Hypo?? 12/08 Rhubarb AMPS=250 +2 243, +11 83, PMPS=112, +1 95, +3 43, +4 81

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by majandra, Dec 8, 2018.

  1. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Yesterday

    Rhubarb had quite a nice surf last night! Here's to hoping that today will be similar :)

    DH will be doing today's tests- I will be going to the city to do gift shopping (ugh). Think I will pre-draw a syringe just in case I end up stuck late.

    I hope everyone has a great Saturday!
     
    Tracey&Jones (GA) likes this.
  2. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    My civvie, Mel, gets very jealous of the extra attention Rhubarb is getting. So here is a photo of her and her jealous look.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Rosie & Bailey

    Rosie & Bailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Aw. Hope Mel gets some extra scratches to make up for it.
    Have fun shopping!
     
    majandra likes this.
  4. Jill & Scooter

    Jill & Scooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Good job Rhubarb!
    Have fun shopping! :smuggrin:
    Mine all think they have earned a treat every time Scooter gets his ears poked ( so of course I give them one).
     
    majandra likes this.
  5. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Nice numbers last night. It's hard to keep the other kitties from getting jealous. My other cats get loving and treats at test time too.
     
    majandra likes this.
  6. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Mel is adorable! What a face!!! So cute!!! :D
     
    majandra likes this.
  7. LexaJoy

    LexaJoy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Aw, lookit that face. So expressive. So judging.
     
    majandra likes this.
  8. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    DH tried multiple times today to test Rhubarb and just wasn't getting any blood. She was even hard for me to do when I got home. Was a bit surprised to see only 4.6 when I tested! DH was watching her close since the testing wasnt working, and she was ok.

    She got a diff flavour of pc extra meaty this morning (slightly lower carb), and possibly less amount than usual for morning. I hope this is the extra dip of Lantus- I don't want to have to shoot crazy low!
     
  9. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Mel looks adorable!

    Hope the gift shopping went well.

    Rhubarb...don't stress our Mommy!
     
    majandra likes this.
  10. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    It was painfully slow! I regret not leaving earlier in morning- I still have a couple things to get.
     
  11. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Mel is very adorable :) She is my cuddle kitty. I don't go anywhere in the house without her following lol.
    Of course since she was in the way when I first got the new meter, Mel got the first test!
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2018
  12. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Looks like I may be sleeping on the couch tonight!
    Encouraged her to eat more. Think I won't buy the fish flavour again.
     
  13. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Too low! 43@+3
    Retested, same number. One touch ultra reads 4.6/83
     
  14. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    I already switched out the pc fish for pc chicken before test and she ate that. Just gave tsp dm w gravy
     
  15. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Will retest in 20 min.
    This isn't a 911 unless she keeps dropping right?
     
  16. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    3.2/58@+3.5
     
  17. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    @Chris & China
    How often should I be testing right now, given that she is already trending up?
     
  18. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    You want to test every 30 minutes for 1 hour from the last time you feed anything medium or high carb and then 1 more test an hour later (so you're testing for 2 hours from the time you feed MC or HC food)

    You want to make sure they stay up and don't come back down.

    If she does and you have to give MC or HC again, that 2 hour "clock" starts over
     
    majandra likes this.
  19. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Ok so my next test is in 10 minutes
     
  20. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    81@+4

    Can I leave her LC out in case she gets up to eat? Is the increase what would be typical from eating LC + spoonful of 10-14%?
    Did I do something wrong, or is this just part of the dance?
     
  21. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Timer set for +5
    Resting my eyes a few.
     
  22. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    You didn't do anything wrong....just keep good notes and maybe next time try a little LC first or just a tiny bit of higher carb mixed in. As long as you're there to test, 40's aren't usually a crisis....we just like to keep them above 50 if there's insulin on board.

    Sorry it took so long to get back to you...computer crashed and I just had to wait for it to let me back in
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  23. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    65@ +5
    Giving another spoonful of HC.

    Assuming her sugar is high enough come shot time, should I give less?

    Thank you - no worries on the timing. I was acting anyway just in case :)
     
  24. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yes, she's earned the reduction so you're next dose will be .1

    I would have just given her a little LC instead....it's getting later in the cycle and we don't want to give her too much of the "good stuff" as long as she's still in safe territory.

    But this is all a learning experience so it won't hurt her that you gave the higher carb....she's earned the reduction so it's fine to "carb her up" some to keep her safe and (hopefully) get you some sleep!

    I have to get off the computer now so I hope she surfs safely for you the rest of the night!
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  25. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Thanks so much for your help Chris :)
    Learning bit by bit.
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  26. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    88@ +5.75
     
  27. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    97@ almost +7
    Heading to bed now
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  28. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    What a night! I am so glad you held that .25 dose yesterday!

    Congrats on the reduction and get some much needed sleep!
     
    majandra likes this.

Share This Page