Doodle is vomiting mucus -& has feeding tube

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Michelle and Doodle, Nov 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Michelle and Doodle

    Michelle and Doodle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Does anyone have any idea why Doodle would be vomiting mucus?
    It doesn't seem normal to me - not that vomiting is really normal.

    I'm taking him to the vet later but I'd like as many opinions as possible because the vets don't really know what to think.
    (and that's not me bashing them - they will readily admit it)

    He had a feeding tube placed a week and a half ago and surgery to remove a mass in his nasopharynx (due to crytococcosis) a week ago. He's not on antibiotics. And he became suddenly anemic after the surgery (though they don't think he bled much)
    He hasn't been doing well ever since he came home - he only gets up to go to the litterbox.
    He's sneezing a lot and the IM vet says it may be a URI or it may be die-off from the antifungal drug he is on.

    He is taking reglan for nausea and also Lansoprazole - though he just threw up the latter.

    I'm afraid he's going to throw up his feeding tube - and the mucus is freakin me out.
     
  2. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Oh I'm so sorry no answers here. This would scare me too. I want you to know I'm praying for you guys. Poor little Doodle Bug. Please keep us updated.
    jeanne
     
  3. tuckers mom

    tuckers mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Can you PM Dr. Lisa? She writes about Chase and that he vomitted with his feeding tube but that in never came up.

    http://www.catinfo.org/?link=feedingtubes
    "Chase did vomit many times with this tube in place but, fortunately, the tube never came up which can be a complication when feeding tubes are used in vomiting cats. "

    Maybe she could shed more light on this.
     
  4. dian and wheezer

    dian and wheezer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    hmmm not sure. a quick thought that popped into my pain riddled brain. this mucous could be draining from nasal passage for some reason and may not actually be going into stomach but could be accumulating in back of throat or so and then it comes up??? any food or fluid with the mucous?? so sorry things are not going as well as expected. YAMH
     
  5. OptOut

    OptOut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Michelle, can you call Jojo? It makes me so, so sad to hear he's not doing well - I love Mr. Doodles. :cry:
     
  6. Michelle and Doodle

    Michelle and Doodle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I initially wondered the same thing Dian. But the mucus is mixed with food - it's definitely vomit and there's quite a lot there.
    I hate to be so pessimistic but I'm not sure he's gonna pull through this. He hasn't eaten on his own in over 2 weeks and now he's stopped drinking. He won't look at me...All he wants to do hide. :(

    I also think he's got a slight yellow tinge to his skin.
    The vet will do bloodwork tonight.

    I'm scared and sad.
     
  7. chriscleo

    chriscleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    have you called U Florida and talked to the doctors there? maybe they'd have more ideas than your vet does (not sure if you're talking to regular vet or specialists).
    will they put him on an antibiotic?
     
  8. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    The stomach has a mucus coating to protect the lining from being digested. Perhaps it is oversecreting due to irritation form the meds? Are you doing anything like Pepcid? If not, and if vet is OK with it, maybe it would help.
     
  9. tuckers mom

    tuckers mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Is he going to the vet today? You know what yellow tinge to the skin means, you have to get that checked immediately.

    I'm sorry but I lost Misty right after her skin turned yellow from jaundice. I hope that Doodle can pull through, he's such an amazing little man.
     
  10. Michelle and Doodle

    Michelle and Doodle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Chris, I talked to the Internal Med vet at UF earlier today (and last night) as well as my regular vet.
    They both just keep making this "iiiieeee...." sound and saying let's run more bloodwork.

    Jennifer -- yes I know what the yellow means. :( I'm just not sure I'm not imagining it. I don't trust myself anymore. I'm so tired and looking out for so many things - maybe he's just pale and it's such a subtle tinge I'm not sure it's even there.
    I'm supposed to take him in this evening - and not feed him until then.
    The antifungal is hard on the liver and his liver is already inflamed - I think that's the concern.


    BJM - He is on Lansoprazole (Prevacid) - but I just reduced the dose (as per IM) so maybe that has something to do with it.
     
  11. tuckers mom

    tuckers mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    When it happened to Misty I could see the yellow on her ears mainly. They were unmistakably yellow, she was an all grey kitty. It was 3 or 4 in the morning and she passed before I could get dressed to get her to the ER. It came on very quickly.
     
  12. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Positive thoughts Michelle; let's hope for the best.
    Good luck at the vet today.
     
  13. Michelle and Doodle

    Michelle and Doodle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Crap.
    It's Doodle's ears that I'm questioning as well.
    I'm gonna go check him again.
     
  14. Barb and Tori

    Barb and Tori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Oh Michelle this is so hard for you. I don't have any advise but I'm really glad you're getting Doodle seen today. Maybe the labs will help the vets figure out what's happening. Sending many prayers and healing vines for you and your little boy. He's a fighter that boy of yours. Tell him that we all love him and want him to get better.
     
