Seems fine....had hypo yesterday but is normal this morningDoes Elmo appear sick or was it more of a "scarf and barf" ?

I love Canadians!!!! Just say in'Whew! I'm glad others chimed in here, Beth.![]()

Good call! Keep monitoring because: a) it's good data; b) it'll make you feel better.@Kris & Teasel ....update : +2 was 73.... gave 1 teaspoon low carb snack to steer up....monitoring BG every 2 hours unless instructed otherwise ...
Good call! Keep monitoring because: a) it's good data; b) it'll make you feel better.
Elmos might need a skinny 0.5 u tonight and then you might want those U100 syringes I've been "nagging" you about.![]()
Oops! I forgot that you need a prescription for these in some states - not so for us up here in the Cold White North. Good for you taking control and good for your vet clinic not being too hard to convince......ordering today
....can't imagine my vet when they get call from ADW asking if I can get U 100s... I keep them informed from time to time...they can seem skeptical but usually do what I ask
Hi Beth,
With BG getting that low at +2 I'd suggest you reduce the dose below 0.5IU Vetsulin. Also be sure to get a before bed test every night (a lot of cats run lower at night so a dose that might be OK on the daytime cycle might be too low on the PM cycle). My thots exactly, Mogs. Thank you for input. As I often say, where or where would Elmo and I be without all of you . What a blessing .....
Mogs
.
Sorry for scattered posts .... will concentrate on being more concise ....so stay with 0.5 regardless the PMPS ? +8 was 158.... did CC ever throw up AFTER insulin given ? What is protocol then? This morning was scary cos I thot what do u do if u give insulin, they throw up then they can't hold food down?? I'm believing we never experience that !Ok just read yesterday's happenings. You handled the hypo like a pro. So the fat 0.5 is too much but regular 0.5 seems just right. With time that will probably have to be reduced add well..
I would say if he barfs and doesn't have food on board to give a reduced amount... (Unless he eats more). .25 would be fine in a situation like that. Even if the number is slightly higher for a day... At this point Elmo is almost in normal numbers on his own so I wouldn't worry about slightly higher naidar for a day.
Just took PMPS....was 166...slowly going to feed so no more vomitingBeth, I think you are going to have to play it shot by shot right now. Elmo is getting some really great numbersbut with that major drop this morning at +2(which may have been influenced by the vomiting) I'd be careful shooting even the "normal" 0.5u at any pre-shot reading under 190 or even 200 unless you can test up to at least 4 hours post shot to monitor. That 73 today and the AT warning number of 68 are not far apart and with meter variance could technically be considered the same. I'd suggest if there is any question about dosing based on pre-shot readings, post for some help or in a pinch, take the dose down to 0.25u. Better to run high for a cycle than too low.
Ok , just took PMPS and it was 167.... he is eating now....Ok just read yesterday's happenings. You handled the hypo like a pro. So the fat 0.5 is too much but regular 0.5 seems just right. With time that will probably have to be reduced add well..
I would say if he barfs and doesn't have food on board to give a reduced amount... (Unless he eats more). .25 would be fine in a situation like that. Even if the number is slightly higher for a day... At this point Elmo is almost in normal numbers on his own so I wouldn't worry about slightly higher naidar for a day.
Thank you, thank you, thank you Linda .....I know I keep blubbering ( literally) about the precious kitty people on this board but it seriously makes me weep with gratitude and calms my heart to know u all r not just super knowledgeable but unbelievably caring .....no words can expressI'd go with 0.25u tonight and get a +3 if you can to see where that takes him. Sorry for delay, Was off dealing with my Menace.
One last question, well 2 last questionsBeth, Awe! Bless your heart! We virtually adopt each other kitties around here.
I tend to be a little conservative when dealing with kitties at night and especially when on faster acting insulins like Vetsulin. Once you get the 100u syringes, you'll be able to finesse doses much better. I personally wouldn't aim for readings at the warning level of 68. I'd probably stick with 80-90 or so on a pet meter as the lowest reading I'd want to be aiming for especially at night.
You are the best , LindaBeth, I'd take a reading at +3 and see where Elmo is at. I think with the reduced dose, +3 should be early enough as I expect his drop will be less dramatic. If he is dropping fast (below 90), give him a little low carb food to level him off and get him surfing instead of dropping. I'll check in again later and see what's up with you and Elmo.
.... by the way, u mentioned Menace ...how is she doing ? Her name is awesome and from her picture it fits perfectly No biggie...you've been so great today that a break was definitely in orderSorry, Beth! I'm just seeing this now. I was online very briefly earlier but stepped away from my computer after that. I see you've had dosing advice from the other excellent folks on here.
Just have had u both on my heart lately and am glad to hear she is doing better.You are amazingOh so you can see that devilish gleam in her eye can you? She is quite the character! Love her to bits!
Menace is a "menace" in more ways than just her behaviour! She is a rare high dose kitty with IAA (Insulin Auto Antibodies) who keeps her Momma on her toes! Little did I know how well that name would suit her when we finally settled on it when she was about 12 -14 weeks old! She is doing just fine right now View attachment 24602 and we have had several dose reductions lately so Momma is a little sleep deprived but my furkid is in good shape!



