Cliff Notes, pt 2

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by MiCo, Feb 16, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2017
    Kris & Teasel and Sharon14 like this.
  2. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +7.5 168
    +10 286
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  3. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Amps=278 AT2
    Ate good; 7 u
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  4. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Nice cycle last night!:cool:
     
    MiCo likes this.
  5. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +2 486 ugh... I'm tired
     
  6. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Bounce! Very nice otherwise. :)
     
    MiCo likes this.
  7. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +7 451 (Relion)

    PMPS=382 (Relion)
    7 units

    Let's see what tonight brings!
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  8. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +3.5 281 (relion)
    +5 260
    +7.25 189
     
    StephG likes this.
  9. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Lookin good!
     
    MiCo likes this.
  10. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +10.25 167
    +12.25 152

    I'm still not understanding this continued drop later in the pm cycle. Stalling to see if I can shoot, otherwise, I will feed and wait 2hrs.
     
  11. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Is that with the AT or human meter? If Human meter that 152 is 1 point off from the 20% variance on the 189 (right in the variance if you count it as 37.8) so it could be him surfing. Chuck was doing this with his higher doses. If I reduced the by just a tiny fraction he wouldn't surf as long and would going up at +12.
    Could be an option but I'll leave that up to you and the pros might have more insight.
    Adding: I'm not sure if the AT has the 20% variance.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  12. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    It's the relion meter right now. I'm trying to switch over, but I've been doing curves for vet with at2, and then I've been more comfortable with at2 when looking at low Preshot #s. Still getting used to human meter readings, so thank you for insight! I think a slight dose decrease in pm might help get the am Preshot # in range at +12.
     
    StephG likes this.
  13. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Stalled abt 30min and got 189 on human/relion meter; 240 on at2

    Might wait until top of hour and test one more time before proceeding. It's good he is rising, I'm just more comfortable with a little higher pre-shot #s. I will be home all day to monitor.
     
  14. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Total stall=1hr

    Amps=205 relion
    Ate well
    7 u

    Since this is the 2nd big stall in 4 days, I think I will decrease pm dose slightly. Maybe 6.75 or 6.5? Just need to get that shootable am # without so much effort, esp during work week.
     
  15. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Whew! Getting a good response is nerve wracking! I agree with what Steph said about surfing at a higher dose. Higher doses can increase the duration of the insulin.

    Re meters: it's really confusing to second guess yourself because two meters give different readings. I suggest you use the AT for:
    1. doing a curve for the vet
    2. double checking a very low number (<50 on a human meter and <68 on the AT).
    Stalling is difficult during the work week. Maybe try 6.75 u this weekend to see how he does? You're finally getting a grip and you want to hang on as much as possible.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  16. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Thanks, @Kris & Teasel ! i think I will go with 6.75 tonight. I don't want to lose ground, but I also wonder if a decrease at night will help the am cycle? I still plan to keep the am at 7u, or should I raise AM to 7.25? I've been staying the course this week with work during day, but now I think I should've shot 7.25 this am.
     
  17. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    It's hard, Michele, and you can second guess yourself over and over. I don't know what to tell you. It's all data gathering as Sue would say. Every time you get to a new phase in dosing you're almost at square one in figuring it out. I'm there with Teasel right now. Let's see how Cliff's day unfolds. :)
     
    MiCo likes this.
  18. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    I was more just thinking out loud... But thank you, as always. Will continue to gather data!
     
  19. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +7.5 464

    PMPS=381
    Ate well
    6.75 u --small decrease to see if it helps get shootable amps and maybe less bounce during am
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  20. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +3 366
    +6 322 :mad::banghead::(

    Perhaps I should not have decreased by 0.25 tonight. I was reading the Prozinc protocols this afternoon, and was thinking perhaps a 13/11 dosing would work better. Essentially, committing to an hour later in the am, giving shot at +13 everyday, which is what I've been doing with the stalling anyways. And since he runs higher during the day, dosing earlier at +11.

    Still hopeful that he'll surf later. Will test before bed or early am.

    We're staying the course for now. sending the vet another curve in a week, so we will see how he's doing then.
     
    StephG and Kris & Teasel like this.
  21. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Amps=205--->I had set my alarm for +13, but Cliff woke me at +12.25
    Fed, ate v good
    7 units
     
    Kris & Teasel and StephG like this.
  22. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    This is excellent progress with Cliff! :D
     
    MiCo likes this.
  23. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +3.75 302--> again, Cliff woke me up, so I tested 15 min early

    Kinda wonder if I had waited until the actual +4 if he might have been in the yellows!

