Jade amps 146...no shot. Long night.

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jill & Jade, Jun 28, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
  2. Tanya and Ducia

    Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    no need for medium carbs foods if the BG at +2 is higher than the pre-shot of 146. Just feed the reg LC foods.
    If the +2 is even or lower than the pre-shot then (depending on the #) some MC food, very little just as an addition to the reg LC would be good.

    The thing is not to overdo on foods and not to send her sky high with it. Esp with no shot. Using LC instead of MC/ HC will help her stay in nice range.

    I have a thought...I was looking at Jade's SS and I think you may want to try to change her feeding routine a bit.
    On 6/23 and 6/24 both AM cycles and 6/27 PM cycle her nadir was at +4.
    6/23 Am also scored very steep drop (yellow AM preshot to Green 4 hours later). In many cats such drops trigger bouncing.
    What if you try splitting Jade's brekki into two portions and feed at pre-shot and then at +2 or +3?
    This way Jade will have fresh carbs on board before her possible nadir at +4 and it may help preventing large drops.
    (I feed my cat little LC at preshot, then regular LC (5%) + high-ish LC (8-9% carbs) mix at +2 and mostly able to avoid Ducia's drops at +2. )
    @Jill Hollister
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  3. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If you didn't shoot this morning, there's no worry about her going too low so just feed her normal, low carb food
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  4. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I've kind of been free feeding a bit as well (LC only)
     
  5. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I will try that!
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  6. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    +2 is 219 ....:D I now know that this relief could very well be temporary as her pm could be very different, but I'll take t! I'll give her a bit of FF Pate before work and leave a bit out ( I have a civvy cat as well) and hope for a good pmps to start the .75 units this evening. Tomorrow if all numbers are on point, I'll go ahead and start breaking her brekkie up as recommended @Tanya and Ducia .I've said it to the point of being repetitive, but THANK YOU!!
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  7. Tanya and Ducia

    Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    If possible do take +3.5 test - just when you are at the door ready to leave.
    It'll be very helpful info for the future.
     
  8. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Will do!!
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  9. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    +244 and 3.5 (approx ) left some FF pate out and off to work!!
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  10. Tanya and Ducia

    Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    have a nice day, Jill!
     
  11. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Make that FF...pate and THANK YOU!!!!!!!!
     
  12. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    And hey! I bought the Relion syringes for the .5 unit markings. Today, I asked my pharmacist about .25 unit syringes and although he said they don’t have any, he gave me these ( for free) they seem more stable then the Relion. Those seem a bit “shotty “ pun intended! Like flimsy, I guess. Perhaps if anyone else has found this to be true, ask your pharmacist about these?
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Those are the syringes I use...the BD ones.
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  14. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    There are lots of options for U100 syringes....finding ones you like and you can be consistent with is what matters

    All these syringes have half unit markings (very important when you're doing microdosing) and are the correct syringes for U100 insulin and are available from ADW online:
    UtiCare
    Monoject
    CarepointSure Comfort
    B/D

    There is no such thing as syringes with .25 unit lines.....although there are a lot of us that would LOVE it if there were!!
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  15. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Sadly, they won’t ship to Illinois without an Rx
     
  16. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Your vet shouldn't have any problem providing them with a script
     
  17. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    “ shouldn’t “! Is the key word.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  18. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    +11 247 and pmps 205 fed her and gave her .75 PLEASE PLEASE let her number be good at +2!!!!
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  19. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I think you got lost.....LOL
     
  20. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Whatta ya mean? Did I do that wrong??
     
  21. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    You put the update (257 @ +1.15) on the wrong thread....You put it on this thread
     
  22. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    :oops:Sleep deprivation!! Not to mention I'm in the process of chasing down a moth that looks like it came out a Jurassic Park Movie!! ;)
     
  23. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    It'll also help if you'll start doing your subject lines like most of us do. It just makes it easier to quickly scan all the posts to see how everyone is doing if you keep the subject line updated.

    Like most of us use this format:

    Date, Cat's name, AMPS ###, +whatever ###, +whatever ###, PMPS ###, +whatever ###

    Like for China's yesterday....this was her subject line that I updated as I got new tests in:

    6/27 China AMPS 92,+3 63,+6 61,+9.5 83, PMPS 76,+3 64,+5.5 62

    By doing it like this, if someone is scanning the board, they can see if someone might be having a problem (especially good for new people who aren't sure what they're looking at yet....so if the experienced people happen to see something like PMPS 249, +2 108, they know just by looking at the subject line that someone is going to need some advice if they don't know what they're doing)
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  24. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Gotcha! Well while I have you here....I'm going to test again in about 30 minutes. I'm taking your advice and I gave her .75 and will continue to do so unless I hear different. Her + 1.15 is higher than pmps. If that's still the case,I'm going to get some much needed sleep without worrying tonight, is that a safe plan? And China is so cute and teeny!!
     
