Had to increase steroids today and I think it increased BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
So my cat Tinka was diagnosed with diabetes this week and is on day 4 of Lantus and she has increasingly beeing getting more itchy again. She has a history of skin issues and is currently on Prednisolone steroid which has been managing the symptoms, however she has become more reliant on the steroids over the years. The vet believes she may have leaky gut and thus allergies to foods, even possible environemental but she didn't offer any test. Vets method past year has been elemination diet but with the diabetes symptoms and how sick she was, with loss of appetite we had to abandon this approach. With the changes in food this week to canned Instinct 95% protein and limited ingredient I'm pleased that they low the carb and not many additives etc but with her eating a number of different proteins and no longer novel I believe something in the food is flaring her up. I noticed today the scratching her face and ears, licking and biting herself is getting worse today. We hadn't lowered her steroid so I can only assume its something in the food that is aggrevating her. In the past year we worked out that sardines and chicken may be problematic so we stil avoiding those. But with the diet change there are a number of other different proteins I'm now feeding her and I have no idea which she may be reacting too. In the past she ate kibble Science diet which is probably what caused the gut issues in the first place. Past year we were then doing home cooked novel protein (pork then duck) which she was doing ok on but she also had steroids during this time so I'm not sure if that helped some of the itch. We then did canned novel rabbit and kangaroo but not low carb novel to try to do an elimination diet to find out what allergies she had. Unforunately because of the diabetes diagnosis and her symptoms of being so unwell past few weeks we had to abandon the novel and elimination diet and just get her eating. I tried canned salmon during this time as well as some pork and she scratched a bit but not more than she was on 1/8 steroid. When on the rabbit she scratched a little, about the same, not bad, but again she was on steroids. But she would no longer eat that food as she completetly lost her appetite and weight. But now since starting on insulin this week and going lower carb on the Instinct canned she is eating better and her appetite is improving which is good as she's currently underweight. So I'd like to keep her on this, however the increased itching is problematic and if she continues she'll begin to rip her fur out and damage her ears and eyes. So I'm wondering if its the venison, pork, salmon or duck in the Instinct or even peas or another ingredient in there.

Because of this we had to increase her steroid today to 1/4 and I honestly think its what has increased her BG as she has the highest BG today at PMPS and I've noticed a pattern that her PMPS is typically her lowest/lower score of the day. I had given her the increased steroid at lunch and now this evening her PMPS is 18 mmol/L which is the highest reading she's had overall. Even more so then when her BG was taken at the vets and she was stressed. She was on a 1/8 steroid then. So perhaps increasing steroid increases her BG.

The vet did say that we need to get her off steroids asap once she stabilises as they worsen or can even be one of the causes of diabetes. I do think its a prime culprit for the diabetes on set. She usually does a short course of a week or two but currently she's been on them for almost 3 months slowly weaning down. They just suppressing her immune system and worsening the condition. Steroids clear her skin but when she goes off them her skin flare more often, like its reliant on the steroids not. A 1/4 steroid was working well a few weeks back she was on it about a month and barely any itch, when we dropped to an 1/8 a few weeks ago there was some scratching but she wasn't doing any damage to herself. But past few days since the insulin and food changes even on the 1/8 steroid the scratching is definitly worsening and if I leave it she's start to rip open wounds on her body and face and hurt her eyes etc. Hence why I increased dose but now I don't want to worsen the diabetes. Not sure what to do really. I likely won't be ablet to just feed one food as she tends to lose her appetite then and can't afford her not to eat, so I'll prob have to stick to at least 2 proteins so I can rotate, so will be a trial and error to see whats working. I'm concerned about her being on the steroids longer or on higher amounts and how we are going to be able to get her off them. Its a complex situation. Would appreciate to hear others thoughts or suggestions and what has worked for skin issues, food allergies and testing, use of steroids or alternatives and effects on diabetes. Thank you in advance!

Here is the link to my orignal and previous threads -
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...test-first-insulin-shots-food-changes.169657/
 
So perhaps increasing steroid increases her BG.

It's almost guaranteed that increasing the steroid will increase the blood glucose, but there's a golden rule here....you treat the diseases around the diabetes....if she needs the steroid to be comfortable and have a good quality of life, you just have to increase the insulin to compensate for it

If she doesn't show you some blue tomorrow, I'd go back up to .75
 
It's almost guaranteed that increasing the steroid will increase the blood glucose, but there's a golden rule here....you treat the diseases around the diabetes....if she needs the steroid to be comfortable and have a good quality of life, you just have to increase the insulin to compensate for it

If she doesn't show you some blue tomorrow, I'd go back up to .75
Thanks Chris, so tmrw is day 5 so should I do a curve tmrw then and if she's not showing blues then up her dose on Tues to 0.75? Or should I wait till after I have upped the dose and do the curve on day 7?
 