    I am starting to feel like we may be making progress. At the very least, I will know we gave Prozinc our best effort, if we have to switch. But, it seems like we are starting to get a response between 7 & 8 units here. The vet had said last week with Cliff's weight, 8u would be our cutoff. If he didn't respond we would switch. Maybe cliff read my emails? Or heard my convos w/Dave? :cat:
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  24. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    You will learn that they ALWAYS read our condos.....:woot:
     
    MiCo likes this.
  25. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I think you're right about getting to Cliff's "good dose" range. You can get the acro/antibody tests done later if this doesn't work out. Even if you get those tests done and the results are postive, you'd just be dosing around the condition anyway.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  26. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Thanks! I'm definitely approaching this one thing at a time. I'm committed to Prozinc right now, and for at least the next week or so. Cliff seems to be responding, so this is my focus. If we need to switch insulin, I will ask for the tests then. My thought-an unnecessary vet visit right now (just for bloodwork/tests) might disrupt our recent progress. :cat::bookworm:
     
  27. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think you might consider 11/13. His amps is not too low to shoot so he might be up a bit more by +13 but giving insulin before the pmps shoots up might flatten things out overall. Nice to see the yelllows. And I agree with others - "generally" youu see very little movement with a high dose cat as you increase the dose until you get into quite high doses. The amps is encouraging.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  28. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +7.25 338. Gave him lunch.

    We're going out to see La La Land. Trying to see all the Best Picture noms befor next Sunday. Will be home for pm shot.
     
  29. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hidden Figures!!!
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  30. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Hidden Figures was an early favorite. I think Arrival and Hell or High Water are now 1 & 2 for me. But all the ones I've seen so far were really good. Still need to watch 3 more before next w/e! :)
     
  31. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    PMPS=344
    Ate ok
    7u. --going back up to 7u, alarm is set for +13 tomorrow.

    He seems a little more content lately. I hope he feels a little better with the yellows and blues.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  32. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Glad he seems to be feeling a bit better. My guess is the lower numbers do make him feel better.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  33. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +4.25 266
     
  34. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +7.25 256
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  35. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Amps=197--> cats woke me up, had been begging for two hrs. Even though I was hoping for +13 this am, I went ahead on this +12 #

    Ok good
    7u
     
  36. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +3.25 321
     
  37. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hee haw!! Great blue AMPS. :cool: Expect some bounce numbers after this. This seems to be the good dose range for Cliff. You might have to play around with 0.25 u ups and downs or even fat/skinny doses but you're on your way.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  38. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Thank you for the encouragement! It's all very exciting and nerve-wracking at the same time.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  39. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Don't I know it!! :confused::D
     
    MiCo likes this.
  40. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +8.25 426

    Hm... it's going to be tricky trying to find the PM dose the allows him to surf throughout the evening/early morning without bouncing during the next day's AM cycle.

    I'm decreasing slightly (0.25) back down to 6.75 for this evening's PM dose, because when I did that a couple days ago... he stayed in the pinks the following day's AM cycle, avoiding the reds.
     
  41. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Husband got home late, so pm shot was +12.75

    PMPS=427
    6.75

    +3 332
     
  42. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +6.5 224

    Off to bed. Cliff got fed.
     
  43. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +11 276
    Amps=264
    Gave fat 7.0
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  44. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Those yellows are lovely!
     
    MiCo likes this.
  45. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +3 388
    +7 398
     
  46. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Boing! Boing! Boing!
     
  47. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Just wish his am cycles would start to look more like his pm cycles. How to even him out/less bounce? ( i know there is no magic key... )
     
  48. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Pmps=357
    6.75
    +4 256
     
  49. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +6 214
     
  50. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Cliff woke us up, BG at +11.75 104

    He is pretty mad that I'm stalling, stomping around. I'm waiting until +12.5 to test again. If he's not ok to shoot at next test, will probably feed and wait 2hrs for insulin.
     
  51. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Slept thru first alarm, so stalled longer... +13=132
    fed them. Will test BG in 2hrs and hope for shootable #
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  52. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Exciting times but very tense. :nailbiting: You've hit his "magic zone" - now to figure it all out. :confused:
     
    MiCo likes this.
  53. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    His BG two hours after food was 279

    I gave him 6.75 units, and I think he'll be OK. I'm home in a few hours to check on him over lunch at +5

    They were sharking/acting hungry after I gave him his shot, so I gave them a 2nd breakfast.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2017
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  54. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    +4 304 came home a little early.

    Dave should be home by +8 or 9. Will be shooting later tonight, because of "feed and wait 2hrs to shoot" in am.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page