Human Meter / ReliOn

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Booger's Mom, Apr 3, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Booger's Mom

Booger's Mom Member

Does anyone use a Human Meter or the ReliOn meter? What do you have it coded at? I thought the big number was the year lol. Apparently is for the code. There is no code on the ReliOn strip bottle though and I had mine coded at 18 (since I thought it was the year lol) The readings have been significantly lower than the Alphatrak 2 meter so I have been hesitant to use it unless like right now when I am out of Freestyle or Alphatrak strips. I am wondering what it should be coded at to get a little more accurate reading.

2. Booger's Mom

Booger's Mom Member

Nevermind. Apparently, with the ReliOn meter, that is in fact the year.

3. Gretchen(sugarbaby)&bobbi

Gretchen(sugarbaby)&bobbi Member

I’m a newbie and know nothing but I’ve ordered the Relion Premier so please follow up on what you figure out. I’m supposed to get it tomorrow. My plan is on Friday appointment with vet to take it and compare reading to his monitor.
    Sorry my reply is no help...I’m so overwhelmed right now I hope this monitor thing doesn’t make me explode lol!

4. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

The Relion meters do not require coding

Tanya and Ducia and Bellasmom like this.
  5. Booger's Mom

Booger's Mom Member

I'm sorry to hear that we have to meet this way bc that means your cat has diabetes too :(. To be honest with you, I am a perfectionist and I want accurate results so the ReliOn meter for me just doesn't work. Lol. There are many people on here that use human meters. With my experience, the higher the glucose level, the more of a difference you will see in the comparisons. The lower the glucose levels the lesser the difference.