? Help Please - 1/31 Tigger - +11 226, PMPS 209, +2 197 (AT)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brittany-Tig

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-30-tigger-amps-350-11-208-pmps-181-at.190455/

I’m a little worried about Tigger. He had some odd behavior this afternoon. He drank water, peed, pooped, and puked all within the span of 2 minutes. He never vomits. He only puked up water though. At dinner he only licked the juices and ate hardly any of the meat. I tried to give him some plain turkey and he just licked that. Maybe I shouldn’t have dosed because he’s already dropping and that’s not usual for him. Should I try and give him more canned food? Maybe a little bit higher carb? Am I overreacting? Help please :(
 
BUMP_zpsjgc5xmnr.jpeg
 
Did he vomit after peeing and pooping? If he was straining to pee or poop, that can cause them to vomit. He could have something going on such as a UTI or maybe he's constipated. Worth investigating with your vet. As for tonight, I would keep an eye on his numbers, but he's very safe at the moment. Give him small meals and see if he keeps it down. If he is backed up, that also could make him not interested in eating. Keep us posted. :bighug:
 
How is Tigger feeling now? The movement between +11, PMPS and +2 are all still within meter variance, most meters have an allowable 20% difference. I see you have a +3 = 167 on your spreadsheet, can you offer some regular friskies pate that you normally feed? Maybe about 1-2 teaspoons. Tigger isn't coming down drastically, 167 on AT2 is still perfectly safe :bighug:.
 
Did he vomit after peeing and pooping? If he was straining to pee or poop, that can cause them to vomit. He could have something going on such as a UTI or maybe he's constipated. Worth investigating with your vet. As for tonight, I would keep an eye on his numbers, but he's very safe at the moment. Give him small meals and see if he keeps it down. If he is backed up, that also could make him not interested in eating. Keep us posted. :bighug:

He did vomit after going to the bathroom. But he was able to pee and poop! But I guess he could’ve strained while going.
And our vet wants him between 150-200 with AlphaTRAK2 meter and he hasn’t dropped this fast in the past so I’m paranoid. +3 is 167 and he almost always is higher than PMPS, and he’s not :/
 
How is Tigger feeling now? The movement between +11, PMPS and +2 are all still within meter variance, most meters have an allowable 20% difference. I see you have a +3 = 167 on your spreadsheet, can you offer some regular friskies pate that you normally feed? Maybe about 1-2 teaspoons. Tigger isn't coming down drastically, 167 on AT2 is still perfectly safe :bighug:.

Okay thank you!! He hates the pate so I gave him a little spoonful of a slightly higher carb Friskies that my other cats eat and figured I’d test again in 30 minutes. I’m still so new to this so I’m super paranoid
 
Okay thank you!! He hates the pate so I gave him a little spoonful of a slightly higher carb Friskies that my other cats eat and figured I’d test again in 30 minutes. I’m still so new to this so I’m super paranoid
You are doing just fine! We all have been there, those first changes/drops can be alarming. Good that you have something he wants to eat, if the pate isn't so interesting. You probably can wait to test a +4, especially if it was higher carb :bighug:
 
How is Tigger feeling now? The movement between +11, PMPS and +2 are all still within meter variance, most meters have an allowable 20% difference. I see you have a +3 = 167 on your spreadsheet, can you offer some regular friskies pate that you normally feed? Maybe about 1-2 teaspoons. Tigger isn't coming down drastically, 167 on AT2 is still perfectly safe :bighug:.

So what’s a safe range for the AT2? My vet just said 150-200. I’m getting a Relion tomorrow so that’ll help too
 
So what’s a safe range for the AT2? My vet just said 150-200. I’m getting a Relion tomorrow so that’ll help too
The "take action number" is 68 on AT2, which means you need to intervene with higher carb food and/or syrup (depending on the situation), to get the kitty back up to safer numbers. Yes, the Relion will be fine going forward, as both TR protocol and SLGS method are written with human meter numbers in mind. Have you seen the stickies? A lot of us start with the AT2, but know there is no conversion/comparison between the two...long story, I can give you many, many older threads if you are curious, the topic comes up a lot ;)
 
The "take action number" is 68 on AT2, which means you need to intervene with higher carb food and/or syrup (depending on the situation), to get the kitty back up to safer numbers. Yes, the Relion will be fine going forward, as both TR protocol and SLGS method are written with human meter numbers in mind. Have you seen the stickies? A lot of us start with the AT2, but know there is no conversion/comparison between the two...long story, I can give you many, many older threads if you are curious, the topic comes up a lot ;)

I’ve read most of the stickies and just saw that AlphaTrak is discouraged and the protocols are written for human meters. I started with AT2 because that’s what my vet told me to get and when they want his updates from me they need AT2 readings since that’s what they have. And because of the confusion on the message boards (and because I want a back up) I bought a human meter as well and that arrives tomorrow. But yes I’d be happy to read through a few threads, maybe not “many many” though :p
 
+4 156 on AT2
Looking good. Still nervous o_O
I fed him a little bit more because I’m exhausted and need to sleep. But you guys are helping me keep my cool. Thank you :bighug:
 
He did vomit after going to the bathroom. But he was able to pee and poop! But I guess he could’ve strained while going.
And our vet wants him between 150-200 with AlphaTRAK2 meter and he hasn’t dropped this fast in the past so I’m paranoid. +3 is 167 and he almost always is higher than PMPS, and he’s not :/

Keep an eye on it, just because he could go doesn’t mean it wasn’t painful or was easy. If it’s constipation, you could treat that at home, but if it’s a UTI, you don’t want to mess around with that. Diabetic cats are more prone to UTIs.
 
