I'm a grateful newbie

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by dana moore, Jul 14, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dana moore

dana moore Member

3 weeks ago I was given horrible news that my sweet Riley of 13 years was diagnosed with diabetes that developed from steroid injections due to Inflammatory Bowel Disease. His blood glucose was over 600, he had a severe UTI and was anemic. He almost did not make it.

I was sent home from the vet with instructions to give antibiotics daily and 3 units of Prozinc (insulin) 2 times a day. The vet wanted me to feed him WD Rx diet food. Riley came home and for first week it was touch and go, Riley wasn't feeling himself and wobbling all over the place.

I just knew I had to do something to help him but wasn't sure what. I got online and started researching and came across this awesome website. I immediately signed up.

I took in all the information slowly with lots of anxiety and started doing what NEEDED to be done. I went to Sams club and bought a glucometer, started taking Riley's B.G. numbers (it gets easier), started Riley on soft low carb food (slowly taking away WD soft and hard) and started asking question after question. I got so many responses quickly and they helped save my Riley's life a few times from hypoglycemia.

Only 3 weeks later from much needed advice, many of bloody fingers, and 3 anxiety attacks my Riley's blood sugar is down to 118 with NO INSULIN!!!

Cycle=point from 1 shot to next (12 hrs with Prozinc)
    Shoot=shot
    Nadir=midpoint (half point between cycles)
    AMPS=morning pre shot no food, no insulin B.G. number
    PMPS=evening pre shot, no food, no insulin B.G. number

Critter Mom likes this.
  2. Mogmom and Goofus

Mogmom and Goofus Well-Known Member

That's awesome news! My vet says sometimes remission can happen that fast, but keep testing to be sure. I'm so happy for you! :):bighug:

dana moore likes this.
  3. Julia Rae