Diane Engoron
Member Since 2020
@Deb & Wink
146 this morning - should I dose her 1 drop or not? And last night she was almost 400 PMPS
146 this morning - should I dose her 1 drop or not? And last night she was almost 400 PMPS
Will you able to monitor this cycle closely and get additional BG tests?
That’s a nice number, especially on an AlphaTrak. When you see an unexpectedly low number, it’s always good to retest (just in case you had a bad test strip or something).
I’d recheck the BG now to confirm the 146 wasn’t a fluke.
Is that a food-influenced number? (i.e., did Wenchie eat in the last two hours?)
I’d recheck the BG now to confirm the 146 wasn’t a fluke.
Is that a food-influenced number? (i.e., did Wenchie eat in the last two hours?)
Do you need to stay on the same shot schedule? One option is to stall, keep testing, and shoot later once her BG is rising. But that option changes your standard shot time — your “new” shot time would be 12 hours after whatever time you finally gave the AM shot. Also, it’s generally recommended to withhold food while stalling so the “rise” isn’t a temporary food bump. Wenchie has already had breakfast so even if the BG rises, the data is a bit harder to interpret. (Don’t feel bad that you fed; she desperately needs it)
The second option is to shoot, then buckle your seatbelt and check BGs closely through the cycle. You’ll want to have your hypo toolkit out and be ready to intervene if necessary. Make sure you have plenty of test strips if you go that route. Also, I’m not able to be online with you today so we’d want to find someone who could.
I rarely giving dosing advice but ... given that Wenchie has shown significant sensitivity to Lantus, you don’t have a lot of recent mid-cycle data, there’s no way to shoot less than your current “one drop” dose, she’s been eating like crazy with no significant BG increase, you’re using SLGS, and that 146 is from an AlphaTrak ... I think I’d skip the shot BUT get in some mid cycle tests today to help paint the picture of what’s happening. I’d start with +2 and probably try to get a few others — maybe a +5 and +8.
Ugh, that took me entirely too long to type.
Hi Diane,
Just saw your tag. Glad that JL and Chip were here to help that early in the morning.
I'll be here the rest of the day in case you need help.
Keep testing Wenchie throughout the day.
And feeding her as much as you can get into her.
p.s. 6 am EST is too darn early for me to be on the computer yet. Still doing other "stuff" in life at that time in the AM.
Prozinc is another good option for cats. 10-14 hour duration.
Vetsulin, not so much. Made for dogs, doesn't usually last as long in cats. 8-10 hour duration.
NPH insulins, I have a personal prejudice against. Bad family incident. Someone died using it.
Order the Prozinc from Chewy.com. They have the best price I know of. Your vet needs to send them a script, but once you place your order for a prescription medication, they will contact your vet for you.
Plus, they send the insulin very well wrapped, small cooler to protect it from hot and cold, plenty of padding, all that you could hope for with a mail order insulin.
@Diane Engoron Wenchie does seem to be super sensitive to insulin — that’s a pretty strong reaction to a single drop of Lantus — but for what it’s worth, I don’t think her numbers look all that unusual for a recently diagnosed diabetic.
In your spreadsheet comments, I see that you’re questioning “why the big swings” and, yes, 324 to 143 (AlphaTrak numbers) is dramatic for one drop of insulin, but it shows that the Lantus is working. Often the swings settle down over time to a more gentle “surfing” in a narrower range of numbers but (and I’m being a broken record here) it’s oh so important to keep getting mid-cycle BG tests. For example, I’m curious how low Wenchie went in today’s cycle — did she stay high or dip down like yesterday? Knowing which she did helps decode tonight’s pre-shot number as well as fill in the blanks in the overall picture of how Lantus works for her. The mid-cycle values will ultimately also help determine whether you should increase Or decrease the dose. Remember, Lantus dosing is based on nadir (low point in the cycle) not pre-shot values.
My Charlie was also very sensitive to small amounts of insulin so I understand your stress and concerns. Charlie would get lethargic when his numbers were high and being patient as we sorted out his medical issues and diabetes was soooo hard.
I hope you have a good, and enlightening, appointment with Karen on Tuesday. Please post again and let us know how things turn out.
goal.
@Diane Engoron I see that you’re questioning “why the big swings” and, yes, 324 to 143 (AlphaTrak numbers) is dramatic for one drop of insulin, but it shows that the Lantus is working. Often the swings settle down over time to a more gentle “surfing” in a narrower range of numbers but (and I’m being a broken record here) it’s oh so important to keep getting mid-cycle BG tests. For example, I’m curious how low Wenchie went in today’s cycle — did she stay high or dip down like yesterday? Knowing which she did helps decode tonight’s pre-shot number as well as fill in the blanks in the overall picture of how Lantus works for her. The mid-cycle values will ultimately also help determine whether you should increase Or decrease the dose. Remember, Lantus dosing is based on nadir (low point in the cycle) not pre-shot values.
I don’t know what tests Karen will want to run, but Charlie’s vomiting was tied to chronic pancreatitis, which isn’t uncommon in diabetics. The test for that is an fPLI; you might want to inquire whether that would be something to consider.
Maybe remember to ask about the possibility of hyperthyroidism too. That can suck weight off them like crazy and cause some of the symptoms you’re seeing.
Is Wenchie’s poop normal? You haven’t mentioned anything abnormal there but IBD can cause weight loss as well.
