High calcium results on labs

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kathryn & Nugget, Mar 11, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kathryn & Nugget

Kathryn & Nugget Member

Hi All,

Nugget was diagnosed about 11 days ago. We have had a fairly steady stream of good BG values. However, all 3 of the vets I saw were extremely concerned about her high calcium result on both sets of labs run.

The first vet went to far as to say "yupp, for sure your cat is diabetic and she might also have cancer".
    As such, I burst into tears in the hallway at work (I'm a teacher) and this nagging thought has been in the back of my head this whole time.

Another vet said it could be idiopathic, that we need to run labs to check it again. She also said there is the possibility of the diabetes just throwing her out of wack. She felt a small nodule on Nugget's thyroid as well, but her thyroid values came back normal.

The third vet said not to worry about it just yet, but yes, there is a possibility that it could be cancer, and that would mean a myriad of diagnostic tests to figure it out.

Prior to her diabetes diagnosis Nugget was always a healthy cat. She was never sick, she lost weight from the time we adopted her (13 pounds to just under 10 pounds over 4 years), she loves to play, her teeth are in good shape, she is a snuggle muffin and very loving.

Has anyone else gotten a high calcium reading on a lab after being diagnosed with diabetes? I am not sure how often labs need to be repeated, and if this is something to tackle aggressively or not.

2. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

The lab guru here is @Marje and Gracie . She might be able to give you good info.

Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  3. Marje and Gracie

Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

That’s a pretty high calcium. Anything over 10.5 is of concern.