. DH has vacation coming up too so hopefully we will get him closer to regulation numbers soon.
     
    Kris & Teasel and MiCo like this.
  44. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Hi Steph--how much does Chuck weigh now-a-days? My vet had given me a # of 8 units that we could go up to (based on Cliff's weight of around 12lbs) before he was considered insulin resistant to ProZinc. Perhaps Chuck needs a little increase to get him back down in the blues? Don't give up!
     
    StephG and Kris & Teasel like this.
  45. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    He's up to 10.8 pounds and gets a total of one can of 9 lives meaty pate and 1-2 tablespoons of Young again zero mature per cycle.
     
  46. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    DH just called said
    PMPS: 324
    Fed 4.5oz +2T water.
    Gave 5.6 units. I should be home around +2.5, earlier than I expected so I'll be there to monitor. I might try YA in place of the usual .8oz pate snack of his numbers are dropping at a normal pace.
     
  47. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Yeah, I don't know how the weight translates to units, but it would seem to me that you have a little more room to go up before looking into other options (switching insulion, etc..)
     
    StephG and Kris & Teasel like this.
  48. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    He should be 12 pounds. I'd be happy with 11.5 pounds too. I'm hoping he starts getting some muscle mass back. I try to get him to play for a bit every night to get his muscles moving. He loves the laser dot but so does the drooler! She's OBSESSIVE over it. To the point that she's not allowed to see it or she'll drive me INSANE for 2 hours searching the house for it. DH tries to get some play out of him too while April is in bed with me.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  49. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Sounds like you guys are really good to your cats!
     
  50. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    GOOD news is we are seeing some movement in numbers after adding a micro dose. AND we didn't see a huge spike after his meal. I feel like we are starting to get somewhere.
    PMPS: 324
    Fed 4.5oz +2T water. 1 tsp YA at +3 and +5.
    Gave 5.6 units.
    +3 342
    +4.5 306 .1u given. DO NOT COPY MY DOSING!
    +5.75 254
     
    Djamila and Kris & Teasel like this.
  51. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    We sure do try. They are our "kids". We never wanted human kids but are crazy about our furbabies.
     
    MiCo and Kris & Teasel like this.
  52. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Those of us who didn't want human kids (and I'm one of them!) do spoil our furbabies!
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  53. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +6.5 218 :cat:

    I do know some people with human kids that still spoil their furbabies but I know for a fact we wouldn't have much money to spend on them if we had human kids! I get my human kid "fix" by babysitting my friend's children. I get to leave them with their parents when they get too much to handle. LOL it's the awesome part about babysitting... of course teaching them the basics and watching them grow and learn is amazing too. The little one I've watched for about 3 years now is starting Kindergarten this year! His sister starts next year! Their mommy is due with #3 in August! It's like starting all over again! I told her she's nuts. lol
     
    Kris & Teasel, MiCo and Rachel like this.
  54. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes!!!
     
  55. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +7.75 239
    +9 221
    +10 299
     
    Kris & Teasel, MiCo and Djamila like this.
  56. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    When do you sleep?!?
     
    StephG likes this.
  57. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    HAHA. At first I was sleeping in 1 hour naps. Now DH helps monitor over night. I usually am in bed by 3am. On days I have to get up early I go to bed around 11 or midnight and am up again at 6am. Dh gets home around 1am and monitors until around 5am. Usually longer on the weekends. then I try to get up mid cycle for am cycle but lately I haven't had to because of his high numbers.
    I have been trying to feed and shoot once I know his numbers are rising even if it's early. I have a TON of data so it's better than letting him get to 500+
    DH is going to take over and he will message me his readings and if I can't fall back asleep I get on here and see what's going on. (I have no life lol)
     
  58. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    AMPS (+11): 377
    Fed 4.5oz pate + 2 T water. .8oz pate + 1T water @+3 and 1T YA @+5.5.
    Gave 5.8 units.
    Hope to see some BLUE this cycle.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  59. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +1 482
     
  60. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +3 404
     
  61. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Huzzah for data! One of my Aunt's almost made me feel bad when I told her I like to try and test Maury 4 times a day. But how else am I going to learn how he's doing? So I made my argument and didn't feel guilty at all :cat:
     
  62. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Ah! Two people testing makes sense! I was wondering if you had some super power that allowed you to go without sleep ;)
     
    StephG and Kris & Teasel like this.
  63. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +4.5 433
    PMPS: 417
    Fed usual with usual snacks.
    Gave 5.8 units
    +1 515
    +3 351
    +4.5 275 :)
    Won't be home til AMPS. Glad to see numbers falling!
     
    Djamila, Rachel and Kris & Teasel like this.
  64. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    AMPS (+13): 460
    Fed 4.5oz pate + 2T water. .8oz pate + 1 T water @ +3 and 1T YA @ +5.5.
    Gave 6 units.
    DH will monitor.
    Looking for BLUES today!
     
  65. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    My baby boy.
     

    Attached Files:

  66. Pati

    Pati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    He's awesome looking.
     
    StephG likes this.
  67. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    OMG - Mr. Personality is written all over his face, Steph! Such handsome, distinctive boy! :bighug:
     
    StephG likes this.
  68. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    He's like a little white tiger!
     
