? Dosing advise wanted

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by SuziB, Feb 18, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SuziB

    SuziB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Hi all,

    I was able to get a full curve on Saturday and am wondering if I should lower her dose a little. Maybe down from 1U to .75U? The main reason is that she has had “blue” numbers a couple of times in the morning during the work week and I didn’t shoot because I wasn’t going to be home to monitor her and was afraid she’d go too low. This morning, her BG is 159 and, even though I will be home today, I’m not sure I should give a full dose. It would seem maybe better for her system if I gave a reduced dose rather than nothing, but I would love to hear what you all have to say.

    TIA!

    Suzi and Reece
     
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Try 0.75 u this AM because you can monitor today. Get a +2 to see where she's headed.
     
    SuziB likes this.
  3. SuziB

    SuziB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Thanks! Got as close to 1.9u on my u100 syringe with my u40 insulin! :D Will be interesting to see how her numbers go today!
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  4. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Actually you could have tried 0.8 u using the U100s - ie., the 2 line on the U100.
     
    SuziB likes this.
  5. SuziB

    SuziB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    That’s about what it came to, as the space between the 1.5 and 2 is sooooo tiny! Anyway, her number at +2 (more like +2.5) is only 89! Yikes! What to do? She’s eating a 1/2 can of FF right now, as it’s time for her morning snack (which she only gets when I’m home - she usually eats at AMPS, +6, +9, PMPS, +2/3ish) anyway...

    Is that too low? When should I be concerned? I was going to go to the grocery store. Do I need to stay home with her? What numbers do I want her in consistently? In the blue zone? Upper green zone?

    - side question...I got stuck on a phone call and didn’t actually test until +2.5. Should I put that in the +2 or +3 area on the SS?
     
  6. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes to feeding her because that's a large early drop. Maybe wait until after +6 to go to the grocery store if you can. More (at least hourly) monitoring is in order up until +6. Feed snacks as needed to steer her away from lime green.
     
    SuziB likes this.
  7. SuziB

    SuziB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Still dropping! :( At +3, she’s at 67. About 40 minutes after she finished her snack. I will feed her more (she will be thrilled!), and test again in another hour. Getting nervous!!
     
    Noah & me (GA) likes this.
  8. Noah & me (GA)

    Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Is there some Abyssinian in Reece?
     
  9. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    If she gets to 50 give her higher carb wet food as a series of small snacks - maybe 2 tsp at a time.
     
  10. SuziB

    SuziB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    My son accidentally opened the “emergency” higher carb wet food the other day and I threw it away! Can I feed her some of her old kibble if she drops to 50?
     
  11. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Kibble takes a while to work... Better to add a wee bit of honey or glucose (or even some sugar if that's all you have) to a small amount of ordinary food if you need to raise blood glucose fast.
     
  12. SuziB

    SuziB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Ok. Thanks. I have honey and Karo syrup standing by, just in case...
     
  13. SuziB

    SuziB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    I’m not sure. We adopted her from the humane society when she was teeny and the last of her litter to be adopted, so I never saw any siblings. She has always been tiny, loves to chit chat, and looks like a regular short-haired tabby.
     
    Noah & me (GA) likes this.
  14. SuziB

    SuziB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    OK. Feeling a little better now. Tested 116 at +4. Weird that there would be a 50 point jump in an hour though, isn’t it? She did eat about another 1/4 can of FF since her last test, in all about 3/4 of a can over the last 4 hours. I’m glad I stayed home, but I feel like that was a little too close for comfort. Any ideas what’s going on with her numbers?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page