If you're going to do TR, you don't really ever need to do a complete "curve".....just get tests in at different points in the cycle and that's more than enough to give us a clear picture of what's going on. Look at your spreadsheet.....if you see any big white areas that don't have any test results, grab one in one of those places!!

By the end of tomorrow, he will have had 8 full cycles and 9 out of 10 "doses".....that's usually going to be enough to fill the depot and so far, he's staying in mostly yellows.....we want to try for more blues and greens for nadirs

TR only requires a low carb canned or raw diet, Pre-shot tests and at least 1 mid-cycle or before bed test.....you're testing more than enough to do TR and it'll give Tinka the best chance at remission
 
If you're going to do TR, you don't really ever need to do a complete "curve".....just get tests in at different points in the cycle and that's more than enough to give us a clear picture of what's going on. Look at your spreadsheet.....if you see any big white areas that don't have any test results, grab one in one of those places!!

By the end of tomorrow, he will have had 8 full cycles and 9 out of 10 "doses".....that's usually going to be enough to fill the depot and so far, he's staying in mostly yellows.....we want to try for more blues and greens for nadirs

TR only requires a low carb canned or raw diet, Pre-shot tests and at least 1 mid-cycle or before bed test.....you're testing more than enough to do TR and it'll give Tinka the best chance at remission
Thank you Chris this is super helpful info. I am commited to doing the TR with those requirements and really glad that will give her the best chance of remission. Is remission still possible if we are using steroids though? I read of another lady using a sinikar drug to steroids that doesn't hv the same effect in blood glucose so was safer for diabetic cats, so I'll def look into that more, as well as trying to put her on a few novels. I'll aim to fill the white spaces on my spreadsheet so that can give us a better picture for TR:) If she doesn't get into the blues tmrw I'll up to 0.75 then on Tues. Thanks so much for your help :) I see your kitty gets intinct raw, which protein do you feed? Was it hard transitioning to raw?
 
The other drug you were probably thinking of is budesonide, but it's mostly good on gut allergies. Have you thought about going back to raw or cooked novel proteins with a premix added? That would eliminate the peas, carrots, gums or other additives manufacturers seem to want to add. I have used the TC Feline or FoodfurLife EZcomplete premixes.
 
Last edited:
@Wendy&Neko -

Do you know whether adding an antihistamine to the regimen of a cat with allergy/GI issues already taking a small dose of steroids might help relieve the itching/irritation symptoms at all? (I discussed the possibility of doing this for Lúnasa recently with our vet. He advised that he has patients whom he treats with an antihistamine/steroid combo but thus far I've not had to use such a regimen for my own cat.)


Mogs
.
 
I see your kitty gets intinct raw, which protein do you feed? Was it hard transitioning to raw?

China's on chicken but she doesn't have any problems with food intolerances. She transitioned quite quickly and easily to raw but that's very much an "ECID" kind of thing,
 
China's on chicken but she doesn't have any problems with food intolerances. She transitioned quite quickly and easily to raw but that's very much an "ECID" kind of thing,
Thats great China transitioned so well. ECID is def true;) I'm considering trying Tinka on the Nature's variety rabbit. Not sure if she'll eat it though as she is a bit fussy. If not I'll have to wait till later till her weight and numbers are more stable as don't want her skipping any meals. Rabbit is novel which is great, but she was on it recenlty when she was poorly with the diabetes so she may associate the food with feeling badly. Its a very lean meat too and she needs to pick up weight but it is novel which is helpful.

What was the name of that supplement or food that you spinkle on top to encourage them to eat as it tastes/smells good? Right now I'm using a little Orijen freeze dried raw treats to coax her to eat but they are not novel as contains beef. If I'm going to address the food allergies I need to try stick to two novels, so looking for something else to sprinkle on to encourage her eating. Also need some kind of novel protein treat so I'll need to research into that. She's definitly improving in appetite though which is good. I've noticed her breathing is not great past month either and whilst the vet said she didn't find anything in her lungs I think its from the steroids too from being on them long term now, they really have so many side effects. Really want to try get her off them soon.
 
What was the name of that supplement or food that you spinkle on top to encourage them to eat as it tastes/smells good?
FortiFlora.

For info, most cats seem to really like FortiFlora but it can make some kitties nauseated. If you try it I suggest introducing it slowly to see how Tinka gets on with it. :)


Mogs
.
 
