? How do I do this? 10/29, Scout AMPS=449

sandscout

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hold-the-course-scout-10-27-amps-382-7-5-146.220975/
I finally got a curve-it’s not a great one, but considering the major biting problem Scout has had-
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-anyone-please-cat-biting.220805
it is an accomplishment for the 2 of us I think.
@Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko both said I needed a curve to increase.
Can some of you with your experience look at yesterday’s curve and tell me if you think Scout’s ready for a .25u dose increase? I think he might need it, he’s started drinking water this morning which he NEVER ever does unless his numbers are up. I would be so so grateful.
 
Last edited:
Congratulations on getting the curve with a biting cat! Hope your fingers are still in tack.

You got 146 on the 8th day of the present dose and he is bouncing now. The curve was preformed after that blue and while he's bouncing . Since that was the first blue you saw,I would be inclined to hold this dose until you know the bounce is done and get as much data as you can in the next couple days.

ETA: I think too he needs an increase and am being cautious to see where he lands when the bounce clears.
 
Last edited:
How many days should I hold this dose? I guess I thought the 146 meant that the Lantus was taking effect:( I don’t think I can do another curve in the next week. Too much stress on both of us, I’m feeling tremendous anxiety after yesterday, like ready-to-explode anxiety. I just can’t do this I guess.
 
How can I do this if I can’t get another curve? This had ruined our relationship, he wants nothing to do with me. I feel like I can’t do this anymore.
 
How can I do this if I can’t get another curve? This had ruined our relationship, he wants nothing to do with me. I feel like I can’t do this anymore.

Awwww....I feel for you :(

So instead of trying for another 'whole curve' kind of thing, I'm wondering if you could patch things up enough with Scout to say, get one or two tests during the middle of the cycle? I sure looks to me like he's aching for an increase. @Bobbie And Bubba - how much longer do you think before he clears the bounce and starts to give some more 'realistic' numbers? I worry about those high AM's and PM's...but do realize that's at the 'top of the arc' on both ends...so hard to tell what effect the insulin is having on him without the mid-cycle tests...

With Luci it took a good 2-3 months before she 'settled' and I'd tell her every time, I'm only doing this to save your life! We had our rough times too...she wasn't a biter...but she sure let me know that she wasn't happy with me...at the time...now she's come all the way around to this purring happy creature when I pick her up for a test...I asked her this morning 'who are you'? Did the pod people come and swap you out for a nice purry kitty? :rolleyes: She smiled and purred and said 'let's get this over with mama, I'm hungry!'

Please keep trying...I know it's nerve wracking...but you CAN do this...you really can...:bighug::bighug:
 
Just get some random test in. Try to get some test in from + 4 - 7 each day if you can. Each day change the time, one cycle get a +4, next cycle a +5 etc. you are trying to catch the nadir. Looks like you work , so nighttime testing is going to be important. I never actually did a curve on Bubba as I was getting enough random test in to find his nadir and learn his patterns.



Have you tried just taking him to the test area and just lightly rubbing his ear tips and then give him a treat like a freeze dried piece of meat or a small nugget size poached chicken, something low carb. Then let him go. No test. Just rubbing his ears and a treat and release. Do this a few times . He will start to associate the touching of his ears with a treat. Soon he won’t be fighting you.

If that proves futile , you could try his paw pads to test. Some kitties will tolerate that better.

Don’t give up. Also, they sense when we are very nervous about doing something to them. Make up your mind that
“ I have to do for you Scout to help you”. When you really feel that way, he will start responding differently. Sounds crazy , but it’s true!

You can do this! You love him and want him better. Tough Love Momma! :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
Awwww....I feel for you :(

So instead of trying for another 'whole curve' kind of thing, I'm wondering if you could patch things up enough with Scout to say, get one or two tests during the middle of the cycle? I sure looks to me like he's aching for an increase. @Bobbie And Bubba - how much longer do you think before he clears the bounce and starts to give some more 'realistic' numbers? I worry about those high AM's and PM's...but do realize that's at the 'top of the arc' on both ends...so hard to tell what effect the insulin is having on him without the mid-cycle tests...

With Luci it took a good 2-3 months before she 'settled' and I'd tell her every time, I'm only doing this to save your life! We had our rough times too...she wasn't a biter...but she sure let me know that she wasn't happy with me...at the time...now she's come all the way around to this purring happy creature when I pick her up for a test...I asked her this morning 'who are you'? Did the pod people come and swap you out for a nice purry kitty? :rolleyes: She smiled and purred and said 'let's get this over with mama, I'm hungry!'

Please keep trying...I know it's nerve wracking...but you CAN do this...you really can...:bighug::bighug:
Luci, thanks for that.
I’ve come to the point where I don’t know if I can live with him anymore, the attacks, when they do happen, are so vicious and he bites so hard. It’s like he’s in a trance. And he has been the most mellow, sweet and affectionate cat you could wish for for 13 years. I have seriously considered having him PTS.
 
