**DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME STARTS 3/10**

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sienne and Gabby (GA), Mar 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    [​IMG]
    For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule, but we can make the necessary adjustment.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

    If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your time a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by 15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    • Thursday PMPS at 6:45
    • Friday AMPS at 6:45
    • Friday PMPS at 6:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
    • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

    Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 6:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    ***Please bump until March 10th***
     
  2. Frosty

    Frosty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Thank you Sienne. I completely forgot about the time change and the affect on our kitties BG numbers.

    Have a great weekend.
     
  3. Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA)

    Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I was waiting for this..I can't ever figure it out myself :)

    THANKS!!!
     
  4. Nancy&Pepper (GA)

    Nancy&Pepper (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
  5. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Your brilliant :lol: :lol: :lol:
    I hard time following while reading...lol and you typed it up in such an easy to understand fashion lol :lol: :lol: :lol:
    We are all very lucky to have you.
     
  6. Doug N Libby

    Doug N Libby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Thanks, Sienne!
     
  7. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Every year DST gets earlier and earlier in the Month. March 10th isn't even spring!! I hate having to get up in the dark again, just as it was beginning to get light in the early morning!

    Thanks for the reminder, Sienne!

    Ella & Rusty
     
  8. Deborah & Shasta

    Deborah & Shasta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    UGH! I HATE this time change! Thanks for the reminder.
     
  9. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    I was going to post about it this morning if it hadn't come up. Thank you, Sienne. :D
     
  10. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Thanks Sienne. I was looking for you post about DST.
     
  11. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thanks go to Dyana. She reminded me. I didn't even know when DST started!
     
  12. milfordcollector

    milfordcollector Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    OMG.... being a newbie didn't even think about DST........thanks so much Sienne :YMHUG:
     
  13. Tara & Buster

    Tara & Buster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Bumpity bump!
     
  14. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Gobbles' shot time is 5 a.m. I have no qualms about it being later in the morning, and in fact, had thought about moving it later. This time-change thing takes way more common sense than I have. Therefore, His new shot time will be the "new 5 a.m." which will read 6 a.m. on my clock.
    I'll just go to bed an hour earlier to make up the hour of sleep that I'll miss.
    Does that sound correct? Am I even making sense?/
     
  15. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  16. Nancy&Pepper (GA)

    Nancy&Pepper (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Thought I had it all straight, got confused, went back and re-read this post. Thanks, Sienne!
     
  17. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    bump
     
  18. Josie & Ripley (GA)

    Josie & Ripley (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
  19. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
  20. ecurie

    ecurie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    thanks Sienne, I printed it and put it on the cupboard door. Now i won't mess up even in the early morning when my brain isn't working.
    xoxo mary
     
  21. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
  22. Bruce & Simon

    Bruce & Simon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
  23. Doug N Libby

    Doug N Libby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
  24. Susie and Elian

    Susie and Elian Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Ugh! For dodo's like me who just saw this and it's too late to start a few days in advance and who's brain can't figure it out.... can somebody tell me how to do the changes starting with amps tomorrow (Sunday) morning when it will be one hour later? Elian's normal shots are 10:00am/10:00pm. So would I do 11:00am/10:45pm; 10:45 am/10:30 pm; 10:30am/10:15 pm; 10:15 am/10:00 pm? Thanks in advance.
     
  25. Courtney and Kismet

    Courtney and Kismet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    bump time to turn those clocks back
     
  26. Deborah & Shasta

    Deborah & Shasta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Don't forget to change the time on your glucometer if you're the type to take a few tests and then go back and log them later!
     
  27. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Also change to daylight savings time if applicable in your FDMB user control panel, or else it looks like recent posts were made an hour ago :?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page