  15. Jen & Squeak

    Jen & Squeak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I feel so helpless. I'm sorry Michelle, I'm of no help but sending hugs.
     
  16. Jen and Oreo (GA)

    Jen and Oreo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Oh (((Michelle))) (((Doodle))), no advise and feel a little helpless, but sending you many hugs, vines, snowflakes and white light.

    Come on Doodlebug, we iz all pulling for you!!
     
  17. Mowgli and Keri

    Mowgli and Keri Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    No advice,
    But MANY MANY ((((((((MICHELLE & DOODLE)))))))))
    Prayers and healing vines, you're both in my thoughts..hopefully some answers will come....
     
  18. Michelle and Doodle

    Michelle and Doodle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    okay. his ears are peach colored. not yellow.
    I always think of them as pink - but sometimes they are brighter/darker than others.
    Maybe peach is normal. How insane is it that I don't even know what color is normal.

    Vet said to stay calm and bring him in this evening as planned. I guess if she's not panicking it should make me feel better.


    As for the not feeding him so his tummy could settle - His BG was 37 at +4.5 so I kinda had to give him something.
    fingers crossed that it stays down.
     
  19. Lulu's2Moms

    Lulu's2Moms Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    sending good vibes to you and doodle
     
  20. tuckers mom

    tuckers mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Peach is good. You would know the yellow, it's not easy to mistake and Misty was grey.

    I will be thinking of you both and sending tons of healing vibes and prayers.
     
  21. Sonia & Tom (GA)

    Sonia & Tom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Michelle, sending lots of hugs to you and healing vibes to Doodlebug.
     
  22. Linda and Bear Man

    Linda and Bear Man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Are his ears perhaps a bit pale? Maybe his PCV has fallen a bit again? Bear's ears were ghost white when he was very anemic. What about Doodle's gums? I assume the vet will recheck the PCV.

    Will be thinking of you and (((((Doodle))))).
     
  23. Nina and KB

    Nina and KB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ((( Michelle ))) I hope he's feeling better. And I hope YOU'RE feeling better. I'm going to go study all six feline ears in my house, I don't know what normal is for them, either. (You'd think all the time I spend staring at them I would know this.)
     
  24. Laurie and Mr Tinkles

    Laurie and Mr Tinkles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Michelle, I'm absolutely no help, but I'm sending tons of healing vines for Doodle and hugs for you. I hope the vet has an answer for you.

    (((Michelle)))
     
  25. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You are both in my thoughts. I hope the vet has some answers.
     
  26. Celia & Marco

    Celia & Marco Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    (((Michelle)) and (((Doodle))) thoughts are with you both!! I hope vettybean can make Doodlebug all better!!! xoxo
     
  27. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    We are thinking of you. I hope all goes well at the vet. Be better Doodle.
     
  28. Sandy and Boris

    Sandy and Boris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Praying the can help him. Oh god Michelle my heart goes out to you. I know you must be exhausted. Sending lots of love and snow flakes to Doodle.
    (((((((((((HUGS))))))))))))))))
     
  29. Randi & Max (GA)

    Randi & Max (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Prayers Michelle. My thoghts are with you and Doodle.
     
  30. chriscleo

    chriscleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    sending prayers and positive vibes that they are gonna catch what's wrong and fix him for you.
    (((Michelle)))
     
  31. Sherry & Zoe (GA)

    Sherry & Zoe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    (((Michelle)))). Continued good thoughts and prayers for little Doodle bug.
     
  32. Deb & Spot

    Deb & Spot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Michelle, thinking of you and Doodle tonight. I hope you are getting some answers and that all is well.
     
  33. CD and BigMac

    CD and BigMac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Please feel better soon Doodle. Praying that this is something easy and quick to recover from.
    Thinking of you Michelle, you are an awesome mommy to your Doodle bug.
     
  34. Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA)

    Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    (((Michelle & Doodle)))

    Thinking of you two tonight and praying that something can be done to help your baby. Healing vines to Doodles and arms around you.
     
  35. Traci and Boomer

    Traci and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Michelle-

    Gosh, I know how you are feeling. It's so HARD to get answers sometimes!!!
    I hope that things are better by the time we hear from you again. I am praying for Doodle.
     
  36. skippy and birten

    skippy and birten Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    (((Michelle))) and (((Doodlebug))! No advice here other than positive and healing thoughts, our thoughts are with you both!
     
  37. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Sending a blizzard of pretty snowflakes and feel better and fast healing vines to Doodlebug.

    (((Michelle))) we're with you.
     
  38. Deb & Spot

    Deb & Spot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Checking in one last time before heading off to bed. No news....I hope all is well. ((((Michelle & Doodle)))) blankets of snowflakes, acres of healing vines, mega volts of white lights all heading out to Doodle.
     
