Dosing help for Piper

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by frizzball55, Sep 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frizzball55

frizzball55 Member

Hi Everyone,
    I posted another thread on the main forum and they suggested I come over here. I just want to thank you all for reading and sharing your amazing advice all of these years. My 16 1/2 year old cat, Piper, has been diabetic for 6 1/2 years. She has been on 2u of Prozinc twice a day for the entire time. We started with one and stuck with two units. I never had the nerve to home test her until this week. Believe me I know now how dangerous that was for her, and I feel terrible. She threw up three times last week and stopped meowing, so I forced myself to do it! She was back to normal when I started testing Thursday night. I started a spreadsheet, and you can see she went dangerously low yesterday. She was acting completely normal, so now I feel like I have been keeping her that low for the last 6 years. I feel very strange skipping her shot tonight as I have only missed a couple ever. The 120 number tonight really scares me after yesterday. I will continue to update my spreadsheet whenever I can get a test in. She eats 1 can of FF Classic Beef in the morning and then again at night. Any suggestions or thoughts on how I should move forward would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for reading this, and I look forward to hearing from you.
    Braden

2. Rachel

Rachel Well-Known Member

Wow! Well first, welcome to our little forum! First off, we are a small but friendly group. If you ever have an emergency, please post here and on Health to be sure you get eyes on it.