Hi there. He is nice and safe right now. As said by others, when they start to go into lower numbers it does make most of us anxious. But , that's what we want, right? It seems to me that he is starting to work the insulin better now. It takes some time for that to happen. Stay vigilant as you have been.
 
Keep an eye on it, just because he could go doesn’t mean it wasn’t painful or was easy. If it’s constipation, you could treat that at home, but if it’s a UTI, you don’t want to mess around with that. Diabetic cats are more prone to UTIs.

Yes I definitely will. Are there specific signs I should be on the look out for for UTIs? I had previously posted that he was peeing outside of the pan and that’s a sign of UTIs, but he suddenly started going inside of the pan again so I’m not sure what to think. I’ve had him tested for UTIs in the past and he hasn’t had one yet.
 
I’ve read most of the stickies and just saw that AlphaTrak is discouraged and the protocols are written for human meters. I started with AT2 because that’s what my vet told me to get and when they want his updates from me they need AT2 readings since that’s what they have. And because of the confusion on the message boards (and because I want a back up) I bought a human meter as well and that arrives tomorrow. But yes I’d be happy to read through a few threads, maybe not “many many” though :p
Sorry, had to step away to check on my little kitty :cat:. LOL good, I'm glad you don't want too many, because...seriously there are a lot!!
 
Hi there. He is nice and safe right now. As said by others, when they start to go into lower numbers it does make most of us anxious. But , that's what we want, right? It seems to me that he is starting to work the insulin better now. It takes some time for that to happen. Stay vigilant as you have been.
Yes absolutely! I want those low numbers, but I got anxious when it dropped more quickly than usual. I want the low numbers, but I want them safely :nailbiting:
 
Hi there. He is nice and safe right now. As said by others, when they start to go into lower numbers it does make most of us anxious. But , that's what we want, right? It seems to me that he is starting to work the insulin better now. It takes some time for that to happen. Stay vigilant as you have been.
I just saw in your signature that your kitty had his right eye removed because of cancer. Tigger had malenoma (suspected) in his right eye. He had them (the spots) lasered off a few years ago and he has been fine ever since, except for the diabetes dx.. do you know what type of cancer your kitty had?
 
Yes I definitely will. Are there specific signs I should be on the look out for for UTIs? I had previously posted that he was peeing outside of the pan and that’s a sign of UTIs, but he suddenly started going inside of the pan again so I’m not sure what to think. I’ve had him tested for UTIs in the past and he hasn’t had one yet.

For my cat, she was going to pee frequently in the litter box and only a tiny bit would come out. The first one she had was really bad, I didn’t notice any symptoms until she was acting pretty sad and dribbling bloody pee on the floor, it came out of nowhere. I’ve heard peeing outside the litter box is a symptom as well. I think male cats have more risks with UTIs and blockages, so that’s why I say keep an eye on it. You can also stalk him a bit at litter box to see what he’s up to and check out his recent poops if any are still around to try to figure out if it’s constipation or not.
 
For my cat, she was going to pee frequently in the litter box and only a tiny bit would come out. The first one she had was really bad, I didn’t notice any symptoms until she was acting pretty sad and dribbling bloody pee on the floor, it came out of nowhere. I’ve heard peeing outside the litter box is a symptom as well. I think male cats have more risks with UTIs and blockages, so that’s why I say keep an eye on it. You can also stalk him a bit at litter box to see what he’s up to and check out his recent poops if any are still around to try to figure out if it’s constipation or not.

Ok thank you. I have been stalking him pretty much whenever I’m home. He pees A LOT when he pees. Like, he only goes once or twice a day. But I will keep an eye out for straining especially since he vomited right after going to the bathroom. And regardless, whenever I go back for a vet check up I’ll ask to get him tested again. But if I see symptoms I’ll definitely go sooner!!
 
I just saw in your signature that your kitty had his right eye removed because of cancer. Tigger had malenoma (suspected) in his right eye. He had them (the spots) lasered off a few years ago and he has been fine ever since, except for the diabetes dx.. do you know what type of cancer your kitty had?
Hi, yes, Bubba had Diffused Iris Melanoma. It is common in orange colored cats to get the "freckling" in their eyes. But, when they start growing or looking velvety and raised as Bubba's did then it becomes suspicious for it being malignant. And the only way to be absolutely sure if it is malignant is to remove the eye and biopsy. His was malignant, but fortunately the biopsy said it was all contained in the iris and did not go beyond that.

I didn't know that there was a Laser option. I hope Tig stays free of any more spots on his eye.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top