The other drug you were probably thinking of is budesonide, but it's mostly good on gut allergies. Have you thought about going back to raw or cooked novel proteins with a premix added? That would eliminate the peas, carrots, gums or other additives manufacturers seem to want to add. I have used the TC Feline or FoodfurLife EZcomplete premixes.
Hi Wendy thank you yes that is the drug that I saw mentioned. Have you used it on Neko and did it help? When you say gut allergies are you meaning food allergies, leaky gut/IBS etc? As I believe this is what Tinka has. What does the budesonide do? Yes I'd definitly like to go raw. She has only been on raw duck but she had raw duck treats during that time that I think had to much bone and she got very constipated and stopped eating. So I took a break from the raw but I'd like to try it again. She's underweight due to the loss of appetite but since the insulin she is eating much better. She is a bit fussy though so I'm not sure how she will react to the raw and how her gut will do but I think if I can get her on raw premade novel that would be ideal. In terms of cooked I have run out of novel option that I can source myself to make in my small town unfortunately. Does Niko eat Raw or cooked then?
 
FortiFlora.

For info, most cats seem to really like FortiFlora but it can make some kitties nauseated. If you try it I suggest introducing it slowly to see how Tinka gets on with it. :)


Mogs
.
Thank you Mogs yes that was it. Ah right thats good to know. May not be the best option then to spinked of the raw in case it does make her nauseas and she goes off it. Maybe I'll try source some freeze dried novel if possible that she likes then use the fortiflora as a back up option. Do you just get it in powder or tablet form from a health shop? If i use I will def introduce slowly thank you and maybe wait till later till she's picked up weight before experimenting.

Tinka is definitly feeling a bit better, but her numbers havne't been going down much. Chris has suggested I up Tinka's does from tomorrow to 0.75 if we still don't get any blue numbers today, so will be interesting to see how that goes and if I'm able to give her two doses, AM and PM, if her numbers don't go to low.
 
@Wendy&Neko -

Do you know whether adding an antihistamine to the regimen of a cat with allergy/GI issues already taking a small dose of steroids might help relieve the itching/irritation symptoms at all? (I discussed the possibility of doing this for Lúnasa recently with our vet. He advised that he has patients whom he treats with an antihistamine/steroid combo but thus far I've not had to use such a regimen for my own cat.)


Mogs
.
Thaks Mogs, yes its definitly something to consider. I think my vet mentioned trying antihistamines in the past so something to chat to her about again when she's back. Do you think they have less side effects than the steroids or less effects on blood glucose/diabetes?
I have tried a curcumin in the past which is a natrual anti-histamine but it didn't help that much. As Wendy mentioned below its so encouraging to hear how raw can improve food allergies, if I can get Tinka eating raw I think this may really help :)
 
Tinka is definitly feeling a bit better, but her numbers havne't been going down much.
It's very early days, Tanya. Unfortunately regulation is more of a marathon than a sprint. :rolleyes: The main thing to concentrate on is that Tinka is starting to feel better. The BG numbers are solely a guide to help us keep our little ones safe and to optimise their insulin treatment. Quality of life is the most important metric. :)


Mogs
.
 
It's very early days, Tanya. Unfortunately regulation is more of a marathon than a sprint. :rolleyes: The main thing to concentrate on is that Tinka is starting to feel better. The BG numbers are solely a guide to help us keep our little ones safe and to optimise their insulin treatment. Quality of life is the most important metric. :)


Mogs
.
Thanks Mogs that's goood to know, I'm not in a rush just want whats best for her. I'd like to do the TR method if possible so she has the strongest chance of remission. She is eating 4 meals a day now and eating pretty well. Do you agree with Chris's suggestion to go to 0.75u tomorrow then if not blues today? Thanks!
 
Fortiflora changed recipes lately and I've heard it's not as good as it was.

Nothing wrong with trying crumbled freeze dried treats to get them to eat. PureBites makes a freeze dried duck liver than makes a very popular crumble in this household. They also do bison, but it doesn't crumble as well. You have to look in the dog treat section for them.

Yes, Neko had either severe IBD or small cell intestinal lymphoma. We could not do a biopsy due to her heart so couldn't verify which it was, and her heart also meant she couldn't take prednisilone. She was doing occasional foamy and biley vomits before "diagnosis" and the budesonide completely got rid of that symptom. Her gut inflammation also went down by about 40% on ultrasound. Neko used to eat raw, including some novel proteins, but stopped wanting to eat it in this summer. She passed a couple of weeks ago. My other cat also has IBD/lymphoma - he definitely has food allergies. He is primarily on raw food. One half premanufactured (venison and rabbit) and the other half home made (buffalo and chicken) and sometimes duck. Primal makes a premanufactured pheasant that they ate for a while, but got tired of after one bag. Neko also used to eat raw lamb and kangaroo, but my other cat could not eat those proteins. For a while I made some home made with elk.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top