Help! Unregulated w/ higher dose of LANTUS

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by alexia&wednesday, Jan 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alexia&wednesday

alexia&wednesday Member

A few things, please read all of this if you are going to comment. I hate hearing 'no dry food!!!', when i know this, and she doesn't eat dry food any longer and that is stated in the info posted below. Secondly, I am a medical student, so I do know a lot about DM. Obviously, I need help regulating my cat, but a lot of things don't need to be explained.
    *However*, I don't know much about her having *too much insulin* and thus, putting out higher numbers. THIS IS WHY I NEED HELP!
    ....I use the freestyle freedom lite meter

Here is some brief background info, in sequence of events:

- 11/24/09: Wednesday diagnosed with DM after being rushed to the ED w/ DKA and diagnosed with pancreatitis
    - Discharged 5 days later on Lantus 1U BID, eating wellness CORE dry and wellness grain-free wet
    - Wednesday's numbers were semi-great, about ~250 AMPS/PMPS, ~120 nadir
    - ~1 week after discharge, Wednesday did not like the new dry food and began vomiting it up for 2 days. 2nd day I took her to the vet and she decided to switch her to ID wet/dry diet. MUCH higher carbs....she was worried if she wasn't eating, she couldn't get insulin, etc.
    - Wednesday's BG increased to ~325 AMPS, ~200 nadir...obviously because this food was awful for a diabetic cat!
    - She was on the food for a few weeks, I don't want to get into why, but she was eating on this food and the vet and I figured we would deal with the higher numbers.
    - I increased insulin 0.5 units to 1.5U BID, not knowing this could have been too much too quickly.

NOW...

- Wednesday is off the ID for about 1 month now. She ONLY eats wellness wet food, though she has been able to sneak into the other cats' dry food...a HUGE problem.