frustrated

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by lallypop77, Dec 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lallypop77

lallypop77 New Member

I'm not really sure where to post this so I'm going with this one. I live in a household with 4 cats and a dog. 2 of the cats I board for someone else while he is in law school. However, in January he will be taking them back until summer when he goes back to Washington D.C. (I don't like them going back and forth but I've explained this to the owner and hes going to do what he wants)

Angus is the kitty I'll be talking about. Angus is 10 years old. Neutered male. I've been boarding him since 2005 off and on. In 2005 he weighed a nice 14ish pounds and was a very happy cat, but in September of this year, I noticed that he was losing weight. He had to get his shots anyway, so we took him in and I told the vet of my concerns of his recent weight loss. He weighed 12.6 lbs at this point (but I don't know when he started to lose weight) The vet said it could just be a seasonal thing. wait a month and come back to me if he's lost more weight. (the owner wanted to stay with this vet because he is cheap, and overall he's done a good job with other peoples pets) So a month goes by and I weigh angus on our home scale with my husband getting on weighing himself and then getting off and then weighing Angus there didn't seem to be much change maybe an ounce? I didn't call the vet. About three weeks later I saw that Angus was skinnier and I could feel his bones so we weighed him again and he was 10.6 lbs. I almost fainted right there. I alerted the owner but finals week was upon us and he was very diligent that I not go to the vet without him. (a few times I almost went out the door but I didn't know what the legal implications could be) we went on that friday, and the vet said that it wasn't a very good day to get blood because fed x wouldn't be able to take it after we left because he'd been there