Hello from Harley and I!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by RobinHarley, Oct 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RobinHarley

RobinHarley Member

Hello!

My name is Robin. I am a student in my senior year graduating with my Social Work degree!

I have my kitties and my doggo. This is a bit about us and our journey of being diagnosed.

We recently moved after 20 years to a rural town in Idaho. When we moved it wasn't long after my bed started being peed on. I thought it was my old lady cat, Baby. But I never actually caught her in the act so I wasn't 100% sure. Took her in and we found grave kidney results. Treated with antibiotics and nothing changed so we put her on a k/d diet and added omega-3. Though... the peeing never stopped. Blocked my room off for cat access and got some peace of mind for awhile.

Now... the entire time this is going on Harley is beyond changing, but it ways that never stuck out to me as an ailment. The one I really noticed was he could not get enough food. I free fed, he ate all day long and if you went into the kitchen he was on your heels in the fridge, climbing shelves in the pantry, ripping packages apart, eating any and all human food he could. Eating food out of pots on the stove still cooking even! It was other family members who started noticing his weight loss... so I weighed him (I keep active weights on all the animals)... sure enough in 2 months he had lost 4lbs but was heating like a pig. Then it was a couple weeks later my mom (who has been type 1 since 2 years old) mentioned him drinking excessively and mentioned diabetes. That same evening I caught him peeing on my bed... all in all it was never Baby, though I am lucky I took her in and started treatment for her kidney failure.

Scheduled a vet appointment that next morning, took him in, they all assured me he was far too young and I would be okay and out of there in no time.