Hi I'm new using lantus, and I have many doubts

Status
Not open for further replies.

julieta villarreal

Member Since 2016
¡¡Hola!! ¿Cómo estás? Soy de Argentina. Hace cuatro meses descubrí mi gato sufría de diabetes cuando se le diagnosticó cetoacidosis diabética y comenzó el tratamiento con Caninsulin. Este tipo de insulina no es efectiva en su caso. En menos de 12 horas después de la dosis, su nivel de azúcar en la sangre es de entre 340 y 460. Hace un mes, ella comenzó una dieta libre de hidratos de carbono, que sólo come carne cruda y todavía tiene niveles altos de azúcar en la sangre.

El 18 de diciembre empezamos a usar Lantus, éstos eran sus registros, aquí su formulario.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Wk6Yc29Mi-Ptv9ZwoFPF49w_7NR94nn9L2u2wM8JMXM/edit?usp=sharing

El December 18, mi gato estaba en los 100's en tiempo de disparo después de que le di 2u (por error) en la mañana, así que disparar Dejase't a las 7:30 pm, pero me tiro a las 10:00 pm en su lugar. También creo que el gato está rebotando.

Yo quería saber cómo debería continuar con las dosis ?? ¡muchas gracias!
 
Acabo de hablar con Silvina y entender que te envió al Foro. Intentaremos ayudarle lo mejor que podamos con las diferencias de idioma. Tenemos algunos otros miembros que hablan español pero puede tomarme un poco de tiempo para encontrarlos.

Estoy usando Google para traducir así que por favor disculpe cualquier error
 
Repitiendo lo que publiqué en Facebook

Qué sucede, cuando usted da demasiada insulina es que el hígado del gato reacciona a los números bajos que no está acostumbrado liberando los azúcares almacenados y las hormonas para traer la glucosa de la sangre de nuevo rápidamente. Lo llamamos "rebote". Puede tardar hasta 6 ciclos (3 días) para que estos azúcares y hormonas despejen el cuerpo por lo que por ahora, me limitaría a mantener en 1 unidad y seguir publicando en el Foro para que podamos ver cómo lo hace durante los próximos días antes Decidir si necesita ser aumentada

In English:

Julieta--Hello!! How are you? I am from Argentina. Four months ago I discovered my cat suffered from diabetes when he was diagnosed with diabetic ketoacidosis and started treatment with Caninsulin. This type of insulin is not effective in your case. In less than 12 hours after the dose, her blood sugar level is between 340 and 460. A month ago, she started a carbohydrate-free diet, which only eats raw meat and still has high sugar levels in the blood. On December 18 we started using Lantus, these were his records, here his form.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Wk6Yc29Mi-Ptv9ZwoFPF49w_7NR94nn9L2u2wM8JMXM/edit?usp=sharing

On December 18, my cat was in the 100's on shoot time after I gave him 2u (by mistake) in the morning, so I did not shoot at 7:30 pm, but I shot him at 10:00 pm instead. I also think the cat is bouncing. I wanted to know how I should continue with the doses ?? thank you very much!

ME-- I just spoke with Silvina and understand that she sent you to the Forum. We will try to help you as best we can with the language differences. We have some other members who speak Spanish but can take a little time to find them.

I am using Google to translate so please forgive any errors

ME--

Repeating what I posted on Facebook

What happens, when you give too much insulin is that the cat's liver reacts to the low numbers it is not accustomed by releasing stored sugars and hormones to bring blood glucose back quickly. We call it "rebound". It may take up to 6 cycles (3 days) for these sugars and hormones to clear the body so for now, I would just keep on 1 unit and keep posting on the Forum so we can see how it does for the next few days before Deciding If it needs to be increased
 
Welcome. I see Silvina has been helping you on FB. She is a great source of information, especially on the different foods and medications available in Argentina. Perhaps you could ask her to hep you set up a spreadsheet to record your glucose numbers so you and others can get a better picture on how the insulin is working for Susan. The more information you have the easier it is to give advice with the dosing.

:bighug: :bighug:
 
Yes, silvina is helping me a lot!
And make the spreadsheet, I do not know how to do it so that everyone can see it. I started it 2 days ago


You could add it to your "signature" . At the top of this page if you hold your mouse cursor over your name in the bar at the top right it will show a drop down box with "Signature" in it. If you click on this it takes you to a box where you can paste the link for your spreadsheet. You can also put in the type of insulin you are using, type of food you are feeding, any other health problems, your kitty's name and when diagnosed. I am not the best at explaining technical processes but I hope this makes sense. If not perhaps Silvina can help since she has done this already for herself on here.
 
Yes, I understood your directions I already uploaded the form in "signature".
I'm going to wait for my sister to complete more data, so translate me since the online translator is not very good


Wonderful!!! I can see your spreadsheet and your sister can help with the other information when she is able to!!
113.gif
 
Hola Julieta, bienvenida al foro!!

Con mucho gusto tratare de apoyarte, no tengo mucha experiencia apenas empece a usar Lantus hace unos meses, pero lo que si puedo hacer es ayudar con la traduccion voy a estar pendiente

Ok translation for everyone else :

Hi Julieta, welcome to the forum!!

