Hello! Newbie here!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by FatCatToby, May 14, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FatCatToby

FatCatToby New Member

Hello all!

My big 'ole cat Toby was diagnosed with diabetes around 3 weeks ago. He's a 10.5 year old DSH and weighed a whopping 9kg up until diagnosis (he's a tall boy too, like a giant of the cat world!). I noticed something was wrong when he started drinking excessively, lost interest in food, and looked a lot slimmer around his shoulders. He also has urinary tract disease and was on Royal Canin Urinary s/o dry food for most of his life, so I thought it may be related to that. I took him to the vet and found out he has diabetes... yay!

He's on Lantus at 0.6u once a day. Our vet suggested only doing it once a day as it would be hard measuring 0.3u at each injection. We're giving him Royal Canin diabetes wet food satchels ~2-3 times a day, but that is proving really difficult at the moment.

It's been an enormous challenge with him so far, and I'm assuming every one has felt this way too in the beginning. Injecting him is tough. Because he is such a big boy he's strong as well. Despite all the love and affection we give him, he also is a lot more aggressive than other cats (he is known for being notoriously lovable yet unfriendly at my vets!). When injecting at 7:30am, I have to put him in his carrier and get my mother to scruff him at his neck so he can't move or attack us as instructed by our vets. This makes it hard to rotate site injections as I have limited space to work with. I've tried treating him etc. but it doesn't work with him. He does however run back to me after we're done to get his reward!