Gypsy: 8/20 AMBG 89, +3 89, +11.5 85 PMBG 85, +5 105

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just saw @Mandy & Rex's reply--here it is:
Well... with that 0.1u you shot then Gypsy gave you 70... that means another reduction! This is the last step before trying an OTJ trial!! It's the drop dose. You hold the plunger in all the way while inserting into the insulin, release the plunger, pull it out of the insulin. Believe it or not, there IS insulin in that syringe now. When you shoot, you insert the needle, push in the plunger, hold it and count up to 3 or 5, and pull it out while still holding the plunger so the insulin cannot be vacuumed back in. That should be easier than doing 0.1u or 0.25u, right??

Should I shoot?
 
Should I shoot?
No. It's always an automatic skip if it is under 90 with SLGS. Let's see what she does tonight. If she continues to stay under 90 tonight, then I think it's time to start the OTJ trial. Post a question about the OTJ trial in your title to get more eyes on your condo. :D
 
No. It's always an automatic skip if it is under 90 with SLGS. Let's see what she does tonight. If she continues to stay under 90 tonight, then I think it's time to start the OTJ trial. Post a question about the OTJ trial in your title to get more eyes on your condo. :D

I'm praying for her :-) Thank you SO much for all your help. I just did another BG test and it's holding at 89.

In totally off-topic news, Bella (Cavalier spaniel) has figured out that Gypsy gets treats after getting jabbed and that the jabbing takes place on my desk on the kitty lounging mat. So whenever Gypsy gets placed on the mat, guess who comes toddling over? That's right...
bella-yummy.jpg
 
ARGH! I was going to grab her for an early BG test, but it's storming and she's hiding. :headdesk: She may start her OTJ trial without us!
 
I think Gypsy is ready to start the OTJ trial tomorrow morning. Unfortunately, I don't know where to find instructions for the trial. I hope someone can get that for you! Congratulations! :D:D
 
Here are the OTJ trial instructions for when you're ready:

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.

If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top