Hello

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by CC2016, Jul 2, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CC2016

CC2016 New Member

Hi all,
    This is such a sad day as I just found out that my soon to be 15 year old cat has diabetes. I think I am still in shock - and sticker shock as I am a student without an income right now. However, I will do whatever I have to do to get his through this. He has been with me through thick and thin and now is my time to nurse him back to the best state of health possible. I started him on the Purina ProPlan today and will be taking him in for a fructosamine test on Tuesday. Any words of wisdom on how to get through the first few weeks would be helpful. I am so grateful to have found this forum!

2. Sharon14

Sharon14 Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome. What is your kitty's name? Sorry about the diagnosis, it is overwhelming at first, but you've come to the right place. We can help you take the best care of your kitty and save some money at the same time. First, there's no need for the expensive vet. prescribed food. A low carb canned food is all you need, just be sure it's a pate type food with no grains or gravy- many of us use Fancy Feast Classics or Friskies Pate. Also if you'll learn to home test his glucose with an inexpensive human meter there will be no need for expensive visits to the vet for curves or fructosamine tests. Come over to the health forum with any questions you have.

3. CC2016

CC2016 New Member