Actually at +3.5Gave Elmo .25 PM ...at +3 he is 167
FYI....at +3.5 Elmo is at 167 ....PMPS was 166Oh so you can see that devilish gleam in her eye can you? She is quite the character! Love her to bits!
Menace is a "menace" in more ways than just her behaviour! She is a rare high dose kitty with IAA (Insulin Auto Antibodies) who keeps her Momma on her toes! Little did I know how well that name would suit her when we finally settled on it when she was about 12 -14 weeks old! She is doing just fine right now View attachment 24602 and we have had several dose reductions lately so Momma is a little sleep deprived but my furkid is in good shape!

Hi, Beth,No biggie...you've been so great today that a break was definitely in orderGot on ADW to order u100(aren't u proud ?!?!
) and all the choices kinda confused and intimidated me. So easy to just take what the vet gives so am needing ur advice as to which ulticare u 100 to order.Thank U in advance
![]()
Good morning and thank u, Kris ! Yep he surfed...had AMPS of 184...gave 0.5 so we shall see ..this is day 3 post hypoHi, Beth,
Went to bed before I saw this last night. The U100s to get have 3/10 ml/cc capacity with half unit markings . Mine are 29 gauge 1/2" needles but some people like thinner 30 or 31 gauge and shorter 1/4" (?) needles. Ulticare is one brand I've used before but I've had others as well. I don't have a particular preference as long as they have the specs I just gave you.
I see that Elmo surfed safely the rest of the day yesterday.![]()
Beth, the surfing last night and not much higher AMPS today is a good sign. Suggests to me that Elmo may be doing some of his own regulating. Normal range according to IDEXX lab values (what pet meter is compared to) would be 72 to 175 so Elmo is in good shape. I'd keep a close eye on him in case his system clicks into a higher gear in the near future. FINGERS CROSSED!


....hope u got a restful night's sleep 
I suppose if that happened where they threw up after a shot and would eat or hold food down I would either syringe gravy or rub honey on her gums if her numbers dropped too low.Sorry for scattered posts .... will concentrate on being more concise ....so stay with 0.5 regardless the PMPS ? +8 was 158.... did CC ever throw up AFTER insulin given ? What is protocol then? This morning was scary cos I thot what do u do if u give insulin, they throw up then they can't hold food down?? I'm believing we never experience that !
Hi Beth, will make this quick. Don't know anything about vetsulin but you picked a lucky name. I've had cats for almost 40 years and my Elmo was the healthiest and smartest cat I've ever had and was a real "Daddy's boy". I'll try and pass some of that good luck onto you and Elmo.Elmo had a 176 AMPS.....ate well but then threw up...have to have food onboard to give vetsulin...what do I do ? Wait how long to try feeding ???
Thank you , thank youHi Beth, will make this quick. Don't know anything about vetsulin but you picked a lucky name. I've had cats for almost 40 years and my Elmo was the healthiest and smartest cat I've ever had and was a real "Daddy's boy". I'll try and pass some of that good luck onto you and Elmo.
......you gave my evening a big smile