High Insulin costs - help!

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Nancy Trant, Sep 11, 2018.

1. Nancy Trant

Nancy Trant New Member

I've been using Lantus U-100 insulin for my cat for almost 3 years now and he's doing very well on it.
    However the cost is ridiculous! We tried Vetsulin, but the dose was way higher and therefore the cost actually ended up being more because it got used up so much faster so back to Lantus.

Has anyone found another brand, for humans or animals that worked the same as Lantus, but didn't cost as much? I've checked 5 different pharmacies near me in Largo, FL and Publix seems to be the lowest at $280 a 10ml vial.

2. Amanda and a Loudogg

Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

Most of us get our insulin from Marks Marine Pharmacy in Canada, which is a fantastic place to buy from. You can get 5 Lantus pens for around $165 or so. I use Basaglar, which is a glargine insulin like Lantus, and I get 5 pens for $125. Definitely a better deal then buying insulin in the US. I know there's a link to ordering insulin from Canada, let me find it. :)

3. Amanda and a Loudogg

Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

Okay, thankfully that was easier than I thought it would be. HERE's the information about buying insulin from Canada.

4. Tiger and the squid

Tiger and the squid Member

I think there are some folks here who buy from the cheaper pharmacies in Canada and pass those savings on to us. I bought a lantus pen for 30 and a vial for 60 from members here.

5. Olive & Paula

Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

Check the supply closet often. Members sell or give it away for a small amount.

Bellasmom and Ana & Frosty (GA) like this.
  6. Catacular

Catacular Member

Carol in Chicago likes this.
  7. Nancy Trant

Nancy Trant New Member