? Glen 01/01 AMPS 153 PMPS 355

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning, I had a feeling that after the bounce cleared you would see some lower numbers. Like Karen said get a +1 and +2 to see how active this cycle is going to be. Since he in off the dry HC kibble, I think you are going to see him needing less insulin.
 
You are close to the no shoot number for SLGS. Looks like he cleared the bounce with gusto. I'd tend to agree, if you are around to monitor, I would give the 1.25u, from the limitied data it looks like he does have a decent food spike after meals. He looks like he is doing good on keeping the numbers down with the recent reduction in insulin.
 
You are close to the no shoot number for SLGS. Looks like he cleared the bounce with gusto. I'd tend to agree, if you are around to monitor, I would give the 1.25u, from the limitied data it looks like he does have a decent food spike after meals. He looks like he is doing good on keeping the numbers down with the recent reduction in insulin.
We are going to brunch around 11 with family for a couple of hours
 
Well, he's rising but not sure I'm comfortable telling you to shoot anything if you won't be home to monitor. You also mentioned that you can't get off schedule...how far off are you now.
 
Would you be able to delay/change your plans if needed? If so then I'd shoot but if your plans can't be altered than I'm not comfortable telling you to shoot.
No, we are going to my dads for brunch. Haven't seen him for Christmas yet.
So leaving in around 3 hours and won't be home until later afternoon

So just hold completely?
 
People following SLGS will work their way to shooting anything over 90
It looks like Glen has only been on insulin for about 10 days from the SS which is why I made the 150 remark. He has also gotten a few reductions in that time.

With the drop he had Friday night on 1.5u, it would be good to be around to test in case he pulls any cat tricks and starts to go low again.
 
It looks like Glen has only been on insulin for about 10 days from the SS which is why I made the 150 remark. He has also gotten a few reductions in that time.

With the drop he had Friday night on 1.5u, it would be good to be around to test in case he pulls any cat tricks and starts to go low again.
I agree, he did quite a stunt on Friday night and he is off dry kibble now also.....
 
It looks like Glen has only been on insulin for about 10 days from the SS which is why I made the 150 remark
I understand but wanted to clarify eventually people need to shoot these numbers but ONLY if they can monitor. So my recommendation has changed to a skipped shot for today.
 
It's just important especially when you're new with little data etc. Considering you removed dry and he's coming back so fast from skipped shots I'd reduce to 1u. Others likely won't agree but it's a safety issue and having to ship shots isn't going to help get him.
I was wondering if he needs 1u as well. Of course, I would rather him a bit high until I can get him more regulated. Once that happens I can try and bring his numbers down. He's just so variable.
Thanks for your input
 
I'm glad that you skipped being that you are following SLGS, can't be home if needed, stopped feeding dry, and the bounce already cleared. I would go even further and take him down to 1 unit given your schedule. Sometimes a diet change gets the pancreas working quickly. JMHO and others are free to disagree
 
I'm glad that you skipped being that you are following SLGS, can't be home if needed, stopped feeding dry, and the bounce already cleared. I would go even further and take him down to 1 unit given your schedule. Sometimes a diet change gets the pancreas working quickly. JMHO and others are free to disagree
I was thinking the same thing. Thank you for all of your help :)
 
Good luck with the new dose. The previous higher doses can impact 4-6 cycles after a reduction. The 1.5 unit dose could have impacted today AMPS. But it's much easier when you are new to start lower and increase the dose than to have to fight low numbers with decreases and skipping. For what it's worth, SLGS would have a cat on dry food start at 1 unit and one on all wet start at 0.5 unit. Paws crossed you can stick at this dose for the week.
 
Good luck with the new dose. The previous higher doses can impact 4-6 cycles after a reduction. The 1.5 unit dose could have impacted today AMPS. But it's much easier when you are new to start lower and increase the dose than to have to fight low numbers with decreases and skipping. For what it's worth, SLGS would have a cat on dry food start at 1 unit and one on all wet start at 0.5 unit. Paws crossed you can stick at this dose for the week.
He is off kibble completely. Should I give 0.5u?

He eats mostly FF, Friskies and loving his raw!
 
No, I would stick with 1 unit. 0.5 was if kitty was brand new to insulin but we have a little data on Glen now. My point was just that he was started a little high for SLGS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top