Nicole & Baby
Member Since 2009
FURbaby Family & Friends, 
My heart is so heavy for the tragic loss of Chewy and my heart breaks, like all of ours.
I am likely a stranger here in FDMB because I have not posted in Lantus Land in a long time (I post in Health for here/there situations that arise).
My name is Nicole & Baby was diagnosed with Feline Diabetes in December 2009 & we removed dried food .. introduced low carb canned food to attempt to diet control because I was super scared to start insulin.
BUT even more scared to lose my Baby and even tho her #s had improved .. she still needed insulin and we started insulin in January 2010 (just a month or so after her diagnosis).
I am posting my 1st thread after injecting her .. I hope it helps anyone new to giving insulin or thinking of not testing. Testing saved Baby's life time and time again. She got OTJ for 8 months (forever thankful) & today we do the sugar dance again and I never ever go a day without testing a minimum of preshot but definitely test a few hours in between to know where we are at AND more testing if #s are low.
6 years into this & testing still saves us every time.
When I gave her her 1st injection .. I said .. what do I do now?
Just stare at her?
It seems like a silly question to ask .. 6 years later .. my answer to myself & others ..would be YES & TEST!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-8-baby-amps-no-shot-will-be-given-20-5-289.1622/

My heart is so heavy for the tragic loss of Chewy and my heart breaks, like all of ours.
I am likely a stranger here in FDMB because I have not posted in Lantus Land in a long time (I post in Health for here/there situations that arise).
My name is Nicole & Baby was diagnosed with Feline Diabetes in December 2009 & we removed dried food .. introduced low carb canned food to attempt to diet control because I was super scared to start insulin.
BUT even more scared to lose my Baby and even tho her #s had improved .. she still needed insulin and we started insulin in January 2010 (just a month or so after her diagnosis).
I am posting my 1st thread after injecting her .. I hope it helps anyone new to giving insulin or thinking of not testing. Testing saved Baby's life time and time again. She got OTJ for 8 months (forever thankful) & today we do the sugar dance again and I never ever go a day without testing a minimum of preshot but definitely test a few hours in between to know where we are at AND more testing if #s are low.
6 years into this & testing still saves us every time.
When I gave her her 1st injection .. I said .. what do I do now?
Just stare at her?
It seems like a silly question to ask .. 6 years later .. my answer to myself & others ..would be YES & TEST!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-8-baby-amps-no-shot-will-be-given-20-5-289.1622/