Czar Zanzibar~ an intro

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Nicole, Jan 6, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nicole

Nicole New Member

My tabby Czar Zanzibar:

Born on my 19th birthday (I'm now 25) he was intended to be a low maintenance companion while I put myself through college. About halfway through my BS in biology I came home from a sleepover to find his water bowl knocked over; I didn't think much of it until he had trouble urinating. After a vet consultation/ no crystals in urine they advised me to monitor him. That Saturday I rushed him to ER because he was blocked. They recommended I switch to prescription UTD food but I figured that it was a one time fluke and I already had him eating healthier than I was! Well after his second blockage I decided to switch; I was very reluctant because as a biology student I didn't understand why a 'prescription' food was comprised of such poor ingredients ( the food I had him on was better) not to mention the inflated price for the removal of a nutrient. He was my baby and all of my level headed reason ness flew out the window. I can say the 2 years he was on the prescription food he wasn't blocked. However his weight steadily increased until it leveled off about 3lbs heavier than the vet would like, but since I was only feeding him 1/2c a day he didn't want me to reduce the food.

College is over and I landed my dream job working with prescribed burning and an on call wild land firefighter. Upon returning from a two week tour fighting fire in California my boyfriend informed me he noticed a dramatic increase in water consumption and urination. I took him in to find his blood glucose level at 400. Unfortunately I didn't go into the oil field and always thought that I'd rather love my job than care about money, until my baby got sick, again! Great 'prescription' food, if I didn't let the vet pressure me into that crap food he wouldn't have diabetes today.