HELP 10u ProZinc

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Molly, Feb 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Molly

Molly Member

Hello,

I am brand new to both this site and feline diabetes, and am feeling a bit overwhelmed by it all. I have a few questions and would be most appreciative of any advice you can give me!

My Meatball is about a year and a half old, and was diagnosed with diabetes at the end of December. Looking back I believe he was showing symptoms for quite a while before that, and I just didn't realize what was happening.

In the beginning of August, Meatball got a UTI. I took him to the vet, who prescribed antibiotics. At that point weighed in at a whopping 17.5 lbs. He is a 'big boned' cat, but he was certainly a bit chubby, too. So, in addition to the antibiotics, which were given as a one time slow release shot, I left the vet with a bag of diet cat food for Meatball, and his litter mate, Boss to share to help them lose a few lbs. At this point, Meatball started to lose weight, and I thought the food was having the desired effect. However, Boss was NOT losing any weight, in fact, he was GAINING weight on the diet food. Honestly, I remember thinking this was weird, but Meatball did not seem at all sick, he was very playful, and acting like his crazy self. It was only in November when I looked at him, and looked at Boss, and could see there had to be five lbs difference between them, when I realized something was not right. At this point, they were also due for vaccinations, so I made an appointment with my parents vet in upstate NY.