? Cliff low BG # at +6

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiCo

Active Member
gave Cliff 4.75u Prozinc for pm shot
PMPS=404

+6 I got 56
Retested and got 62. One more time with largeR blood sample and got 69.

Not exhibiting any symptoms, that I could see. He was in another room before I came down to feed them.

Gave 5 temptations treats and 1/2 5oz can gravy.

What else? This is my first low # episode. I will retest in 15 min.
Appetite is large. Do I feed more now, or wAit? Karo?

@Kris & Teasel @Rachel
 
Last edited:
Just tested again after 15min:
BG=104

Next steps? Keep monitoring for next several hours?
Do I go back to regular foods/treats, or keep feeding from hypo kit?

Thank you @MrWorfMen's Mom for answering my call! Taking 911 off now.
 
Ok here's the drill. You want to make sure his BG is holding or rising so don't feed anymore right now. You gave him gravy with is great but next time you can just give him about 1 tsp of LC food and retest in 20 minutes. The gravy is HC which explains the quick rise in BG and after that he's not likely to go back down too low given where you are in the cycle. That said, you need to re-test him in 30 minutes and make sure. If he is holding or rising, retest in an hour. Once you have 3 readings in safe numbers, you can totally relax.
 
Michele, I am impressed. That first low BG is a terrifying experience. You handled it like a pro! :)You retested when you got the low number and acted quickly to keep Cliff from going too low. Kudos! :bighug:

It's likely he is going to bounce and his AMPS tomorrow may be higher than usual. This is normal because he's not used to his BG going that low. Higher numbers may persist for up to 3 days (6 cycles). I'm not as well versed on ProZinc as others so I would suggest you post in the AM for dosing suggestions but I would be inclined to reduce back to 4.5u given that low tonight. Looks like he might have already been bouncing today from those blues he got last night.
 
Ok here's the drill. You want to make sure his BG is holding or rising so don't feed anymore right now. You gave him gravy with is great but next time you can just give him about 1 tsp of LC food and retest in 20 minutes. The gravy is HC which explains the quick rise in BG and after that he's not likely to go back down too low given where you are in the cycle. That said, you need to re-test him in 30 minutes and make sure. If he is holding or rising, retest in an hour. Once you have 3 readings in safe numbers, you can totally relax.
Thank you. Good to know next time I can do LC food to start. I panicked and broke out the kit--which i honestly just assembled today! What drama. I'm gonna keep an eye on him. We're hanging out now. Just seems a little sleepy.
 
No worries about the panic Michele! You did far better than me. I pulled out the karo, rubbed it on my girl's gums and fed her Temptations laced in karo too! And paced around my coffee table (I can still envision the whole episode) waiting to do the next test. Thank goodness for the Hypo kits and as long as you get their numbers back up, that's what counts! :bighug:
 
Michele, I am impressed. That first low BG is a terrifying experience. You handled it like a pro! :)You retested when you got the low number and acted quickly to keep Cliff from going too low. Kudos! :bighug:

It's likely he is going to bounce and his AMPS tomorrow may be higher than usual. This is normal because he's not used to his BG going that low. Higher numbers may persist for up to 3 days (6 cycles). I'm not as well versed on ProZinc as others so I would suggest you post in the AM for dosing suggestions but I would be inclined to reduce back to 4.5u given that low tonight. Looks like he might have already been bouncing today from those blues he got last night.
Thanks again for your help and this addtl feedback. I hope you all realize the power of your encouraging words! Also, your knowledge is powerful! I'm just trying to soak it all in. Thanks for notes on what i may expect to see in coming days. So helpful. Sending virtual hugs and high fives!!
 
I know you'll be worried about how to dose because you're leaving tomorrow. The low this evening will leave him insulin sensitive and/or bouncy. It might be wise to lower the dose to 4 or 4.25 u for more peace of mind. You'll only be gone a few days and you can raise it again slowly when you get back.
 
30min test=232. Whew.

Thanks, @Kris & Teasel, for the dosing suggestion for tomorrow /this weekend. I have to process this event and see how i feel abt traveling. I almost didn't test just now, cuz his #s were so high all day... but i was curious so i tested before feeding them before i was abt to go to bed! &i was shocked to see that #!! Test strips were flying. Treats and food everywhere. Just cleaned up and coming down from it all now.
 
30min test=232. Whew.

Thanks, @Kris & Teasel, for the dosing suggestion for tomorrow /this weekend. I have to process this event and see how i feel abt traveling. I almost didn't test just now, cuz his #s were so high all day... but i was curious so i tested before feeding them before i was abt to go to bed! &i was shocked to see that #!! Test strips were flying. Treats and food everywhere. Just cleaned up and coming down from it all now.
You did a great job! Another baptism by fire ... too many of these the last couple of days. :confused:
 
You did a great job! Another baptism by fire ... too many of these the last couple of days. :confused:
Must be the moon, or the holiday. (((Sending out positive vibes to all kitties and kitty parents to be healthy and well and no more emergencies.)))

FYI-the thread/list of members who will be around to help at the holidays is great! I started writing down names to tag, but I got such a quick response To this post that I didn't need to keep shouting for help! :) once I am a more experienced member, I hope to contribute more to the community and help out over the holidays too!! I will always remember this night!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top