I'll be very glad to help you, I don't have much experience, I started using Lantus a few months ago, but I can help with the translation and will be following her posts
 
Julieta siguiendo un poco los mensajes te sugieren que ademas de poner la liga a la hoja de cálculo en tu firma también pongas su nombre, su edad, desde cuando es diabética, la inuslina que estas usando, que medidor de glucosa estás usando , que tipo de comida le das y si tiene algún otro problema médico, esto sería muy útil para todos en el foro

Y cuando decidas cual de los protocolos vas a seguir pues también lo indiques
 
Julienta, siguiendo con los posts voy a tratar de resumir algunos de los comentarios que estoy viendo:

Tuxedo mom:

Sugiere que veas si puedes conseguir de las jeringas que traen marcas en medias unidades ya que las que estan utilizando tienen solo marcas en unidades completas y tambien te sugiere que revises la información en los "stickies" amarillos ( los mensajes que estan marcados y fijos al principio) de la pagina
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

For everyone else:

In my previous post and this one I tanslated some of the suggestions you all made that I found, the one about the information for her signature and Tuxedo mom suguestion about the seringes and the yellow stickies
 
Hi girls! Today his AMPS 530. shoot him 1 ui. (Lantus)
+4 243
+5 128
To avoid another somogyi effect, I gave canned wiska food. it's okay?
 
Hola veronica! Que bueno poder escribir sin usar el traductor de google jajaj.
Muchas gracias por ayudarme, mi hermana es traductora de ingles pero al no vivir con ella se me complica. La estoy esperando para que me ayude a completar todos los datos q me faltan
 
Hola si el traductor de Google es latoso pero si necesitas algo y te puedo ayudar avísame ya sea aquí o con un mensaje directo.

Con respecto a la comida por lo que he visto es mejor dejar la que tiene muchas calorías para las emergencias y el efecto smogyi o los rebotes más bien hay que esperar a que se acostumbre a la insulina
 
Hola vero, le di un poquito de wiska en lata ..no el sobrecito que es puro hidrato de carbono. Ayer le paso lo mismo y llego a niveles altos (+600) me dijeron que 1.0 ui de lantus es mucho para ella. Que hoy le ponga 0.5 ui. Uds que opinan?
 
Ok deja traduzco para que los que saben nos puedan apoyar

Hi guys Julieta is saying that she gave her kitty canned wiskas, not the one in a pouch that is all carbs. That it happened the same yesterday that Susan got to high levels (+600) and she was told 1 u is too much and that she should give 0.5 u today., and she wants to know your option on that
 
To drop from 530 to 83 is a huge drop and will probably set off another bounce so I wouldn't be surprised if Susan went high again tonight.

How much does Susan weigh? Is it a good weight for her or is she underweight or overweight?

Para bajar de 530 a 83 es una gota enorme y probablemente se desencadenará otro rebote por lo que no me sorprendería si Susan subió de nuevo esta noche.

¿Cuánto pesa Susan? ¿Es un buen peso para ella o tiene sobrepeso o bajo peso?
 
Last edited:
Hola! Gracias a Todos por su ayuda! 4.900kgrs pesa mi gata. Antes de Ser diagnosticada ESTABA en sobrepeso. Ahora ya TIENE UN PESO normal.
Solo come cruda carne, nada d hidratos de Carbono .. Solo en Casos de Como Este.
Las Chicas Que Me guian por medio de Facebook me dijieron Que Baje La Dosis 0,5 UI de Lantus. Despues les comento Como Responde Susana (mi gata) a la nueva dosis
 
Translating Julieta's post :

Hello! Thanks everyone for the help!

My cat is 4.9 kg Before being diagnosed she was overweight, but now she is in her normal weight. She is only on raw meat, no carbs, only in cases like today.

The girls helping her on Facebook told her to lower the dose to 0.5u of Lantus. She would let us know how Susana (her cat) responds to this new dose
 
Me temo que no hay jeringas con medias marcas en Argentina, yo ya las busqué en su momento y no hay :( Silvinia en su momento cuando me recomendó las jeringas si no recuerdo mal también me dijo lo mismo.

Veremos como sigue Susana para la medicion antes de la dosis. Alguna novedad Juli? Le vas a dar 0.5?

@Tuxedo Mom I'm afraid there's not half markings U100 syringes available here in our country :( At the moment Owen was still on insulin I couldn't find them, neither Silvina did when we talked about syringes, if I'm not mistaken.

Let's see how Susana is doing for pmps. Any news Juli? Are you decreasing the dose to 0.5?
 
Julieta las que yo consigo son de la marca DB y por lo general esta marca distribuye en toda latinoamerica te anexo una foto que ojala te sirva.
DSC_0608.JPG

También sería bueno que trataras de conseguir tiras para medir las cetonas en la orina
 
I speak Spanish. If there is anything I can help translate please let me know.

Hablo español si hay algo que necesitas traducción por favor déjame saber
 
When possible would everyone responding in Spanish post an English translation below their remarks so that everyone can follow along, please?

Thank you!
I will do that next time, in this case she was asking about syringes I posted a photo of the ones I use so that she could look for them and she answered that apparently those have not arrived to Argentina
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top