? Dosing issue Creamsicle- pmps 104.. What do I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caren and Creamsickle

Member Since 2017
Don't know what to do with dosing for creamsicle for tonights shot. Raised dose by .25 this morning. In the blue today. If I'm looking at this correctly, he seems to go up in the evening, so if I dont give him shot he will shoot up again. If he goes to low, can have an issue. What should I do??
 
Have you fed? If not, stall a little (without feeding), then test again in 20mins or so, to see if he's going up. He was at 104 at +9.5, so he might be just hovering.

Can you monitor tonight? 104 on an Alphatrak can be safe to shoot, but it's obviously much lower than you've shot before so you don't want to do it without having everything ready to monitor closely.
 
Yes exactly what I'm afraid of and since the dose is .25 higher I'm nervous about the dose. I will test him again and see. I can monitor tonight so that is good.
 
If you can monitor tonight, I would shoot the 1.75. Keep updating the condo with the numbers, especially if he drops low! For now, though, you can take down the 911-- he's in good numbers so far!
 
If you are able to monitor tonight and have plenty of strips and he is up to 133, I would feed and shoot. The lantus isn't going to kick in till around +3 so you could get a test at +1 and +2 and you will know how active the cycle is going to be and monitor and feed to steer accordingly.
 
I know but we are worried. I guess we don't have that much experience with lower numbers. Vet told us at the beginning not to shoot below 200 but I think based on what everyone says here, we should definitely shoot. We are giving 1 u and I will retest in 1 hour to see how he does.
Thanks for your help. Ill keep you posted.
 
Your profile says AlphaTrak2 but your chart is not the alphatrak chart. And I think I remember you switched to a human meter a while back. Better make the chart and profile consistent so you get the best advice.
 
I see the label now. Maybe Caren added it? Or maybe I made a mistake? The bright green color scale still says BG < 50.
It said Alpha Track early on when she posted it but, I did not take in the color codes. There are still for a human meter.
 
Yes I fixed sort of. I added the label. Never realized I had the wrong chart. I do plan on moving to the human meter at some point.

Creamsicle did ok last night with the 1 unit. Prob could've given him more though. I think he doesn't reach nadir till very late in the cycle so I will have to try to test him more between +6 and pmps.
 
Hey Caren, just checking to see how Creamie did last night. What are the numbers you got for last night's cycle? Nothing is on the SS
 
Yes I fixed sort of. I added the label. Never realized I had the wrong chart. I do plan on moving to the human meter at some point.

Creamsicle did ok last night with the 1 unit. Prob could've given him more though. I think he doesn't reach nadir till very late in the cycle so I will have to try to test him more between +6 and pmps.
All you need to change now is the range for green and the BG < 68 for bright green. Glad to hear Creamsicle did ok last night.
 
ok we gave him 1 u and he did ok. But my issue is that I think his low point is almost when he gets his next shot.Same issue tonight. But I think we are going to give 1.75 because it seems he goes up during the evening. So hard to know what to do
 
Hi Caren. Some cats nadir really late. Bubba was one of them. Some cats move their nadir around from cycle to cycle. It appears that Creamie hasn't gotten into a groove yet with a nadir. If you can monitor tonight, then I think the 1.75 would be fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top