HELP. 12/8/15 Smokey-PMPS 98; +1=95; +1.5=117; +3=76; +4=66; +4.5=62; +5=60; +5.5=85; +6=107; +7=123

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Olive & Paula, Dec 8, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    @Vyktors Mum. BTW what is your name? I think every one else went to bed. I am doing that in a few minutes.

    Thanks for the company and all your help. I hope I remember alot of this.

    He will be due for his shot in 4 hrs. Pray tell what will happen.
     
  2. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    As Vyktors mum says, we have to look at the long picture.

    I know what you mean though, George is happy in the yellow, he is behaving like his old self, but whilst those yellow numbers have him feeling better than when he was in the red and black back in October, it's no reason to give in now. We know that at these numbers the high blood glucose is slowly but surely damaging his organs, yes George is feeling better but in the long run he will pay for it if I don't try to get him down. I feel your distress at having to poke Smokey all night, I feel the same for George, but even in the short journey that George and I have traveled in this FD so far, I know he will forgive me, and if anything it is making our bond so much stronger.

    I'll tell you a story about a bean, my father, he was diagnosed with diabetes, his GP decided to treat with gliclaside and diet, my dad, followed his GP instructions, went for check ups and regularly checked his BG, it run in the yellow all the time, and his GP told him that was OK for him. At diagnosis he was in a bad shape his BG was in the black numbers had lost weight, constantly thirsty, grumpy, tired all your usual diabetes symptoms, on his meds and in the yellows he of course felt much better, but his GP should have wanted more for him. 15 years on he started to have dizzy spells, I urged him to see a specialist when I found out what his BG was running at, he was immediately put on insulin and his numbers were brought into the healthy range. (6-7mm0l/L), it was too late for him though, his organs had suffered damage, the dizzy spells were the start of vascular dementia and he eventually passed away as a result of complications. I believe to this day that his Family Doc sold him short and that we lost him before his time because he failed to fight for those lower BG numbers being content with the improvement in my fathers signs and symptoms.

    I don't want to be harsh, that's not my intention, but Diabetes is an insidious disease both for beans and kitties, we cannot be complacent with yellow numbers, we have to strive to get them in those healthier blues and greens, we owe it to them for the love and affection and hours of happiness that they bring to our lives. In some cases the journey may be hard and we may not get there, but we have to try to keep them safe both in the long and the short run, they rely on us.

    Gill
     
  3. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I just saw Vyktors ss. Sorry to hear he's out of remission. Looks like your having a bit of lows tonight. I did note on your sheet you have the dates wrong I think. But not sure since your Australia.
     
  4. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Serryn is my name and you're welcome.

    When it's been a really busy condo like this it helps to come back and read it again later when you're fresh to help absorb all the info.

    AMPS is a mystery for now. I know you'll have no worries shooting if he's bounced but if he hasn't don't automatically think skip or reduce. Post for advice if you're nervous - the longer you can keep him in these numbers the better. The more time his body spends here the more it will want to stay here and that is your ultimate aim.

    Sleep well, you've really earned it tonight.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  5. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Serryn and Gill, thanks so much for everything. Hope you both get some rest if that's your time zone. If not have a good day.

    I called out of work. Don't think I'd be up to it in 3 hrs.
     
  6. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    I did have the dates the wrong way around (for you, yes that's the Australian way) on his old spreadsheet I thought I'd been doing them American style this time around but I'd better check! Vyktor had a big surf in the 50s today - great stuff :D

    This time around he was very easy to regulate but if you look through his old spreadsheet (not now, now is for sleep) which is the bottom link in my signature you can see how he used to bounce around and what happened once I started shooting the full dose into normal numbers.
     
  7. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    My conscious knows it but my head and heart just feels so bad for him.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  8. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Good job Vyktor. Maybe some day I'll get there.
     
    Vyktors Mum likes this.
  9. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Think of it as being given the gift of being able to save his life everyday. But for now - go to bed!
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  10. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I am. Goodnight and thanks again. If your around in 4 hrs I'll see you then.
     
  11. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Goodnight
     
  12. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Lovely way to think about it, may have to quote you on that;)
     
  13. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    wow Paula, what a night. I learned some things here too. Hope he isn't ridiculously high this AM for you. And hope you are able to function today.
     
  14. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    He never read the rules. That's the problem. He does what he wants and %#!= everyone else.
     
  15. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I'm going back to bed, will catch up with you later. Send Bubba out for those mice!!!!
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page