Help needed for newbie (giving 1st shots)

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by tnlobo420, Mar 22, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tnlobo420

tnlobo420 New Member

I am between a rock and a hard place (YES I AM A NEWBIE). My 14 yr old male cat was diagnosed with diabetes a few months ago (after losing several pounds). My current vet and I have tried Glipizide for the last 2 months with some reduction in glucose levels - from 430 to around 250 or so. trouble is that the diabetic neuropathy in the back legs seems to be getting worse...
    I finally got my vet to prescribe Lantus Solostar pen - problem is that my cat FREAKS out when the skin is even pinched to give a shot. Have tried distraction, petting him and slipping a shot. I am confronted by a shrieking cat who has no issue with drawing blood on me (he even lost a claw last time). Just the thought of a shot terrifies him (Zeus). Even the few drops of frontline plus sends him under the bed (unless i can catch him asleep). I know the Glipizide isn't working well enough - after several weeks of methyl B12 - no improvement in the legs. Have switched to a low-carb wet food with little trouble. But he remains terrified of an attempted shot - the stress of getting a shot is of course worse that the shot itself - any advice would be greatly appreciated....(i can't even pick him up now - no trust...
    I am going to a new vet next week - understand she is the "cat vet" for the area. At least she is familiar with Lantus, my other vet was not, nor did he give me any help with giving a shot...

2. Carol and Rosie (Beaka)

Carol and Rosie (Beaka) Member

Hi
    I'm sure you'll get lots of advice from people far more experienced that I am as I'm only 4 weeks in but I thought I'd never be able to get my cat to accept the injections and I was so stressed about them to begin with.