  39. missyandlittlegray

    missyandlittlegray Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Oh, Michelle... I'm so sorry you're going through this. I know how frustrated and disappointed you must be feeling right now. Sending you and our wonderful Doodle hugs and blizzards of snowflakes. (((((Michelle))))) (((((Doodle)))))
     
  40. Michelle and Doodle

    Michelle and Doodle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    We saw the vet. His liver is hanging in there. And he didn't get an anti-biotic because she doesn't think it would help.
    She thinks this is from the crypto. Basically die-off and inflammation. (and no one really knows how wide spread this is)
    His breathing still sounds bad - and his nose has changed shape -- it's swollen and widened... with a ridge across the end.
    This has just happened in the last week and a half.
    What she said was, this is pretty much a race between the anti-fungal and the fungus.
    She said she's hoping that this is short lived and wants to give him a day or two without adding another med that his body has to process.

    Unfortuantely tonight he threw-up after eating :( and had very gassy mucus filled poop.
    My poor little guy.
     
  41. chriscleo

    chriscleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Doodle

    so he's back home with you and you're to bring him back in a few days?
    praying for strength for you and doodle. (((Michelle))) (((Doodle)))
     
  42. Mowgli and Keri

    Mowgli and Keri Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    so many healing vines! Strength and love!! WISHING GOOD WISHES, hang in there you two!
     
  43. Michelle and Doodle

    Michelle and Doodle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Doodle

    yes. exactly Chris. We'll take him back probably this weekend -- or sooner if anything changes or he keeps vomiting.
     
  44. missyandlittlegray

    missyandlittlegray Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    I'm glad he's home. I'm praying for strength for you, too.
     
  45. Patticass & Tyler (GA)

    Patticass & Tyler (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Lots of prayers from here...
     
  46. Cheryl and Winnie

    Cheryl and Winnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ((((((((( Michellle and Doodle ))))))))))))))))))

    rooting for the anti fungal agent !

    continuing to send healing wishes for Doodle bug.

    We heart Doodle !
     
  47. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    OK good. Doodle is home. I like to hear that news because I feel like he's going to get some home healing vibes.
    I am sure that at the vet, even with care and meds and nice people, there's just no place like home.

    So welcome home, Doodle. You snuggle into your stuff, and let's get some serious healing happening.

    Michelle, I am sure you are terribly worried, but Doodle's with you and I truly believe in that power of bonding.
    I am sure that Doodle will be able to draw from you, being home.

    Let's hope you get a big jump on the healing - pats and scratches for Doodle.
     
  48. Deb & Spot

    Deb & Spot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm glad that Doodle was able to come home with you last night. Still keeping you guys in my prayers and thoughts.
    (((Michelle & Doodle)))
     
  49. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I hope Doodle is doing better, today.
     
  50. Jill and Remi

    Jill and Remi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ((Michelle)) and ((Doodle)) we are all rooting for you to get better soon. You have us all worried, but we have faith in you.
     
  51. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Continued prayers for you and Doodle Bug.
    jeanne
     
  52. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    I'm wondering if adding some probiotic like FortiFlora a few hours after the anti-fungal would help at all. The med may be killing off some of the normal organisms in the GI tract and this will cause gas.
     
  53. Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

    Lisa and Do Lou (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    healing vines being sent for Doodle :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
     
  54. Mowgli and Keri

    Mowgli and Keri Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Many thoughts for you and doodle!!
    HUGS!
     
  55. Donna and Flame

    Donna and Flame Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Oh gosh Michelle... I haven't been here in a while cause I've been dealing with a health crisis of my own, but I am so sad to see that Doodlebug isn't doing well.
    You can be sure that I will keep both you and Doodle in my prayers and will be sending all the healing vines I can for him to heal and be well. I know this is so hard on you Michelle. You are such a wonderful Mamabean and I know how close you and Doodle are.

    Sending love and light....
    Donna and Flamie
     
  56. Donna & Shiloh (GA)

    Donna & Shiloh (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Prayers for your baby. I'm sorry he feels so bad. Hugs to you, a great mommabean! Donna
     
  57. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    ((((Michelle and Doodle))))) Here is an article written by a veterinarian on nausea in cats. Liver disease is nauseating. But maybe Doodle has secondary nausea due to the mucous and not his liver. Maybe Reglan would still help if that is the case (nausea due to stomach motility). If not Reglan is not a primary antinausea drug for cats but most vets still prescribe reglan anyways. Maverick was on Reglan and ondansetron (1mg once a day) at the same time. Maybe you could have your vet read this atricle or look into it ondansetron/dolasetron/cerenia? I don't know anything about all the mucous though.

    http://veterinarycalendar.dvm360.com/avhc/content/printContentPopup.jsp?id=676860

    Hang in there.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page