Huge Swings. Any advice appreciated.

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by MeltyCat, Jul 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MeltyCat

    MeltyCat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    I gave low carb wet food at 7:00pm.
    Gave 2u at 7:30pm.
    Gave dry meal at 8:30pm.

    PMPS 23.4 (7:00pm)
    +1 - 21
    +2 - 14.7
    +3 - 9.8

    (this is usually where I start to get anxious)
    At about +3.25 (10:45) I go test crazy.

    10:45 - 6.2 (Ah! Dropping fast.)
    10:55 - 5.4 (GIVE ALL THE TREATS)
    11:05 - 5.8 (This is where I should have relaxed)
    11:25 - 5.4 (no no no no no)
    11:45 - 5.9 (Inner voice, he's been at 5 and change for over an hour and he's in great humor, it's time to stop freaking out)

    Any suggestions on what to do to avoid this are much appreciated.
     
  2. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    The lowest he can go safely is about 60 mg/dL or 3.3 mmol/L and he wasn't near that.
    So,
    Test
    - if about his normal pre-shot, feed
    - if way below his normal pre-shot, stall 30 minutes without feeding and go back up to Test until he is shootable or you decide to skip
    Wait 30 minutes
    Shoot - maybe 1.75 instead of 2.0 units, although he remained safely high enough so you could shoot 2 units
    +2 feed some more
    Depart
    Come home
    Test

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page