Fancy Feast Classics Chicken Pate

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Diane Tyler's Mom, Jan 29, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Diane Tyler's Mom

Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

I was looking at the chart that lists all the cat foods. I emailed Purina and asked them how many carbs were there in the Chicken Pate, they just got back to me and said 0.9 %. I thought it was less, the chart says 0.3 %

2. Tracey&Jones (GA)

Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

Depends if you are talking min/max values or the as fed values. Dr. Lisa's list is as fed values - which is more relevant.

3. Diane Tyler's Mom

Hi , I am still new to all of this, all I did was ask Purina how many carbs were in it.Dumb question, when you say as fed what does that mean?

4. Tracey&Jones (GA)

It means overtime what is actually the amount of carb in the food that is being eaten.

There is the guaranteed values -is based upon the min/max values that is noted on the cans. Those values can range from a low and high that is meant to meet the regulation requirements.

5. flyingduster

flyingduster Member

And also, as Dr Lisa says on her chart, that really the difference between 0.9 and 0.3 is soooooo tiny that actually it’s just as likely any 0.9% is going to be the same as 0.3% on any single batch. It’s still an average and a guess going on math. To try not to pick apart those tiny percentages and aim for under 10% in general.

6. Diane Tyler's Mom

So let's say he eats one can of the fancy feast then it would be a total of only 0.3 carbs for the 3 ounce can, sorry but I just didn't understand

7. Diane Tyler's Mom

Thank you, this is all new to me

8. Tracey&Jones (GA)

It means 0.3% of the calories are from carbs. So on 100 calories - 3 are from carb. If it 10% - then 10 calories are from carb.

Either way....we try for 10% or less - 0.3% is pretty damn good!

9. Diane Tyler's Mom