Feeling overwhelmed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Larnmarie11, Aug 9, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Larnmarie11

Larnmarie11 New Member

hello I am new to all of this. I just took my 12 yr old cat to the vet today for an upper respiratory infection. And came home just now finding out my cat has diabetes. I’m so overwhelmed. He’s such a healthy cat and has shown no signs. I don’t even know where to start. They said that he shows traces of glucose in his urine. So I guess that’s pretty bad. I left so brainwashed. I didn’t even order the insulin bc I’m in such disbelief. What do I do?

2. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

So sorry for the diagnosis but you've come to the right place. What was the blood glucose at the vet?

Step one will be getting rid of the dry food and switch to a low carb wet food such as fancy feast classic or Friskies pate.

3. JanetNJ

I want to also reassure you that diabetes is not a death sentence and cats can live long healthy lives with it.

4. FurBabiesMama

FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

Welcome! I agree with Janet... get him on a high-protein, low-carb wet food diet ASAP. Sometimes, that alone can bring glucose numbers back into normal range. Some people choose to try that for a little while before stating insulin. If you get a glucose meter and test at home, you will be able to keep a track of how his glucose levels are doing (no need to have to drag him to the vet for them to test).

5. alexthecat

alexthecat Member

Welcome! Even though I know this isn't where you want to be. Try not to feel overwhelmed. There is a lot to learn about diabetes at first, but you don't have to do it all today. You can just start with the first step, which is getting your kitty off dry food and onto something like canned Fancy Feast or Friskies pate. That can make a big difference. He may not even need insulin. Are you comfortable learning to test his blood at home?

6. Idjit's mom