deciding to to not treat? (newbie here please help)

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by chloesmom, Sep 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chloesmom

chloesmom New Member

Hi,
    First I want to say that I have read just about everything on here that I can possibly read in my "down" time. I really admire how dedicated everyone is.

Here is my situation: My sweet little angel Chloe is 10 years old. She started urinating outside her box and I thought she just felt smaller. A couple of days ago my vet figured out she is diabetic. At first I was happy and thought ok we can do this, its not cancer. Then the vet explained to me what all is involved and I also continued to research on my own. Slowly I narrowed down my choices. I am heavily leaning on not treating her. The reason is because she is the most nervous, scared cat I have ever met. She could barely breath by the time I got her to the vets. I've tried endlessly to get a urine sample from her and she gets so nervous she goes on the floor (I had to lock her in a room because I have another cat). She mostly lives under the stairs and comes out at night to cuddle with me. Only my husband and my sister know her aside from me.

We have decided that all the trips to the vet, the needle sticks, and so forth would just be too much for her. My heart is broke because I want to save her so bad but I do feel it is unfair to her. I wish I could explain it all to her. Please understand I am a great cat mom and have always strived to do whats best for my cats. I have enough guilt, and while you all seem very nice, I really can't handle guilt trips.

I am wondering if anyone else has made this decision. And I am also wondering if anyone can shed any light on how she might be feeling physically. I need to make the decision to put her to sleep and I don't want to do it to soon or too late. Basically I don't want to say goodbye, but mostly I don't want her to suffer.