    StephG likes this.
  69. Lisa & Leo

    Lisa & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    What a handsome guy!
     
    StephG likes this.
  70. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I've been thinking a lot about the acromegaly. Can he be an acro cat if he's not gaining weight? He's still under weight at 10.8 pounds and it's taking a long time to get him to gain. Googling pictures of acro cats he doesn't seem to look like one to me. But his recent dosing is driving me nuts.
    AMPS (+13): 460
    Fed 4.5oz pate + 2T water. .8oz pate + 1 T water @ +3 and 1T YA @ +5.5.
    Gave 6 units.
    +1 HI
    +3 397
    +4 354
    PMPS (+11): 416
    Fed 4.5oz pate + 2T water. .8oz pate + 1 T water @ +3 and 1T YA @ +5.5.
    +3 385
    +5 404 .4u given *DO NOT COPY MY DOSING!*
    +6 331
    I was also wondering about Vetsulin... That is the one that is a mix of a quicker acting and loner acting right? So he wouldn't get such a food spike after eating and maybe surf longer? I know prozinc is a favorite for some vets along with lantus. I haven't talked to his Vet about any of this yet. Just trying to get some input from you all so I don't go in blind/deaf/dumb. Someone also suggested an R insulin for meal time. I know that's a very fast acting and can be dangerous so it kinda scares me but I wonder if it would help with his mealtime spikes in a micro dose amount? I don't plan on making any changes soon. I want to finish out this bottle of prozinc at least. DH used the "warmed" bottle the other day. I'm going to mark that on his SS. Just found out today.
     
  71. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Not sure about the acro...could ask in Health maybe and someone can give you some insight?

    Vetsulin is much harsher I believe so it would drop him faster...but I don't believe it's longer acting. I think it's more like 8 hours.

    As for R, I know it's been used in conjuction with Lantus, but never with Prozinc that I know of. @Bobbie And Bubba didn't you use R at one point?
     
    StephG likes this.
  72. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    If you choose to switch insulins, I'd recommend either Lantus or Levemir. They are both long lasting and give a smoother curve. With a higher dose kitty most will recommend Lev because at higher doses Lantus can sting some cats. The physical signs of acro don't always show early on. My vet kept insisting Colin didn't have it because of having no outward signs. I had to insist on the test. He was very surprised at the result. He still hasn't gained the weight, holding steady at 12# and the only thing I can see is his lower jaw is a little longer than it used to be. If you'd like, I can tag Wendy and Julie who are the acro gurus in L&L and they can give you more info.
     
    Kris & Teasel and StephG like this.
  73. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Sure the more info the better! I will look up Levemir. I have been following Kris & Teasel and it gives me increased anxiety to see the same dose on such a lower number. I'm sure it's because I'm accustomed to the prozinc and lantus is different. I will keep your experience with Colin and his acro test in mind if my vet isn't willing to test. I mean if it's a blood test and I'm paying- why wouldn't she want to? But I have had my fair share of vets that couldn't be wrong. haha.
     
  74. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, Steph, dosing on those low numbers takes some getting used to. The time it really gave me the jitters was on 02/25. For blues, I'm OK. There's no sliding scale dosing though with the Ls.

    It's a no shot for Teasel tonight because he's far too low. I'll be reducing his dose a little tomorrow AM. This was a nail biter number.
     
    Rachel, Djamila, StephG and 1 other person like this.
  75. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Yes there is definitely a difference in Prozinc dosing and depot insulin dosing, but there are a lot of folks on the L&L forum to guide you. @Wendy&Neko and @julie & punkin (ga) are two of the best and know their high dose kitty stuff! They will give you some info on acro and IAA and be glad to answer any questions you have.
     
    StephG likes this.
  76. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    It is my understanding that Vetsulin is a fast acting, with harsher drops and not the duration of Lantus or even Prozinc.

    I did use R with Bubba along with Lantus and I do believe I read on the boards that it has been used in adjunct to ProZinc but I am not positive who it was that said that or who has the knowledge to use the two together . If not used carefully, it could make bouncing worst.
     
    StephG likes this.
  77. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Yes! I would be a mess. I am quick to panic and steer but was getting better about not getting to ahead of myself but lately it hasn't mattered since he's been so high. I like the progress you're making though!

    The R would be scary for me because some days, usually mid pinks or lower, he doesn't spike much after his meal. Other days he spikes hard. I would be hesitant to give it until I saw how big the spike was which would kinda defeat the purpose of it. I read a bit about lev and think it sounds like it could be a possibility in the future if we decide we need to change.
     
