First shot of Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lesliejm

Member Since 2017
Just started mango on 2 units today. Went to vets last night to learn how to give injections. Today went great. Not as bad as I thought. The worst part is getting blood for the check. Poor baby gets pricked so much cause I just can't get blood. His ear is the best. Paw pads won't bleed. This is the beginning of a new adventure for me.
 
Welcome, Leslie and Mango! :bighug:

It's awesome that you just started Lantus and are home testing right off the bat, it's the best way to keep Mango safe.

I think they all get extra pokes in the beginning as we are figuring things out, it's okay, it gets better. Their ears learn to bleed as time goes on, believe it or not.

I know it can be overwhelming to absorb all of the FD info and then come here and absorb all of the forum info, but read the stickies at the top and try to get familiar. Set up a spreadsheet as soon as you can so others can watch your progress and support you (if you need help figuring out how to set up the SS, just holler, we have some people who can help).

It also helps to put some info in your signature like: cat's name and age, food you are feeding, type of insulin, what home monitor you are using, etc. That way you won't have people asking you those questions every time you post. :p
 
Hello Leslie and Mango!

We just went through the same struggle last month. Getting Paws's ears to give enough blood was a huge challenge for me, too, but now it's so easy. The key I learned was to make sure the ear you're testing is warm. Just rubbing it for 10 seconds before pricking Paws was enough. Also, try to get in the "sweet spot" here:
earpokey_zpsc6584fc3.jpg

It took me a little bit to figure out that it's picturing the front edge of the ear, the side toward the kitty's nose. Between the ear not being cold and hitting the sweet spot, I almost never have to give my kitty a second prick. More info on testing here.

Details on setting up the spreadsheet are in the stickies at the top of this forum: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/suggestions-tech-support-testing-area.6/

Let us know if you have any questions, we're all here and happy to help!
 
The vet said to feed him only 2 times a day but he is used to eating 3 times a day.
How often should I feed him or I should ask, how often does everyone feed their cat?
 
Just a couple tips on pokies:

Starting out, a lancet with a smaller gauge (28G or 30G) may help with getting a blood sample until more capillaries develop. Then you can graduate to thinner lancets like 33G.

Warming the area before poking helps to dilate what blood vessels are already present and can make getting a sample much easier. Some people use a little cloth sack filled with rice or corn that you warm up in the microwave (careful, not too hot now) and then hold against the ear or paw to warm the testing site. Others use warm water in a pill bottle or water bottle. Just choose whatever method is most convenient for you.
 
A warm welcome to you and Mango!!!!!:) FD kitties do better on smaller mini meals more frequently.
After getting the blood sample I always apply a tiny bit of Neosporin it helps stop the pain and heals the ear quickly.
 
I had him on Sheba small portions. He doesnt like it, going now to try something else. He loved nutro but no info from them on carbs so I am trying something else.
 
I feed Asia several small meals a day (and night), many here do that, it's easier on the pancreas. If you have been feeding 3 times a day, there's no problem with continuing to do that. It sounds like your vet's recommendation of feeding twice a day is in line with using a different kind of insulin (not Lantus). It's also not uncommon, unfortunately, for vets to misunderstand this insulin and prescribe dosing and feeding schedules like you would do with the older kinds, but it just doesn't work like that.
 
Welcome Leslie and Mango! As we like to say here, you are in the best place you never wanted to be. There is so much information here and knowledgeable people who are willing to help, so use that to your advantage.
 
Just started mango on 2 units today. Went to vets last night to learn how to give injections. Today went great. Not as bad as I thought. The worst part is getting blood for the check. Poor baby gets pricked so much cause I just can't get blood. His ear is the best. Paw pads won't bleed. This is the beginning of a new adventure for me.

Hi there from another newbie.
You sound much more on the mark than me & I know what you mean about the ear prick thing.
 
I have a human meter calibrated to cats.
which sheet should I use?
If you're using a human meter it's the human meter spreadsheet you want. The pet meter spreadsheet is labelled as such. What do you mean when you say "calibrated to cats"?
 
My vet said that they could set it to read a cats blood glucose. they are so far away that I had a vet down the street do it. I took it to the vet yesterday when I took Mango so I could learn to give shots and it was about 15 off from theirs.
 
My vet said that they could set it to read a cats blood glucose. they are so far away that I had a vet down the street do it. I took it to the vet yesterday when I took Mango so I could learn to give shots and it was about 15 off from theirs.
I have never heard of this and I really want to know more! :bookworm:
 
Welcome to Lantus and Lev Land!!

