I’m new to this and I am trying to figure it all out.

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Sonia, Apr 30, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sonia

Sonia New Member

Have been trying to stabilize cats BG for almost a month. Initially took her to vet ER cannot afford now/yesterday gave 1 unit was 0.5 2x a day based on curve from last MONDAy at vets her BG dropped to 61 with 1.5 in am and nnothing admin in pm/then gave .5 2x a day noticed this past FRiday drinking a lot/bought home Track2 took BG it was 483 at 10:30am, 443 at +3 hrs, and 269 at +9 hrs this am569 at +11 hrs. She ate very little maybe a cup of dry. She was not eating so let her eat that.

Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2018
    Reason for edit: Removed 911 prefix. Received advice and not a medical emergency.
  2. Sonia

Sonia New Member

That was 1/4 cup of dry

3. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

Hi Sonia, and welcome. It's great that you're home testing! That's such an important step in caring for our kitties around here!

What type of dry are you feeding? I'm asking because the percent of carbs in a cat's food has a huge impact on their blood glucose (BG). In fact, it's probably the single most important factor in helping our cats heal.

It sounds like the 0.5u might not be enough insulin, but don't change the dose just yet. First, can you set up a spreadsheet? We have a handy dandy one already made that does all of the color coding for you. If you click on the blue text in my signature, you can see what one looks like, and then if you click on the link below, you will have all the directions for getting your own all set up. If you have any trouble with it, just ask and we can have someone help you.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/