  78. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I don't think I could handle giving R insulin myself. Tricky kitties will still be tricky on an L insulin but you can see that Teasel has done his version of levelling out. I hope to see more of that. :)
     
  79. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    If it turns out you need R, there are several pros in L& L that will guide you. I've never used it, but many high dose people do and it can help.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  80. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yes, especially if he's poorly regulated. Remember ECID -well, the same for acros. Neko had acromegaly for 5.5 years and never got above 15 lbs. The vet thought she was a good weight (part Maine Coon). We've also had some petite acros that weighed a lot less. The other thing to consider is IAA or insulin auto antibodies. It's less common condition but we do see it around. Neko had both. A recent study at Royal Veterinary College in the UK showed that 1 in 4 diabetic cats had acromegaly. The cats in their study (over 1000 cats) had doses ranging from 1 to 32 units, with an average of 7. Neko's vet originally thought she had to get to 10 units (for her size) before testing for acromegaly. We never got that high.
    Only 35% of acros show clinical signs on diagnosis. Neko's only signs were a tearing eye (which I found out much later was due to soft tissue growth in her tear duct), her dose, and an obsession with bread products. :p A lot of cats don't show physical signs until much later on in the disease.
    I wouldn't go there. We were on Vetsulin first (properly called Caninsulin for canine insulin in Canada). For cats with a high dose condition, if he has that, the longer lasting L insulins are better. If your kitty is a high doser, I would in fact recommend Levemir, as Lantus can sting at higher doses. And yes, R is an option used by some people with acrocats (or IAA) but my experience is only with the L insulins. The later onset in Levemir also makes R use easier cause you have quite a bit of time after shot time where the L insulin is still wearing off and the R can do it's work.
    I've seen a lot of vets relunctant to do the test. Mine was as I said. I asked her to humour me. Boy did I earn points when both tests came back positive. Depending on the age of the vet, a lot of them were taught "this is acromegaly, you'll never see it, it's so rare". The research on it being more common is fairly new. Neko's vet diagnosed another in her practise a few months after Neko's results came in. Now she knows what to look for. And remember, you want the IAA and the acro test. Some are one or the other or both. Dosing strategies can change based on results.

    Feel free to ask questions - here's a place to start if you like to read. :bighug:
     
    StephG and Kris & Teasel like this.
  81. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Teasel is keeping you on your toes! He sensed you were relaxing :p. Although I do feel like Maury sense this and then throws me a bounce :facepalm:
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  82. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Wow. Chuck's right eye tears up and gets more gunk than his left eye. Thanks for the info and I'm off to read it now! I will call my vet and see what she thinks about the two tests. Is there a way to test if the pancreas is producing insulin at all? Or is it more of a rule out other conditions first type thing?
     
  83. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Not to my knowledge. Acros generally have working pancreases. And the rest of the sugar cats have pancreases that sputter and produce some insulin. Usually we suggest that if people have increased safely to dose of 6 units (or there abouts), the cat has no infection/inflammation (ie, such as dental needed), and are eating low carb wet or raw food, then it's time for the high dose tests. There are other conditions that can cause some insulin resistance, like hyperthyroidism, heart conditions, pancreatitis, kidney disease, but not usually to that high a dose.
     
    StephG likes this.
  84. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    He has been unofficially diagnosed with IBD. Never treated with anything other than fortiflora. Maybe I should start there?
     
  85. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +7 316
    +8 332
    + 10 223
    +11 341
    AMPS: 341
    Fed 4.5oz pate + 2T water. .8oz pate + 1 T water @ +3 and 1T YA @ +5.5.
    Gave 6 units. I was going to increase to 6.2 units but because of the extra at +4 I decided I would wait til tomorrow PM to increase the dose.
     
  86. ShipsCat

    ShipsCat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Still complicated times with Chuck, I see. Hopefully you can get your vet to do some more testing that might give you some answers!
     
    StephG likes this.
  87. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +1 356 :woot:
     
  88. ShipsCat

    ShipsCat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Awesome! Nice to see no immediate huge food spike :D Keep it going, Chuck!
     
    StephG likes this.
  89. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    DH thinks the micro at +4 or +6 is a good idea to get rid of the food spike but it's not practical for us.
     
  90. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +2 301
     
  91. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +3 185 Just got his .8oz snack. I'll test again in 15 minutes
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  92. ShipsCat

    ShipsCat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Wow that's a surprise! Hope he levels out some and has a nice surf there for you!
     
    StephG likes this.
  93. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +3.5 163 gave him .5oz pate. It's early in the cycle so I expect him to go down more.
     
  94. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +4 124 gave .8oz pate
     
  95. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +4.5 138 no food
     
  96. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +5 147
    Think I gave too much food. Hopefully he won't bounce from the "lower numbers" and big drop. We will see. I'm off to bed for a couple hours.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  97. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Chuck heard about the possibility of tests and said NOOOOOO! :joyful:

    When is the last time Chuck had a good vet work up? I tend to think of high dose conditions because you've been trying with small increases for awhile, but it's true that other things could cause it...
     
  98. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Last bloodwork was 8/2016. Results are on my SS labs page. He was looked over when we switched our vet in October I think, maybe November. Oy, my memory is so awful. If have to look at the stack of vet papers to see for sure.
    I might have to take my dog in so if I do I'll book a double appt and take him too. April had too much of a treat that disagreed with her belly and is going on 72+ hrs of GI upset.
     
  99. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    PMPS: 451
    Fed the usual. Snacks at +2 and +5
    Gave 6.2 units
    Will monitor.
     
  100. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +3 425
    +4 386
    +7 353
    :banghead:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page