A meter calibrated for a pet typically reads a bit higher than a human meter. The difference is more important in lower numbers. What would be the point for a dose reduction if you decide to follow Tight Regulation as your dosing method is 50 on a human meter. On a meter calibrated for a cat, the dose reduction point is 68. The higher numbers get, the less the difference. (It's not linear.) There are, however, big advantages to using a human meter. Strips are much less expensive and far more readily available. If you run out of strips for an animal meter, the only way you can get them is online. Pharmacies don't carry them. I don't know of any human meters that can be recalibrated for pets.

If you've not done so already, I'd encourage you to read the sticky notes at the top of the Board.There's an overwhelming amount of information in those notes and the links in the notes. Much of what's there will become second nature. In the meantime, though, please ask questions. The people here are very generous with their time and their knowledge. We're here to help.

 
How different are the bg readings on a human meter?
''Tis a loaded question, really! :joyful:

The short answer is, nobody knows for sure because there is no reliable way to really do a direct human meter to feline calibrated meter comparison, it's been attempted. Word on the street is the numbers are supposed to be closer in the lower range and can vary wildly at the higher end of things, but they could be or they could not be. The reason why most people use human meters here (besides the huge savings on buying strips) is becuase the protocol was written using human meters, so it's easier to follow, and some would say safer to follow, if you use one too.
 
My vet said I didn't need to do a AMPS reading since he is on 2 units.
So stupid me didn't do it today and then I just couldn't stand not doing it so I did it right after I gave him his shot. He was at 65 on a human meter. Now I need to watch for low BG!! I promise from now on to check!
 
My vet said I didn't need to do a AMPS reading since he is on 2 units.
So stupid me didn't do it today and then I just couldn't stand not doing it so I did it right after I gave him his shot. He was at 65 on a human meter. Now I need to watch for low BG!! I promise from now on to check!
How is he doing? Did you check BG again, +1/+2? If you haven't, I would strongly advise you do, that is quite a low amps, it is possible he could drop when shot onsets, typically around +2.


At 65 there is not much margin for error, and though once you have enough data it can be safe to shoot in the 60's, I did so regularly, with you just starting out and not having the data it's impossible to know if he will be ok and have a nice curve or if his BG will bottom out on you.
 
He seems to be okay right now and it's been just about 2 hours I'm not home to check his blood my husband's home but he doesn't do any of that because he's just afraid to do it so I told him to keep an eye on him I will check him this afternoon
 
Can you have your husband feed him a higher carb food until someone can test him? What do you feed him normally? It's entirely possible you won't see any obvious outward signs of a hypo. My cat had a 30 on the human meter and her only "symptom" was she was very hungry. In some cats that are always seemingly hungry, even that would go unnoticed.
 
How did your Hubby get on??

I would suggest you try and get Hubby up to speed with testing, if at all possible, it will be a tremendous help to you. My Hubby didn't often test as he was working away at the time, but when he was home it was a great help. Interestingly George gave him a harder time about testing. With me, George was completely compliant, but he would try it on with DH and put up a fight, DH didn't take any nonsense and George soon learned that he couldn't manipulate him:rolleyes:

I hope your kitty is OK.

Please do try to get that spread sheet set up

here are the instructions again
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

It will help us help you, with that low PS this morning I do think it's important to revisit the dose and the best way to assess that is having the data you have collected so far easily available on the spread sheet.
 
Yikes! Newbie here, but wondering if most of us in the U.S. are sleeping. I'm trying to do my first "curve". Just can't figure why a vet would raise a dose when your reading is so low. If I were you, I'd wait for more advice from experienced people here before giving anything. It's the hypoglycemia that will kill.
 
I think others will agree with me that the vet increased too much too soon. When starting out, the initial dose should be held for 5-7 days and dose adjustments should generally be made in quarter unit increments, based upon how low it takes the blood sugar readings. Here, the dose was increased by a full unit after only two days with at least one pre-shot reading well under 100.

Without frequent testing, I'm concerned of the risk of hypoglycemia.

My recommendation is to return to 2 units (and even that may be too large a starter dose depending on Mango's weight) for at least a week until you have much more data to work with.

If you have already given a 3 unit shot today, you or your husband should be prepared to test Mango every couple of hours.
 
I thought that was too soon to raise it. I remember the vet telling me to stay on that dose for a week. I will go back to 2 and give him time to adjust.
 
I thought that was too soon to raise it. I remember the vet telling me to stay on that dose for a week. I will go back to 2 and give him time to adjust.
Please do take him back down to 2u, the 2u took him down to 65, 3u is definitely too much.
Did you tell your vet that you got a reading of 65 ??

How have you been getting on with the testing?
Have you had a chance to get a spreadsheet set up? Could you share it? It will help us help you.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top