? Help switching from alphatrak2?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (The Main Forum)' started by Jessica Taddei, Oct 31, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jessica Taddei

    Jessica Taddei Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    I'm wanting to switch from the alphatrak2 meter but am unsure of how to interpret numbers on a human reader. I also need suggestions for a meter to switch to, I'm going through so many strips and they are so expensive! ($50 for 50)
     
  2. W.K.

    W.K. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Just like your ss for vet meters there is one for human meters. I've never used one but from what I understand they tend to run higher at higher numbers and closer to the accurate number at lower numbers. I can't find the template for them right now but but your post in the AM and I'm sure you'll get more eyes on it.. Sorry I dont have more advice. It's a little late and it can be slow around here this time of night.

    What I can tell you is that <50 on a human meter is considered hypo, instead of the 68 on a pet meter. The other ranges are the same from what I've seen. Lots of folks use the ReliOn Plus? I think. But any human meter will do. The relion just needs less blood than others.

    I've been using the AT2 since FEB of this year and am also thinking about a switch. Those strips are highway robbery!!!
     
  3. W.K.

    W.K. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
  4. W.K.

    W.K. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Also, most people using lantus use a human meter whether they are following the SLGS or TR protocol. So you might want to ask around that specific forum to see what some of them use.
     
  5. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    You can definitely use whatever human meter you like. Many folks here do use the Relion brand (I believe the Micro requires a small amount of blood, and the Prime needs a bigger amount). I personally use a Contour Next meter and get my strips off of Ebay for about $10-$12/box of 50. Definitely switch your spreadsheet to the human meter one after you switch to make sure your numbers/ranges are updated. :)

    ETA: One awesome point about the Contour Next meter is if you don't get enough blood the first round, the meter gives you 20 or 30 seconds to add more. Definitely a great option.
     
    W.K. likes this.
  6. Sylvie

    Sylvie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    just buy the cheaper 'freestyle lite' strips to use with your alphatrak 2, they are what i started mostly using. glucose readings/numbers are often close to AT strip readings or an average of 10 low or higher for me so far. once you compare readings for 2-3 days using AT strips followed by freestyle lite strips on your meter, you will get an idea of how to interpret freestyle lite strips numbers. usually i log what freestyle lite strip reading says but, think plus or minus 10 and on occassion i will recheck readings with an AT strip. you get to keep using your AT spreadsheet if you use these freestyle lite strips with your alphatrak2 meter.

    The freestyle lite strips are about a little over half the cost of AT strips at places like Amazon but, you can get them a lot cheaper than that if you buy them on ebay. i bought 23 vials in total on there and ended up paying an average of $12.13 per vial.
     
  7. Chris & China

    Chris & China Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If you live in the US, the Relion Confirm or Micro meters from WalMart are what most of us use. The strips are a lot more affordable than the AT ($35.88 per 100) and you can get strips pretty much 24/7 if you need them

    The Relion Prime has cheaper strips, but takes a larger sample size and some people complain about frequent error messages.

    You can't convert a human meter and pet meter numbers....there's just no "formula" for it (and lots of us have tried!)

    The important number is the low.....under 50 on a human meter is your "time to act"....on the AlphaTrak, it was 68

    The higher the number, the more it can be off.....but if it's too high, it's too high, so it doesn't really matter if it's 300 or 400!
     
  8. Noah & me (GA)

    Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    That's perfect. High numbers can be dealt with long term but a low number, where a human meter will be more accurate, requires attention right now. I'm one of the few that use an Aviva Accuchek, it's consistent and needs an incredibly small amount of blood, great for a nervous cat.
     
  9. Noah & me (GA)

    Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Aviva Accuchek also comes with a good travel pack, brand name batteries (needs 3032), a USB cable and a mini travel meter. I have no idea about the price of the strips online, they're outrageous at a pharmacy. There's a deal in Canada, buy 100 lancets and the meter is free. Don't mention it's for a cat, just make up some story that your doctor wants you to keep an eye on your blood sugar. No ID required.
     
  10. Noah & me (GA)

    Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Sorry, now a triple post. Battery for Accuchek is a 2032, NOT 3032. Duracell has 4 packs for less than $8 and they usually last at least 6 months.
     
  11. Jessica Taddei

    Jessica Taddei Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Seriously!!!

    Thanks for all the advice!!! I think I will skip the freestyle strips and just switch to a human meter and check with the lantus forum !
     
    Noah & me (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page