I loved Charlie dearly — he was with me nearly 18 years — and he had all of the above plus diabetes and kidney disease and a few other things. It was a rough ride at first. Really rough. And I was watching him fade away. I used to tell my IM vet at the university that I felt we were walking along the rim of the Grand Canyon and that the slightest wisp of wind would throw us over the edge. But we took one step at a time and finally had a few breakthroughs. Charlie was around 15 too when all of this started. He was with me nearly three more years and I eventually lost him to cancer, not diabetes.
It’s tough to be a caretaker of sick family members, be it human or animal. It’s even harder when one feels so helpless. You’ve been doing a stellar job under difficult circumstances. And I wasn’t scolding you about the mid cycle tests — just wanted you to understand why they can be so valuable.
Often times the worst days are at the beginning when the cat is so sick and you’re entering a strange new world and nothing makes sense. The stress can be stratospheric. But just like one of those old Polaroid photos, what starts out as blank and grey starts to slowly morph and come into relief. And just like that photo, you’ll start to grasp what’s happening and what it all means. It takes a bit of time, but it really does get easier. Hang in there. I really hope that Wenchie is “simply” diabetic.
Have you been testing for urinary ketones?watching her so lethargic and vomiting
Have you been testing for urinary ketones?
Good luck at the vet today. Depending on how that goes, I may have more comments/questions.
Light ashy colored poops sounds like EPI Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency. Not common in diabetic cats, but it does happen. You'll need to get enzymes to add to the food if that is the case. Have your vet do a TLI test.
"Diarrhea/soft feces, particularly if paste colored or pale, that can be a sign of exocrine pancreatic insufficiency, or lack of pancreatic enzymes. The blood test for that needs to be done in a fasting state.
The treatment is to supply additional pancreatic enzymes to help the food break down."
"In exocrine pancreatic insufficiency, the stool is pasty-colored, foul smelling, and voluminous because there are not enough digestive enzymes produced by the pancreas. The same thing destroying the insulin-producing islet cells of the pancreas may also destroy the enzyme-producing cells.
Another possible diagnosis is inflammatory bowel disease which may be treated with an oral steroid, budesonide, which doesn't cause as much glucose elevation as the injections do."
So we aren't shy about talking about poop color or consistency around here. Wenchie's poops look like any of these?
![]()
EPI test has to be done fasted. If my mind is remembering correctly, giving the EPI enzymes and seeing improvements in the poops is an indication that the pancreas was not producing enough enzymes. Sort of an empirical test.
When the pancreas is not functioning well, that can affect both the production of insulin and the hormones that help with digestion. That is why the poop can be very loose, diarrhea, very smelly, very large, more of a tan or gray color.
It could be chronic pancreatitis also.
Ask your new vet if she thinks B12 injections could be helpful.
If it is EPI, the pancreatic enzymes taste HORRIBLE and need to be added to the food. It may be necessary to hand feed Wenchie the food with the enzymes mixed in, and then let her eat more food on her own.
p.s.Wish you had mentioned the ashy colored poops before.![]()
Hopefully Karen will do the full GI panel, which includes fPLI, fTLI, folate, and cobalamin. They used to have to be sent out to Texas A&M but there might be more choices these days. The poop color/consistency is a clue we haven’t touched on before now.
Hindsight is great isn't it?
We all live and learn. but now that you have your new vet Karen, I think Wenchie will do so much better.
Nothing is too small to mention to us here. We know a heck of a lot. Not as much as a vet knows about everything but we do know about EPI and other concurrent health issues that may be affecting a diabetic cat.
Swearing at your old vet. Vehemently and loudly. From hundreds of miles away.![]()
The good news is that EPI is treatable and Karen doesn’t think it’s likely cancer. I’m glad @Deb & Wink got that EPI info posted so quickly. The minute you said ashy poop I thought of EPI. We had to have Charlie tested for that too and several of my GI cats have had to go through the TAMU protocol of B-12 injections.
You have a clue and a direction now, and more hope than you had 24 hours ago. Although there are no guarantees, I call that a win for now.
Hey, move over on that “guilt” chair and make room for me. I’m sorry I didn’t ask about the poop before last night. :-( By the way, try to cut yourself a break. You didn’t give up and take the original vet’s advice blindly — rather, you came here, persisted with follow up, listened to advice, and reached out to Karen for a second opinion. You deserve kudos, not guilt.
Get a good night’s sleep and I hope you have a bit more peace of mind.
Helping new members by giving them encouragement is one way that anyone can help. Share your experiences. It can really make an impact on someone new.
Pick one person in the Main Forum. Give them some encouraging words. Let them know that someone is paying attention and listening.
That is all it takes sometimes. Letting them know that feline diabetes is treatable, and that a cat can live a long and better life with treatment.
Diane, I just popped in to say that you are awesome. Your first vet wasn't good enough. You did research on your own, you realized the vet wasn't good enough, and you got Wenchie to a vet that knows what she's doing. Wenchie can't ask for any better mama than that. It's hard to realize one can't trust what a vet is saying. We are all used to trusting vets and following their instructions. You have nothing to feel guilty about. You are a rock star, and Wenchie is going to have a happier, healthier life because of it.
She needs food. Even without the proper enzymes to digest the food, she needs food.
Sorry, have to run. I have to go cat sit someone else's diabetic cat.
Tagging
@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Easily digestible food is good.
If you can find it, feeding her raw beef or lamb pancreas might provide the needed enzymes in the short term. My vet mentioned it but I’ve never tried it.
This is definitely out of my knowledge area. But I'm here. Hugs
Even though her pancreas is not producing the enzymes and she's not able to digest properly? (my husband's question)
She may not get 100% of the nutrition, but she'll get some so yes, keep feeding her