Claudio bg is 35

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Susan & Claudio, Mar 25, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Gave food with syrup mixed in.
    What else to do ?
    How soon and often do I retest ?
     
  2. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
  3. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
  4. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    And watch him carefully. oi
     
  5. SnowKat

    SnowKat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    I think the standard suggestion is to test again in 15 minutes. You also don't want to give too much food, especially LC food. You don't want to fill him up if you need to bump his numbers up with more food. I'd stick with HC spoonfuls until his numbers stabilize.
     
  6. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Thanks. I was gonna test in 15 'cause it was so low.
     
  7. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Where are we now in the cycle? the last number on your spreadsheet is a 61 at +4.
     
  8. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Thanks everyone for jumping in.
    Gonna watch him like a hawk !!
     
  9. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    @Nan & Amber (GA) is taking the lead on this. The rest of us will observe from the sidelines.
    Ok to take the 911 prefix off the post now, since you are being helped.
     
  10. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    That's fine... it takes a bit longer for the food to have an effect, which is why I usually say 30mins, but with numbers in the 30's it's good to keep a close eye.
     
  11. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
  12. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    15 minutes later, he's at 50.
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) and Deb & Wink like this.
  13. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Should I now test in 30 ?
     
    Deb & Wink and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  14. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Nice!

    Yes. And no carbs now that he's (barely) in the 50's. Let's wait and see where he is at the next test.
     
  15. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Yes. test in 30 from last test.
    Be prepared to feed 1 more teaspoon of low carb food after the next test.
    We don't want Claudio to fill up too quickly.
    The sugar can wear off quickly.
    Usually within a couple of hours.

    p.s. Tag for me did not work Susan. You had a space between the @ sign and my user name. They need to be right after each other.
     
  16. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Nan & Amber (GA)

    Thank you ever so much !!!
    Am so glad I printed out the hypo page.
     
  17. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Deb & Wink
    1st Time I ever tagged. And wasn't exactly thinking about properly tagging. Had something more important on my mind at the moment.
     
  18. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Understood. Just making you aware for next time.

    p.s. Claudio just "earned" his first dose reduction.
     
  19. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    So reduce back to 4.5U at pm shot time ?
    I just upped it this morning. Geez !!
     
  20. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Yep, a number in the 30's means an automatic reduction.

    Usually, they do this when you just threaten a dosecrease, guess Claudio wasn't paying close attention yesterday and had to scramble!
     
  21. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    And you may want to hold the doses for longer than the 6 cycles you had been holding them. Not forever, but a cycle or 2 longer may be in order.

    Did Claudio eat as usual this morning?
     
  22. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Nan & Amber
    Nah. He's a rebel. Threats don't work with him.
    He's a tricky one.
    No symptoms. Was actually play fighting with the civie when I took a follow up test from that 61 @ +2.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2020
  23. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Deb & Wink
    Funny you mention that.
    He refused his usual food of raw. So I gave him Friskies LC. He ate all of that, no problem.
    He's keeping me on my toes today.
    It's my fault though. Yesterday I said why couldn't he go low during the day so I could get more sleep at night.
    He heard that, but didn't listen when I threatened an increase.
     
  24. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    thats why this is called the "DANCE" ;) We've ALL been to it!
     
    Deb & Wink and Susan & Claudio like this.
  25. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    106 @ +6. 30 minute test.
     
    Deb & Wink and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  26. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  27. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    OK, I'd say he's definitely on the way up!

    I would test again in an hour, to make sure he doesn't have any more tricks up his sleeve, but we're in the second half of the cycle so hopefully he's out of the woods.

    Whew!
     
    Deb & Wink and Susan & Claudio like this.
  28. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Will test in an hour again.
    Whew x 100 !!!
    He better not make a habit of this.
    I'm grateful this didn't happen during the overnight.
     
  29. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    well join the left foot CLUB! :D:p:joyful:

    Congrats you're doin great!
     
    Susan & Claudio and Deb & Wink like this.
  30. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    +7 190.
    Feel like I've been on Mr. Toad's Wild Ride.
    After all this was over, that sad ASPCA commercial came on.
    I went from very nervous to very sad. Had to change the channel.
     
  31. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Well, I think you can relax now. You've done a fantastic job keeping him safe!!!!
     
    Deb & Wink and Susan & Claudio like this.
  32. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Hopefully I never have to do this again.
    If he was in the 50's I could handle it.
    But 35 was waaay to low for me to handle it alone.
    Definitely a decrease tonight.
     
    Deb & Wink and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  33. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    PLEASE ACCEPT MY SINCERE THANK YOU FOR EVERYONE'S HELP.
    CLAUDIO & I GREATLY APPRECIATE IT !!!!!!!!!!
     
  34. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page