  25. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Well if you catch it, slap a saddle on it and charge $5 a ride!!!
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  26. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    IT"S HUGE!!!! I got it tho!!! My cats will knock over everything to get at it!! I'm convinced it will land on my face when I'm sleeping and scare the bejeezus out of me! Moth-Mares.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  27. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Teeny??? She's so fat it's crazy....but it's hard to tell in her current profile picture. She REALLY needs to lose some weight!!

    That's the "food bump" that we usually expect in the first hour or so....her onset tends to be earlier than most (like +2 instead of +3/+4) so the next test will be more telling
     
  28. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Well not knowing what I'm doing certainly applies to me, but I'm sure trying. You have been so wonderful.
     
  29. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    My girl weighs 14.2 pds! She looks like a TICK.
     

    Attached Files:

  30. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I had a lot of good teachers when I was new

    One of the strengths of this message board is people being willing to continue to help teach the newbies like they were helped when they were new.

    Not everyone is comfortable giving dose advice and that's fine too....sometimes the best thing someone can tell a newbie is "I understand.....I was there and we did it....You can too"
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  31. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    China's got her beat by at least 3lbs (last I checked)
     
  32. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    ooooo...she sure doesn't look it by the pic!
     
  33. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Take a look at her Profile and OTJ video (in my signature)
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  34. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    That kept me smiling the whole video. Ok....she's a little big boned...:D
     
  35. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Gonna get my little Fatsos +2 reading....fingers crossed..
     
  36. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    She's "too fluffy"
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  37. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    ok...Jade is at 201@ +2.15 her pmps was 208. Opinion?
     
  38. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    She sure is pretty tho.
     
  39. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Goodnight!!

    That's almost exactly the same as the PS, so she'll probably have a pretty "normal" cycle....slowly drop down to nadir and then start coming up again

    She's looking good
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  40. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    And how do you feel about Fructosomine tests? the vet wants me to bring her in Monday for one. Already uptight about the Vet visit. Jade HATES it and I have to give her a bit of a sedative. I'm tempted to split one with her!
     
  41. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Thanks! Night Night!!
     
  42. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    They're useless at this point....since you're home testing, you have all the data you need

    The fructosamine test is good for only one thing....at the time the cat is originally believed to be diabetic, it can tell you the average blood glucose for the past about 3 weeks BUT

    An average doesn't really help much....If she "averages" 250, you have no way of knowing if she's staying in that 250 "area" all the time, or is she starting at 400, dropping to 100 and then bouncing back up to 400.

    My brain is fried tonight and I have to be out with DM in 4 hours so I'll try to explain better tomorrow (unless someone else hops on to help explain the difference)

    Goodnight.....Now I'm not making any sense!
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  43. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    I'm happy to hear everything is going better. Baby steps, one thing at a time. It will get easier.:)
    Ravan hates going in the car & to the vet also. I really try not to take him unless it's absolutely necessary.Did you know that stress can make their Bg go way up also?

    Once his Glucose was over 500 from the stress in the vets office.

    (I saw your profile & wanted to tell you I'm in the Chicago area also!)
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  44. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I looked at yours last night and saw that too!!:) Hi neighbor!! You'll have to let me know if you ever come into the city....I'd love to buy you a Sangria at my restaurant! And my Vet did tell me that (raising bg from stress):rolleyes: I think I may cancel our appt for the Fructosomine test on Monday!
     
  45. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    I rarely ever drive to the city but your offer is tempting. I'll let you know.

    Save some money & cancel the test. Like Chris said, it's useless! As long as you're home testing you have the info you need on the SS (spreadsheet.)

    Have a Great 4th of July weekend. Stay out of the heat!!:eek:
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  46. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    My Vet also has a copy of the SS....I did cancel. Happy 4th to you as well!!
     
  47. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    @Tanya and Ducia I'm trying your amps feeding method starting today...thank you for the advice.
     
  48. Tanya and Ducia

    Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    :cool:
    what a lovely cycle so far! Nice and easy going lower, my fav!:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page