Just get some random test in. Try to get some test in from + 4 - 7 each day if you can. Each day change the time, one cycle get a +4, next cycle a +5 etc. you are trying to catch the nadir. Looks like you work , so nighttime testing is going to be important. I never actually did a curve on Bubba as I was getting enough random test in to find his nadir and learn his patterns.



Have you tried just taking him to the test area and just lightly rubbing his ear tips and then give him a treat like a freeze dried piece of meat or a small nugget size poached chicken, something low carb. Then let him go. No test. Just rubbing his ears and a treat and release. Do this a few times . He will start to associate the touching of his ears with a treat. Soon he won’t be fighting you.

If that proves futile , you could try his paw pads to test. Some kitties will tolerate that better.

Don’t give up. Also, they sense when we are very nervous about doing something to them. Make up your mind that
“ I have to do for you Scout to help you”. When you really feel that way, he will start responding differently. Sounds crazy , but it’s true!

You can do this! You love him and want him better. Tough Love Momma! :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
@Bobbie And Bubba Thanks Bobbie. When do you think I can raise him to 2 units? He started drinking a lot of water today-he hasn’t done that in a year, since before he went into remission. :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
@Bobbie And Bubba Thanks Bobbie. When do you think I can raise him to 2 units? He started drinking a lot of water today-he hasn’t done that in a year, since before he went into remission. :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
Have you been able to get any test in this cycle? My hesitation with an increase is lack of data.

with SLGS, if the nadir is 90 - 150 you would hold the dose. He got that 146 then bounced and you did a curve during a bounce. Can you get a mid cycle test in tonight especially if you see the PMPS a lot lower than the AM pre shot number? If still high I would increase only if you can monitor through that cycle of the increase.
 
Have you been able to get any test in this cycle? My hesitation with an increase is lack of data.

with SLGS, if the nadir is 90 - 150 you would hold the dose. He got that 146 then bounced and you did a curve during a bounce. Can you get a mid cycle test in tonight especially if you see the PMPS a lot lower than the AM pre shot number? If still high I would increase only if you can monitor through that cycle of the increase.
I haven’t tested anything except the AMPS because of yesterday’s disaster.
I’m sorry I don’t understand. After the PM dose tonight I’m able to get a +3 or a +7.5, are either one of those good? Is one preferable to the other? And then if the number is high-does that mean pink, or only red?-I can increase Weds. a.m.?
 
I feel for your situation, and am lucky I didn't have the problems with testing making Tina mad, and avoiding me. But she was very weak with bad neuropathy at the time I started our D journey. Now that my kitty feels so much better, with good numbers, testing isn't as easy as when she was feeling so poorly. She'll try to move and jerk her ear away sometimes. I was getting over confident, and started testing her wherever I found her, but if I call her to her table, she comes, sits on her ortho pad, and stays still until done! Trained:)
Completely true your dear Scout feels your apprehension before testing. Practice being calm before approaching. Sometimes I can grab a quick test while Tina is napping. It's done before she cares enough to protest or care.

Be good to you ok?! This could take some time . . . try hard to love on Scout when you don't have to test too, and try to forget that darn disease you are working on more often (I have to say that to myself a lot).
 
I haven’t tested anything except the AMPS because of yesterday’s disaster.
I’m sorry I don’t understand. After the PM dose tonight I’m able to get a +3 or a +7.5, are either one of those good? Is one preferable to the other? And then if the number is high-does that mean pink, or only red?-I can increase Weds. a.m.?
I would say If tonight’s PM test tonight is still in the reds , increase ONLY if you are able to to get in a +2. If the that number is lower than the PM number , it could indicate an active cycle which could earn some more testing.

In the interim , try my suggestion of just rubbing his ears and giving a treat with Out a test to desensitize him.
 
Have you talked to your vet about the aggressive behavior? I believe the folks over on Health had a number of suggestions including medication (e.g., Prozac) for aggressive behavior. I believe I had suggested a consultation with the cat clinic at Cornell vet school.
 
I would say If tonight’s PM test tonight is still in the reds , increase ONLY if you are able to to get in a +2. If the that number is lower than the PM number , it could indicate an active cycle which could earn some more testing.

In the interim , try my suggestion of just rubbing his ears and giving a treat with Out a test to desensitize him.
Okay, I will do the suggestion with the treat. And if he’s in the red at the PMPS, I’ll increase if I can get a +2 tonight. Thank you Bobbie
 
Have you talked to your vet about the aggressive behavior? I believe the folks over on Health had a number of suggestions including medication (e.g., Prozac) for aggressive behavior. I believe I had suggested a consultation with the cat clinic at Cornell vet school.
Yes, Sienne. I contacted my vet today with information I got from this site and the Cornell site info on hyperesthesia, and she agreed to try out Prozac for Scout. It’s being compounded, I’m picking it up tomorrow. I am hoping and praying that it will have some effect on this difficult challenge.
 
Back
Top