Higher BG Today. Raise dose?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Butters & Lyla, Jun 2, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Butters & Lyla

Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

Hi all,

Relative newbie here still trying to figure out BG testing and how to interpret results. Wondering if someone would help me with some advice on dosing and have a look at Butters’ spreadsheet please (link in signature)?

Based on her BG numbers and feedback here, I lowered Butters’ insulin dose over the last two days from 2 u Caninsulin 2x daily to 1.75 and then last night to 1.5. I dosed at 1.5 again this morning. But her BG numbers are higher today than yesterday. I also noticed that she visited her water bowl three times this morning and was getting quite beggy for some food at around +9. Since starting Caninsulin, she had not done these things.

I know I stressed her out a bit during the AMPS. But besides that, I am not sure why her numbers are higher than yesterday.

Also maybe worth noting that I am working with u100 needles with full unit markings only, and u40 insulin so getting exact accurate 1.5 doses are a bit of a challenge.

Do you think I should go back to dosing at 1.75? I am not confident that I will be able to get a PMPS reading today. Her poor ears aren’t producing much blood yet and are all red and spotty. I wonder if they are sore and need a break.

Previous thread about butters: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...gly-against-home-testing.230292/#post-2578716

jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Trick&Christmas

Trick&Christmas Member

I can't help much so wait for more experienced people, but I believe it is recommended to hold a dose for 6 cycles (so 3 days) before switching doses.

The name Butters is adorable! I love that.