glucometers

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by thekidinthehall, Jul 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thekidinthehall

thekidinthehall New Member

Hi All,

I have been managing two cats wth diabetes for the past 8 years. Yesterday one cat ( the other one recently died- but they are both almost 20 years old) had a blood sugar crisis. She was completely paralyzed and her sugar was not registering on the meter. The vet said that I can't use a regular meter anymore and that their are special meters for cats. I didn't find any online. Has this been other folks experience?
    he also insiisted on switching her from humilin N to Lantus- I agreed but was hesitant because she has overreacted to lantus in the past. Any thoughts??????

Deborah

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Most caretakers here use human meters. I consider the animal meters (e.g., AlphaTrac) more accurate but the human ones work fine. Lantus is a good insulin. Five of my six are on Lantus. What do you mean by over reacted? What dose of N is the cat on?

3. squeem3

squeem3 Well-Known Member

You can use any Human blood glucose meter. I don't know why your vet said otherwise unless it was to sell an animal specific meter and get a commission.

AlphaTack and iPet are two animal meters that I know of. Both are more expensive than a Human blood glucose meter and you can't buy them or the test strips at a Human pharmacy.

Lantus is a great insulin to use. Read the stickies over on the Lantus group to understand how it works: viewforum.php?f=9

4. Seattlebrian

Seattlebrian Member