Help! Newly diagnosed 13 year old .

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by MotherofCats, Aug 13, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MotherofCats

MotherofCats New Member

MotherofCats
    HI everyone. I've never done one of these before but am desperate for help. My 13 year old boy has been diagnosed in the last week. His glucose was 380 , he's 9 lbs very thin.. the vet has prescribed him insulin which I'm waiting for it to be shipped once the rx is approved, and the hills rx soft food. Here is a big issue.. he's always hungry , I feed him a can of wet food a day , the Dr said I could split one up into thirds and feed 3 times a day. I have 3 male cats Hercules is a bit obsessed and won't finish his own food , because he wants to move on and eat the others food as well. I've tried separating him and he stops eating until I let him out to roam , then he looks for the others bowls. I feel so frustrated, how often should I be feeding him? How much? What should I feed him, the hills soft food the vet sold me? It seems he's really gouging me with costs. Not helping me with my questions. Sorry to ramble.. I'm just at my wits end trying to keep every one happy. Now the other two really want the prescription food too. HELP PLEASE?

2. apple

apple Member

Hi,

Good to see you here!

Some questions to get started:
    Will you be home testing?
    What insulin will you be using?

Food: many members here use friskies and fancy feast pates. Dr. Lisa has a list of foods that are lower carb options for diabetic cats.

While unregulated, his body will not use calories efficiently. He needs to eat what he needs to eat. Often that is more food than he ate before being diagnosed. One can doesn't sound like enough.

Brb.

3. apple

apple Member

4. apple

apple Member

Some members feed rx food many do not.