Glucose Meter - Question

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Anonymous, Jun 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

I have a question about finding the right meter. My vet told me to use AlphaTrak meter but it is $100 and the strips are more than a dollar a piece! I just can't afford that, but I am terrified of getting an inaccurate reading and hurting Ducky by giving him too much insulin or something... and his poor little ears :( I am not very good at taking his blood and his ears are all bruised... Does any one have any meters that they really like and trust?

2. LynnLee + Mousie

LynnLee + Mousie Well-Known Member

i've used the Freestyle Flash since 2006 and love it. The new model of that is the Freestyle Lite and I'll probably update to that here pretty soon. but i've used just about all of them on the market at one point by going out and helping people local to me learn to hometest plus diabetes runs rampant in my family. i just started with the Flash at my vet's recommendation and i've just stuck with it that's all

for ease of use you'll find ALOT of people like the Accu-chek Aviva but for economy ALOT of people use Walmart's Relion meters. The newer Relion models are the Micro and the Confirm. both work alot like the Freestyle meters in that there's no coding and they take the smallest required blood sample.

the key if you go name brand is to buy strips online. you can typically get them for about half the cost of retail by getting them at sites like http://www.hocks.com http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com http://www.store4diabetics.com and even http://www.ebay.com

relion ones aren't as available online though.