freestyle lite strips with alphatrak spreadsheet??

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (The Main Forum)' started by Sylvie, Oct 12, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sylvie

    Sylvie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    if i start using freestyle lite strips with alphatrak meter, do i need to start using human meter spreadsheet or do i still use alphatrak spreadsheet??

    also i noticed their are like 4-5 different colored boxes of freestyle lite strips, am i right to assume they are all the same??

    thank you for the help.
     
  2. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    This is commonly done, and also a frequent topic in this subforum (do a search). You don't have to change anything. But you should use the code for alpha cats - I think it is 36 or 38.

    Make sure you get FreeStyle Lite. I don't think the box matters. I have gotten white boxes and white/yellow boxes. All off of Ebay. I assume people are buying them with prescriptions and selling them for some profit. Doesn't matter to me.

    Lately I have thought of getting Relion - which is even cheaper for each strip.

    Kudos to you for testing and caring for Tuxie. The spreadsheet looks good. Might be easier to read if you post the comments in the right column. I like those blues in the nadir readings.
     
    Sylvie likes this.
  3. Sylvie

    Sylvie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    i did a search a couple times but, don't recall reading what spreadsheet to use but, my brain is overloaded with new info these days so i may of missed it.
    thanks for the help, i will be getting them on ebay too, was suprise to see so many lite boxed version and didn't want to mess up by getting wrong one for alphatrek.

    thanks, i like the blues too :), the comments outside of right column remark area are temporarily and for my forgetful brain to make sure i feed/fed him enough so he gains weight back. was starting to keep seperate sheet for food/etc notes but, found it easier for me to have it all on one sheet since i would forget to log what i fed him on the food/etc sheet.
     
  4. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    I have used FreeStyle Lite strips with my AT2 meter for years now. Just make sure to leave the AT2 meter at the last "cat code" you have from the AT2 strip container. Also it is advisable to do a control solution test when starting each container of FS Lite strips to make sure the readings fall within the guidelines as listed on the AT2 strip container. When I first started I did 50+ same blood drop side by side comparisons with AT2 strips and FS Lite strips and found them consistently close. Also each time I have a blood draw done at the vet I do my own ear test at the same time to see how close my reading comes to the test equipment reading. I always advise anyone thinking of using FS Lite strips to do some same blood drop comparisons so that they can be comfortable with the readings, as well as periodic control solution testing. I also have the FS Lite meter as back up so I always have a pet and human meter available.

    All of the strips I have purchased look like this:

    [​IMG]
     
    Sylvie likes this.
  5. Sylvie

    Sylvie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    thanks, i bought two more AT strips containers so i will double test with one of them as you said. i do use the AT solution right and not the freestyle one?
     
  6. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    You should use the AT2 test solution. I have actually tried comparing the AT2 test solution and FS Lite test solution and find them to be basically the same, but too many variables is not a good idea. ;)
     
    Sylvie likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page