Getting the middle claw on monitoring

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Nervous Pervis and Terri, Feb 26, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nervous Pervis and Terri

Nervous Pervis and Terri Member

Okay, I'm new to all of this and could use some suggestions. I'm trying to get Nervous Pervis to let me prick his ear to get some testing in before he goes back to the vet for another $75-$100 glucose-monitoring visit on Monday. Well, he is saying, "No Way! I don't care that you house me, feed me and that saved me from a sure death. You're not pricking me with that thing."

He's not the cuddling type, as his name suggests, so he won't sit in my lap and he doesn't like being picked up. He's sweet, but very timid. I tried warming his ear with a washcloth, a small, warm-water filled pill bottle, rubbing his ears. He's suspicious of it all. I would bribe him with a treat, but we have yet to find a low carb treat that he'll eat. I can't seem to do everything I need to do and keep him situated. I tried having my DH help, but maybe I'm a control freak (I am) and didn't like his approach. I need to be able to do it on my own because I'll be the one doing it the majority of the time. He needs to do it too, but I can show him once I have it figured out.

Also, his 8 units of Prozinc shots were going fine, but now he's a bit suspicious of that, too. I can give it to him while he's eating or drinking water from the faucet, but it's not as easy as it was. I wonder if I must have accidentally hit muscle one time and he didn't like it.

Lastly, if I do get the testing started this weekend, how many tests do you think I'll need to do in order for the vet to be able to make heads or tails out of the numbers? Should I take the monitor to the vet and ask them to do some tests there to compare with their monitoring?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

2. Julia & Bandit (GA)

Julia & Bandit (GA) Well-Known Member