Hometesting problems

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by monica, Apr 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. monica

monica New Member

Hi Everyone,
    I'm new to hometesting and I have to say, after three days of trying now, Im ready to cry and so is my cat. Ive watched videos; I've practiced on myself; I can't get blood from my cat. How on earth does anyone ever hit that tiny ear vein with the big, clumsy injection pens or whatever they are called? I just spent a small fortune on that accucheck Advantage. ugh. First, hamilton hates the process and he is 22 pounds of vim and vigor, so Im certainly drawing a lot of blood on my arms! Second, even when we finally calm him, Im getting nothing but red holes on his ear and no blood, even tho the same setting produces blood on my finger.

The other thing is: while I have been lurking here and reading your posts, it seems most of your cats are losing weight in diabetes. But my Hamilton (alias, Hamilton the Huge) only gains. That, despite the fact that we have him on a quality natural raw food diet and aren't overfeeding.

Sorry. I dont even know what my questions are. Im so frustrated and overwhelmed with this disease right now. any advice on these issues are helpful and so appreciated.
    thank you
    Monica

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

A couple of suggestions:
    - Most lancet pens come with a clear cap that humans use for alternate (other than fingers). That works better than the opaque cap that comes installed on the lancet pen.
    - You want to puncture BETWEEN the vein and the outside of the ear. You get too much blood if you hit the vein.
    - Warming the ear helps get the blood to flow.
    - You have to firmly back up the ear in the are where you puncture. If you do not, the lancet will deflect the ear and not puncture it.
    - Where are you located? Maybe someone is near and can personally help.